We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience - Except for the $1,500 damage to my car.”
Review of Maridel Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maridel Motel
Ranked #47 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great experience - Except for the $1,500 damage to my car.”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My love and I took the top floor suite for an overnight stay. Although the Maridel is chock full of vintage era furnishings our experience was that it was clean and comfortable, but quite possibly in a crime strewn area that may require more detail, security, and safe procedure for their guest's parking area.
Most disappointing was the owner's, Nancy and Paul, lack of attention to the destruction of our 1994 Fleetwood Brougham while parked on their property where Paul had directed us to park. "You can just leave it parked in front there since you are just staying the night", Paul said the day we checked in. Little did we suspect that the area was so dangerous. Had we known we would have parked our car in the secured lot with the rest of the guest's vehicles.
Things happen in life and business. I am a business man. I know. I also know when a little common courtesy and at least an acknowledgment of how a patron's misfortune while being served by a business can go a long way toward's good relations and a better rating then what I am giving this motel. There was no offer of compensation for the damages to our beautiful classic car. No offer to compensate us for being up until 4AM cleaning glass out of our car at a distant 24hour Walmart so we could tape up the gaping hole in the back of our car where the window was - rain was forcasted for the day! There was no acknowledgment of their responsibility in directing us to park our car at the front of the motel exposed to pedestrian traffic. There was not even a simple 'sorry' offered up by Nancie as we checked out or by Paul as he zoomed past us with his head down like he didn't see us. Really??
Is it the Mariel's fault our car was damaged? Yes, I believe so. They know their neighborhood. Yet they directed us to park it in an exposed area. We did not have damage insurance on our car and these repairs; our return trip to Worcester County courts on Dec 4th to try to collect from the culprit Nicholas M Maher; our stay at another motel for that trip and the fuel will be out of our pocket. Some sort of acknowledgement and compensation would have been appropriate.
Too bad the management of the Maridel is so poor. The old motel itself is suffering for it.

Room Tip: Top floor suite is like stepping back into the 1950's, but clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1fJef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
19
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

When we arrived, we tried to check in an hour early and they were happy to give us our room early. The check in went smoothly and quickly. When we got to our rooms we noticed that the room was outdated, but clean. We checked the sheets for bugs and stains and found none. The air conditioner worked good, as well as the microwave and refridgerator. We did notice that behind the curtains is a bar to hang towels or bathing suits and it smelled a little over there, but nothing noticeable if not standing back there. The bathroom was small and the shower was a little dirty, but nothing too unbearable. I also want to note that they do not include any extras, just the bare necessties, as far as toiletries--they only provide the towels, plastic cup and a few bars of soap, but nothing more. Inside the room, we could not hear any loud talking or televisions. Good location for convention center and other restaurants. For the money, this motel is a great place to stay! If you are visiting OC on a budget like we were, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregMt_Airy_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The housekeeping staff kept the place very clean.None of the usual horror stories of places not having hot water,or black hairs in the shower.The air conditioner worked great.It was everything I expected for what I paid and it was clean.If your looking for the Ritz this isn't it BUT if you want a cool,clean room for a great price,this is it.Very quiet too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I brought a friend down with us a few years ago and we stayed at this motel. We found it to be very clean and the people were very friendly. So when my sisters family and I wanted to come down again I suggessted this motel. I called and made the reservation for 6 people, and they said ok no problem. When we came to check in the man at the desk was very rude. He asked how many people it was for and i told him and he was like "Oh that is too many people for this room blah blah blah" He argued with me about it and told me if i cancelled the reservation id have to pay the whole price of the room. Yet he didnt want al of us to stay in the room. He eventually said " if you are ok with sleeping on top of eachother idc if you stay in there" I did not appreciate his attitude and his customer service was very bad. Then when we got into the room the bathroom was very dirty the floor was dirty and we found a little baggy that looked as though it had a white substance in it. All in all....we will NOT stay there again and i will not suggest anyone else to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We decided to stay at this motel based on the price of the room. It was much cheaper than mostly all of the other hotels in Ocean City. The look of the building is very old and outdated. There are power lines and power transformers right behind the building, so when you are in the pool, that is the view you have. The pool was on the smaller side, but was clean. The cushions on the pool lounge chairs were very dirty, but we just removed them. Check in went smoothly and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room left a lot to be desired. It was quite small and had a bit of an odor. The carpet was very dirty and after only a few minutes of walking around on it, my daughters feet were black on the bottom. I had to wear my flip flops the whole time in the room. I also found hair one one of the bath towels that was hanging up. With all of that being said, the motel is a 5 minute walk to the beach and was priced much less than pretty much every place else in the area. Would I stay there again? No, but if you are traveling on a budget and don't mind less than good, than it is for you. I will pay the extra $100 for better accommodations next time.

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st floor as there is no elevator in the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donhol27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This small motel is clean and very very close to the convention center. I am not able to walk far and I was able to walk across the parking lot to the center. If you are attending an event at the center and want to be right there this is the place for you. Very basic accomadations, nothing fancy, and a small bathroom but the people are friendly, there is a small pool and a resturant within steps of the motel that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. I would recommend this motel if you want to save money and want a clean, quiet place to stay. This was a business trip so I can't comment on access to the beach but I saw others who were coming and going daily to the beach by car. Call and ask Fred (very friendly owner) about proximity to the beach. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank threeMainCoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

we have been staying at the maridel for the past ten years.Both Paul & Nancy the owners are pleasant and accommodating, they run a very clean motel ( in all ten years we have never seen a bug or stained sheets)across the street from the beach and very convenient to near by attractions and bus transportation.the kiddos love their pool,each room has a refrige,coffee maker,microwave and hairdryer. my preteen enjoyed using her newly bought laptop with their wifi in the room to keep in touch with her friends.we continue to recommend this motel to our friends & family♥

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teamkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
Princess Bayside Beach Hotel
#64 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.3 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#24 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sun 'n Fun Motel
Sun 'n Fun Motel
#54 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maridel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maridel Motel

Property: Maridel Motel
Address: 101 42nd St, Ocean City, MD 21842-3273
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#22 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maridel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maridel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maridel Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing