We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here, its a waste.”
Review of Cabana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cabana Motel
Ranked #95 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here, its a waste.”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We got here august 3 and there was no microwave after we called in advance to make sure every room had one. Then as we sat on the bed, it hit the floor. My daughter burned her leg on the toilet. The water is boiling hot in the toilet. The room had garbage under the bed. We called 2 times for a microwave finally i went down to get it myself. Then he came in to fix the bed and he kicked it. He left we sat down and it hit the floor. This motel is the worst i have ever stayed in. If i were homeless, this would be a good idea. But myself and my wife and my kids will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda200039705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    6
    7
    41
See reviews for
19
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Federalsburg, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

don't walk too hard you might fall through, cracker jack size rooms, check for mold !!, do not have free coffee as advertised only the use of a coffee maker at the office, must provide your own coffee, cream, and sugar, and a small portion of free ice, after that three dollars a bag.After speaking to other visitors our tiny room wasn't so bad, lol, other rooms included refrig and ac didn't work, and one poor lady said huge hole in wall next to her ac that you could look straight outside to, lol; daughter enjoyed pool staying open until ten and that was clean, our room was fairly clean and it is close to ocean but at 210.00 night we got WAY LESS THAN WE PAID FOR

Room Tip: Be wiser and reserve an accomidation with much more advance notice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty1skyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This motel was the most disgusting motel we have ever stayed in. In the bathroom was black mold everywhere, even on the bottom of the shower curtain and garbage can. The water in the shower was extremely hard to adjust the temperature. The bathroom was also crawling with ants and bugs and when we told the person at the front desk, he handed us a can of ant spray.
The carpet in the room was all bunched up and never vacuumed. I made a mistake of looking under the bed. I wanted to puke, there was so much debris under there. The air conditioning was leaking so bad there the rug under it was completely saturated.
There is no such thing as maid service. When I asked for clean towels, I was told if I wanted any to take my old ones down to the laundry room first.
The floor on the second floor is so rotted that we thought we were going to fall through it.
The pool was filthy. The pump was not working.
The smoke detector did not work. We told two different people. One person came up and said he would fix it and never came back. This place is extremely unsafe for anyone.
We definitely would never come back to this motel. We would of left the first night but we paid $810.00 for 7 days and no refund. This place needs to be closed down!
One person on the first level came up to us and said she felt it to be extremely unsafe for her family and stayed in the car for the night. The people next to us moved twice cause of mold and air conditioner broke down.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

My family stayed at this motel for many summers through my childhood (I'm currently 26) The older couple that owned this motel (and lived there) for many years kept it in nice shape, the cleaning staff made sure everything was in order, and I don't have a bad memory from their ownership. BUT then, we came and found out the motel was "under new management". I was 6 months pregnant and I'm glad my child wasn't born yet because I wouldn't let my DOG stay there. The police were in the parking lot 4 out of 6 nights due to public intoxication, theft, and fighting. The manager did NOTHING and was rude. The rooms were not cleaned daily, the pool was more like a toilet, and lets not even go to the bathroom situation. Thankfully, we didn't spend that much time in the room. The stairs were falling apart and the soda machines were out of service. The original owners of The Cabana would be VERY disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandie0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgely, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

A sign out front of the building states " best rates in OC", wounder why? I Went to OC in a group of 5 and the only thing we liked about this motel was that it was cheap. We had a room on the second floor. The stairs to our room were falling apart along with the balcony that stretched across the motel. None of us could not get a decent shower due to the water changing from hot to cold off and on not to mention the bathroom looked creepy, some of piping coming out of the walls. Room was small and did have a musty smell. The whole building looks like its falling apart.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manny446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I've stayed in my fair share of cheap motels, and this is by far the worst. Being a poor college student, I've come to accept that I won't be staying in many nice hotels like I used to- but this is way over the line. The first thing I noticed was that the balcony and the stairs are completely falling apart. There are holes in the wood, it sags when you step on it, and there are a few boards that have been replaced here and there, which leads me to believe someone fell through it. I refused to walk on it for the whole trip- I used the stairs that were right in front of our room. The hand railing on there was practically falling off, and if you had more than 3 people on the stairs at one time they actually moved. We had one key for the room. I was told when I checked in that we would get another copy and we never did. That key eventually got harder and harder to take out of the lock, and on the last night it took me five minutes to even get it in the lock. The room itself was just dirty, especially the bathroom. I didn't want to set anything down in there or walk on the floor. The sink almost fell off when I leaned on it. The shower constantly changed from blistering hot to ice cold no matter what you had the temperature set on. And there were just so many other little things that I chose to overlook because I was trying not to be picky. Worst place I have ever stayed in my life. I read the reviews and I didn't believe them because I know how critical people can be. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhianna008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

A group of us went to OC for a long weekend and stayed at this Motel for one night (thurs) The room was disgusting!!! The smell of weed was coming through the walls and there was nothing but a bunch of drunks coming in and out of the rooms and throughout the parking lot. I have nothing against a good party especially when you are on vacation...but when you cant walk to your room even with your husband without being hit on and told explicit things about yourself there is a problem. The Manager was extremely rude and didn't care about much! Even though the price will look good to you, trust me there are a LOT of other motels in OC that cost less, or the same that are well worth staying at. I would especially never recommend a family to stay in this place...awful, awful, awful!!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose any room in this motel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#81 of 103 in Ocean City
32 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bedtime Inn
Bedtime Inn
#77 of 103 in Ocean City
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sands Motel
Crystal Sands Motel
#55 of 103 in Ocean City
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn Town Motel
Inn Town Motel
#89 of 103 in Ocean City
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sun 'n Fun Motel
Sun 'n Fun Motel
#54 of 103 in Ocean City
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Motel

Property: Cabana Motel
Address: 1900 Philadelphia Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3548
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Cabana Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabana Motel welcomes you to relax and enjoy your summer vacation in our comfortable and friendly motel. Our small motel has been a land mark in ocean city Maryland since 1954 we have gone through many changes and many remodelings and many face changes but as then and now we are still offering a great place to stay and enjoy the beach and at reasonable prices. We are conveniently located just half-block from the beach and the famous ocean city boardwalk. The Cabana Motel is within walking distance of Phillips sea food buffet just half a block away and jolly Rodgers amusement park just half a mile away also night life entertainment just one block away and a shopping center just half a block away. Complimentary coffee is available in the motel lobby in the morning. At the Cabana Motel we try to provide a quiet atmosphere so you can enjoy the bay and ocean air. We also have a pool with a great sun deck so you can get your sun tan or have fun with your kids and family. So call today to make your summer vacation at the Cabana Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Cabana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabana Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing