We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, dog friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barefoot Mailman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barefoot Mailman
Ranked #40 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, dog friendly”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our Bernese Mtn dog right before main season. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Some updated could be done, but the price and location were great! We could see the bay from our balcony and walk to the beech a block away. Covered free parking and a bus stop in front of the hotel. The bus in $3 for the whole day and if you prefer not to drive, a great option. We walked to nearby restaraunts and the beech every day. There was an outdoor pool, about the same as other hotels this size. This place was truly dog friendly and $10/day pet fee was well worth our peace of mind staying here. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Travelling with a dog, having a location on the end by the elevator was great for our older dog. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FunAndF00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    79
    18
    12
    8
See reviews for
93
74
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Clean and cozy room, very friendly and helpful staff, reasonably priced and we could bring our little tootsie with us which really made the vacation complete! I just wish more places were pet friendly and appreciate that this hotel not only allows it but welcomed our furry family member. The bathroom could use some updating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We've stayed several times and have always enjoyed our stay. Our last stay was fine. It does need some updating and things like paint. The room we stayed in had some rust and mold in the bathroom. Just needs some attention, but it is otherwise clean and doesn't smell like dogs. The location is worth it as it's on the beach and the dogs loved running on the beach. I don't think we'll be back, but it's mostly b/c everytime someone walked by our room w/ their dog our dogs barked which was annoying. But that's not the hotel's fault...you have to expect it if you're bringing dogs. We just prefer a cabin in the woods. Nothing for dogs to bark at!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kpahl1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Whenever we go to Ocean City and take our dog Midnight with us we stay here! We love that they are pet friendly, the price is extremely reasonable and the hotel is close to everything we need.

We usually don' spend much time at the hotel so we have never used the pool here (also we usually visit when it's a bit cooler out).

The rooms are not amazing but they definitely have all the necessities and are always clean. The staff have always been professional, friendly and very helpful.

We would recommend staying here if you need a pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is the second time I stayed at the hotel, I love this hotel it is in a great location and very convenient. I had a issue this yr no hot water, it was a issue with their water heater, but their prices are VERY REASONABLE for the room as well as for the pet charge $10.00 per day no matter how many animals you have. Count me in next yr!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lashea202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
293 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Motel was great; it was a lot bigger than I expected and no doggie smells either. This was our first trip together (our dogs with us) and we were all very pleased. We had a problem with the heater but someone was up pretty quickly and fixed the issue. They also brought us a thick blanket to put under the door, there is a large space between the door and the floor and the draft was unbelievable. I would think no big deal in the summer but it was supposed to get in the teens while we were there and the blanket made a huge difference. The young woman and man that handled our heating issue were super nice, the nicest staff we encountered while we were there.

Our view was of the street and ocean, the balcony was wonderful but if you have smaller dogs like Chihuahua, Maltese, Pomeranian etc. they will be able to squeeze through the slats, we had one large and small but it was too cold to be an issue, so if you have puppies or smaller dogs, bring along a longer-ish doggie gate if you go when it’s warmer so the dogs can enjoy the balcony too. The motel supplies dog waste bags and also has a sandy dog area, but we took them to the beach, way more fun.

The carpet was clean and seemed new, the furnishings were new and modern, the bed was comfortable, linen not new but clean, there was a small TV in the room, which we both thought was too small for the room, but there were a decent amount of channels to select from. There was also a microwave, small refrigerator and table and chairs in the room. Note: you will need to pay $10.00 a day extra for your dogs no matter if there is one or three, it will be $10.00 per day. I thought that was very reasonable.

There is a sink in the room on the outside wall of the bathroom which was very convenient; there was also an ironing board and lots of closet space, extra blanket and pillow. The bathroom was nice, and the only problem with the water is that we had to wait for a while on the hot water to come in….just be patient, it will come…LOL you will know it’s getting hot after it starts to screech…after it gets going the water pressure is pretty good and they give you plenty of towels, now the towels are discolored and well, not very clean looking but they were clean, just very stained.

There is covered parking and an elevator and a snack machine in the parking area. There is also a walkway (street) to the beach that was so close, we walked the dogs on the beach every time they had to go out.…they loved the beach and the sand, and the ride down wasn’t too stressful for them (or us with them) so we will definitely be coming back and I will want room 526, it has a great view of the sunset and ocean.

It is a ways from the boardwalk (which starts around 20th street?) but if you’re with your pets, you probably drove like we did, so it wasn’t an issue. However, in the summertime, from what I read on the signs posted by the motel, the dogs ARE allowed in that area on the beach as long as they are leashed. Good to know since they ARE NOT allowed on the beach near the boardwalk area or on the boardwalk after April 30th. So all-in-all this is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boo2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a joy to find a truly pet friendly motel with a well appointed room. The motel is conveniently located a few blocks from The Ocean City Convention Center and 1/2 block from the beach. There were no odors and the staff was extremely helpful. The king size beds were very comfortable. Our room had a full size, spotless bathroom as well as a large vanity with separate sink opposite the bathroom as well as a microwave and refrigerator. Each room has it's own outside balcony with chairs and table. They offer both sheltered and open parking. I would highly recommend this motel, especially if you have pets. Looking forward to staying there next year!

Room Tip: If your pet is large and does not like to climb stairs, request a room on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
4.4 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#67 of 103 in Ocean City
195 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#44 of 103 in Ocean City
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Mailman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman

Property: Barefoot Mailman
Address: #16 35th Street - Oceanside, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Barefoot Mailman 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Barefoot Mailman Motel. Our ideal oceanside location is conveniently located just 5 blocks from the Convention Center and eight blocks from Ocean City's famous boardwalk. Our rooms are clean and inviting, and the staff is warm and friendly. We are pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Barefoot Mailman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barefoot Mailman Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing