We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location..Needs updated”
Review of Rideau Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rideau Motor Inn
Ranked #89 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have stayed here several times. While the hotel and rooms could really use some updating,it is usually generally pretty clean. This is the first trip that we had a issue with cleanliness as the sheets and pillowcases were stained with an unknown substance. We were fairly certain the sheets had been laundered and there were extra sheets and pillowcases in the room but it was still a little upsetting as we love this hotel for the great location. The large oceanfront rooms are huge and the balcony is great for a relaxing evening taking in the sites on the boardwalk. This hotel is close to all the action at the end of the boardwalk and also offers some of the most affordable rates for oceanfront rooms in OC. The staff are always very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

No elevators, which was okay for walking up 2 flight of steps with just a small suitcase. Hotel has great potentials if they would only dedicate time and invest some $$ on it. As long as you bring your own sleeping bag or an anti-bed-bug sheet to put on top of the bed, and plenty of Lysol you should be okay. I only did it as a precaution. Mix and max furniture not appealing. The cost was over $100 a night for an inside room, no view. I would spend a little more next time and stay at the Sleep Inn across the street which is just off the boardwalk. I agree with CameraManC reviews also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Vens007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I almost canceled after reading some of these reviews but I didn't and Im glad I didn't. Yes its an older place but the location is awesome the rooms are huge. The only down fall to this place is there is no elevator so we had to walk up 5 flights of stairs which wouldn't have been a big deal but im having surgery on my foot in a few weeks so it was hard. But overall we had a great time the pool is great the balconies are huge as well as the rooms. We even had plenty of room after blowing up a full size air mattress. And you cant beat the location. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Stay oceanfront it is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The south end of the building is extremely loud at night due to a bar on the first floor on the boardwalk. The whole motel is in need of renovations. The hall ways are dark, dingy, and extremely hot. There is no elevator, so if you're on the 3rd floor, you have to carry luggage up and down 3 floors from the parking lot, (5 flights of stairs). I'm not sure when garbage day is, but 3 big dumpsters sat full of trash for about 4 days making the entire premises smell like spoiled milk and rotten cheese. The door knob to the balcony did not work, so we had to keep that door propped open whenever we were outside. The room beside us had the same problem but with their main door. The biggest thing was that the office screwed up, making our room vacant 3 days before we were due to leave. They sent up another family (with keys) to our room with all of our stuff in it while we were away. The hotel staff called later and explained that they gave the other family keys to our already rented out room and that there were people in it while we were away that day. Having expensive cameras and laptops in the room, this was a very unpleasant surprise to us. Luckily, nothing was touched. The maintenance workers were still asking about it days later, and kept on about the mistakes. I feel this whole mix up was completely unacceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CameraManC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The rooms look like a total dive!!! Everything smells, the hallway, the rooms. Shower like a sprinkler. No iron. Ice cost 25 cents. No closets. Need to close it down and rebuild. The only thing decent is the pool!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rakeem720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Stayed at the Rideau Motor Inn for 3 nights - June 11-14. The place is very run down and out-dated. For the money you can stay at a much nicer place in OC. Management never bothered to tell me when I made the reservation that the pool wasn't open and I never would have booked this place is I knew that. We complained about the people partying all night right in front of our door and leaving their beer cans and cigarettes there but management didn't seem to care. I was also told ocean front wasn't available, so we settled for the crappy view of the pool with the workers doing maintenance on it. However, there were several ocean front rooms available and when we got there and when we asked we were told yet again that we could not more our room or get a refund if we decided to leave early. So I was stuck with people partying, crappy room, no pool and no apology!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mjc12168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Checking in, the main lobby smelled stale. Okay, no problem. We get to our room on the second floor, and WOW. The room smelled terrible, hair on the pillow, leftover water in the fridge, gunk all in the air vents, TV from the late 80's, dirty carpet, rust and mold in the bathroom, mirror falling off the wall, dirty microwave; and the list could go on. Also the pool is completely empty (concrete is all broken up), and the hot tub has BUSHES GROWING OUT OF IT.

We head down to the lobby to complain, and was offered another room, beachfront, on the third floor. Not expecting much we decided to check it out. It has much newer furniture, appliances, TV, and a decent view of the boardwalk. There was still a ton of garbage, a SOLO cup, and some plastic wrappers under the bed. We didn't really have another choice on a place to stay so we decided to stay. Later we found ants coming in, and a shower that required CONSTANT adjustment (like every few seconds would change from an ice-bath to scalding). Water pressure out of the shower-head could be assimilated to that of a dense fog.

Don't worry that the rooms were non-smoking as you'll be sure to smell it creeping in as the "hotel staff" sits in their storage rooms (next to guest rooms) smoking like a 18 year-old kid in his dad's turned-up Cummins pickup truck with stacks on it. No wonder the rooms were filthy, someone needs to keep Marlboro in business. Towels were pretty terrible and felt like 80 grit sandpaper relieving my body of all but the most attached cells of skin. If you're an earlybird, you shouldn't have to worry about setting an alarm clock as the walls are insulated with tissue paper and you can hear every conversation on the boardwalk from Ripley's Believe It or Not to Candy Kitchen on 2nd street.

Do yourself and Ocean City a favor; don't stay here; let the company close, or hopefully they will wake-up and hire some new management. I don't think Tom Hanks in Castaway would have stayed here if given the chance.

Room Tip: Camp out in your car. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChristopherMiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo Ocean Front
Hotel Monte Carlo Ocean Front
#54 of 104 in Ocean City
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#56 of 104 in Ocean City
183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#62 of 104 in Ocean City
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#40 of 104 in Ocean City
544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 104 in Ocean City
1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#84 of 104 in Ocean City
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rideau Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rideau Motor Inn

Address: 10 S Atlantic Ave, Boardwalk and N. 1st Street, Ocean City, MD 21842-4062
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £54 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rideau Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have the best location in Ocean City within walking distance to shops & restaurants, the widest beach, oceanfront with the best views, all up to date conveniences, swimming pool, on site parking with great personal service and a family atmosphere, all of which are hallmarks of the Rideau experience. We welcome you to enjoy your family vacation with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rideau Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rideau Motor Hotel Ocean City
Rideau Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing