We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rideau Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rideau Motor Inn
Ranked #85 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

This hotel didn't stand out as anything super special but it wasn't terrible either.
I guess I'll start with the PROS: The location is just amazing and the price wasn't bad. The beach front porches were so much fun and the pool was a decent size. The rooms weren't dirty but my husband wasn't very happy with the bathroom we were both happy with the size of the room though.

Now for the CONS: there is no elevator, if you get an ocean front room you will be walking up and down a few flights of concrete stairs and don't forget you'll be carrying your luggage up and down there as well. The water pressure was pretty bad (but that happens a lot on the boardwalk). The staff were not the friendliest people in the world and even accused us of having a party. When we went to check out they gave us a hard time about it and wanted to inspect our room with us. We never had anything close to a party so I don't know where they got the idea and I found it pretty rude.

Besides the rude staff the hotel location was worth the price and I'd stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    16
    14
    15
See reviews for
31
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed there last Memorial Day weekend it was a great location and the rooms were very roomy! Its not a five star but everything was clean and staff was quick to help with any needs you had. I would definately recommend this place if you dont expect a red carpet and dont want to pay a fortune!

Room Tip: Get the large room...you get a lot more room for a little more price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We went to ocean city on memorial day weekend last minute. Found this place reasonably priced. But DIRTY rooms our feet were black within 5steps into the room. Shower had very little water pressure.But location was nice right on the boardwalk and the ladies at the desk were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the4jbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumberland, md
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

hey there. i stayed at the rideau motor inn in august 2012 with my gma, aunt and two lil kids and myself. we did know there isnt an elevator so i made sure to book on the first floor. you still had to walk up a bunch of steps but the view is amazing and its worth the money.. the room wasnt anything special but it was clean. and very big.. its an older place so i wasnt looking for a million dollar room but the view was a million dollar view. ocean city hosted a laser lights show that i could see from the balcony so i didnt have to fight the crowd down below. and its in prime location. the pool was always very nice and clean and we were in it every day. you cant beat the location..it wasnt a bad hotel. if your looking for a nice clean place stay here. if you are looking for an expensive hotel with all new everything then id recommend going somewhere else. but i enjoyed it and will stay here again.

Room Tip: def book on first floor and away from the bar underneath so its not as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alison d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnesville, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

The room was clean and the staff was friendly, and we would definitely stay here again.
It all boils down to what you want out of your hotel room. The room was not "hear a pin drop quiet" at night, but none of the hotels on the Inlet end of Boardwalk are, but it's quiet enough to sleep. The hotel doesn't have all sorts of amenities, but it's a nice little place to be when you're not on the beach. When we were there, Ocean City set off fireworks which were directly in front of the hotel, so we could watch them from the balcony and not have to fight the crowds of people there to watch them.
If you want "pin drop quiet" then you shouldn't be staying at 1st and Boardwalk; stay further north. If you want a bunch of frills and extras, pay twice as much and stay at a chain hotel. If you want a nice, clean, simple room at a good price that just also happens to be smack dab in the carnival-heart of the Boardwalk, then stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brock201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our annual mini break to Ocean City, MD took us to Rideau Motor Inn for three nights. It was reasonably priced and at a prime location. Let me start with the Pros:

- As mentioned, the location can’t be beat. We were located in the midst of all the action at the boardwalk. Also had an ocean front room. Loved sitting on the balcony in the morning and watching the waves and then again in the afternoon watching the crowd
- The customer service was very good. Before, on arrival and when checking out they were helpful and courteous.
- The pool looked nice. We didn’t go in, but it looked clean and wasn’t crowded.

Now for the cons
- I was concerned about security. They still use keys. Wouldn’t have been a huge issue but there wasn’t a safe either. We kept the DND sign on the door for our stay. Not that we didn’t trust the employees, but with no card swipe logs we wanted to keep the entry to the room at a minimum.
- We spend most of our day on the beach so we really just need a place to sleep. However, the bed was TERRIBLE! I could feel every spring when I laid down. Every morning I woke up feeling achy.

The overall room and hotel was worn down. But I expected that. In comparison to other hotels in OC it was priced low. If they swapped out the mattresses I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamst256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel was great and the people there were very accommodating and pleasant. The only problem we had was the mass amount of steps to the rooms! They should invest in elevators as I love this place but don't know if I would stay there again due to all those steps!! Great location and very convenient to the boardwalk, beach and anything you want!! Rooms were very clean and large!!

Room Tip: stay on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#80 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#81 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rideau Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Motor Inn

Property: Rideau Motor Inn
Address: 10 S Atlantic Ave, Boardwalk and N. 1st Street, Ocean City, MD 21842-4062
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rideau Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the best location in Ocean City within walking distance to shops & restaurants, the widest beach, oceanfront with the best views, all up to date conveniences, swimming pool, on site parking with great personal service and a family atmosphere, all of which are hallmarks of the Rideau experience. We welcome you to enjoy your family vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rideau Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Motor Hotel Ocean City
Rideau Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing