We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Low cost, and Close to Convention Ctr”
Review of Maridel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maridel Motel
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This small motel is clean and very very close to the convention center. I am not able to walk far and I was able to walk across the parking lot to the center. If you are attending an event at the center and want to be right there this is the place for you. Very basic accomadations, nothing fancy, and a small bathroom but the people are friendly, there is a small pool and a resturant within steps of the motel that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. I would recommend this motel if you want to save money and want a clean, quiet place to stay. This was a business trip so I can't comment on access to the beach but I saw others who were coming and going daily to the beach by car. Call and ask Fred (very friendly owner) about proximity to the beach. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank threeMainCoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

we have been staying at the maridel for the past ten years.Both Paul & Nancy the owners are pleasant and accommodating, they run a very clean motel ( in all ten years we have never seen a bug or stained sheets)across the street from the beach and very convenient to near by attractions and bus transportation.the kiddos love their pool,each room has a refrige,coffee maker,microwave and hairdryer. my preteen enjoyed using her newly bought laptop with their wifi in the room to keep in touch with her friends.we continue to recommend this motel to our friends & family♥

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teamkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I have stayed at this motel many times. I am travler....The motel is small and yes there is no elevator so being on the top floor is not a plus, however it is the best value in OC. The pool is clean, the rooms are clean, if you are looking for a 5 star then do not stay here and write bad reviews. This is a budget friendly matel close to the action of OC. The supermarket is next door, dough rollers is next to the motel, ritas and the bus stop are at the front door as well. The staff are very friendly and do everything they can to help you enjoy your stay. The maid staff is very friendly and prompt and would not steal from you. I have left money on the counter and came back and it is still there...wont happen at the 5 star resorts.....If you are looking for a clean, safe, centrally located place to stay in OC then you have found it here. Denise B.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jadaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We arrived in Ocean City very early on an extremely hot Sunday morning. We stopped in around 11:30 am, just to say we had arrived. The lady at the desk was very gracious, we checked in and she advised us that the previous guests had just checked out, but if we gave her our cell phone number, they would call us as soon as the room was ready. Within an hour we received a call that the room was ready. The room itself was a plesant surprise. It was a basic OC motel room, however, it was larger than some motels where we have stayed, room and everything in it (mircowave and fridge) were very clean and the beds were comfortable. It was also very quiet in the rooms, we did not hear anyone else's TV or any noise above us. Motel has plenty of parking just steps away from the entrances, The pool area is small but very nice, it has lounge chairs and tables with umbrellas, pool and patio was also very clean. The Convention Center is just a short walk so it's an excellent motel for anyone attending an event there. Another bonus is that a Dough Roller resturant and Rita's are just steps away from the motel. We are already planning our next visit and plan to stay at Maridel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JIS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Service was great!
My room was held for my late night arrival time on a Holiday weekend.
My room was comfortable and spacious.
The location was ideal for bikng to and from the Boardwalk each morning.
The pool looked very clean and clear, although the weather was too cool for swimming.
The Wireless Internet was flawless the entire weekend.
What I liked best was the easy access to and from the adjacent parking lot.
Also, a local restaurant and grocery store were right next door.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachcomberUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean. Had a hair dryer which was a plus. The pool was clean the kids enjoyed it. Supermarket is a very short walk and dough roller was right in front. The view was ok, you could see the bay and the bridge. BUT the room REAKED of cat urine. It says they do not let pets in there so whatever the smell was smelled horrible. We sprayed lysol heavily in the room but it didnt' help. It wasn't even one of those smells where if your in the room long enough you get used to it. The carpet also smelled like horrible mildew. And if those pictures on this website was really a room there, it ddin't look anything like the one we stayed in. Our room did not have nice paneling, it was straight brick painted white. and our carpet was stained. Oh yeah, it says internet but we weren't able to pick up a signal at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank poca1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maridel, Owner at Maridel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2009

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Maridel Motel. We welcome feedback from all of our guest. Our apologies for any kind of odor that you may have noticed in your room. Your comments will be forwarded to our housekeeping staff. We invite you to try us again.

Paul Sayan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

cockroaches, stained sheets and bedspreads.stained walls,dirty.maid did not change the sheets the 3 nights we were there.several steps to haul your luggage,no elevator.no closet.just a filthy place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinknpretty_sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maridel, Owner at Maridel Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2009

Thank you for your feedback about the Maridel Motel. We always welcome comments from guest - even if they are not positive. As a family-owned business we take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms. Our bed sheets are changed according to a schedule or can be changed anytime per the guest request. We take the issue of bug control very seriously. We are a reputable motel who contracts a professional pest control company, which services and inspects our motel on a monthly basis. We are an older three-story motel with no elevator. There is no way to get around that. A manager will gladly provide assistance to any guest who needs help in getting their luggage to their room. You just need to ask.

Paul Sayan, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#26 of 104 in Ocean City
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Princess Royale Resort
Princess Royale Resort
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,893 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maridel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maridel Motel

Address: 101 42nd St, Ocean City, MD 21842-3273
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £55 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maridel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maridel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maridel Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing