We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable....Good value.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sea Watch Condominium
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice and comfortable....Good value.”
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We rented two bedroom condo on the 18th floor. The building is very nice, has everything: indoor and outdoor pools, game room, sauna, exercise room, playground. Hotel is right on the beach. View from our window was amazing. Very conveniently located close to restaurants and shopping.
The condo was very clean and had everything we needed however I've seen few roaches in the kitchen.
Still, this was so much better than any hotel in the area with similar rates.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sa2000sha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    24
    12
    16
    37
See reviews for
105
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2009

First of all, the hotel itself is very nice. It has lots of things for the kids to do. A playground, an indoor and outdoor pool, an arcade. It has a fitness room for the adults. The security was great. The bad part about staying here, the unit 1800 that we rented. It was a sight for sore eyes. The View was fantastic and it had lots of room. But it was in desperate need of repair and updating. The furniture was old and stained. The carpet was is need of steam cleaning or replacement. The shower doors in the Master Bedroom were hard to open and close. The master bedroom has a very small, maybe 13' tv. The kitchen wasn't too bad, but the burners on the stove either didn't work or only heated high, no lower settings. We didn't use the dishwasher, because there was a note saying that it sometimes leaked and there was a towel stuffed under it. Also, the previous renter never emptied it. The sink didn't drain and the garbage disposal did not work. It did have a nice large flat screen tv in the living room. One of the toilets did not flush very well in one of the bathrooms. All in all it was a big disappointment. We would never stay in this unit again. We did go online and did the virtual tour before we rented this. Next time I would want to see the unit in person before I would rent it. I would highly recommend the Sea Watch, but as far as unit 1800 forget it. I also think that Century 21 should know what the units are like before they recommend them to renters.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watchitPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW13OCMD, SW 13 Owner at Sea Watch Condominium, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Sorry you had a bad experience in your stay at SeaWatch. We agree with the comments that say check out the unit before renting in SeaWatch. We have 2 units in SeaWatch – and they are NOT the unit you are commenting on here. Please check out our units for consideration at SeaWatch in the future: You can read the positive responses posted both here on tripadvisor and on VRBO (listing 187185) and Vacation Rentals (listing 57199) or Google search on “seawatch 13” to find us on facebook. SeaWatch is really a great facility and don’t let one bad unit deter you from coming back to the good units!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2009

We just got back from our seventh weeklong stay at Sea Watch and we'll be back next year and the year after that. The only reason we didn't give it five stars is because it's not perfect in every way imaginable, and because for first-time visitors it's a crapshoot whether you get a good unit or not. If you have nothing else to go on, try to get a unit on the 10th floor or higher, on the north side, units 1x03 through 1x06. Here's why: the north side has better unobstructed views of the ocean, and doesn't bake in the afternoon sun. Lower floors get more noise from the ground and when the elevators come down from higher floors they're liable to be full. Units 1x01 and 02 have their A/C units on the balcony which means you lose space and you hear them inside the unit. Units 1x07 through 09 are too far back and pick up too much street noise.

Here's the real trick: if you don't love your unit, check out a little early, then wander around and look for units being cleaned. The cleaning crews almost never mind if you have a quick look around. Also, if you catch the rental office when they're not busy, they'll usually let you look at vacant units. That way, if your bad experience was largely because of a crappy unit, you can give yourself the kind of great time we have year after year.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fax4voice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

I can't believe we paid to stay here! We are in unit 1318 and what a disappointment - The bathrooms are old, the furniture is awful....and get this - the laundry is located outside the unit.....the TV doesn't work properly. Elevators are slow....Overall the entire Condo building is old and needs refurbished. One outdoor pool for all these units - give me a break! What a waste this place is....the entire building needs redone to get with the times.....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuzzPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW13OCMD, SW 13 Owner at Sea Watch Condominium, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Sorry you had a bad experience in your stay at SeaWatch. We agree with the comments that say check out the unit before renting in SeaWatch. We have 2 units in SeaWatch – and they are NOT the unit you are commenting on here. Please check out our units for consideration at SeaWatch in the future: You can read the positive responses posted both here on tripadvisor and on VRBO (listing 187185) and Vacation Rentals (listing 57199) or Google search on “seawatch 13” to find us on facebook. SeaWatch is really a great facility and don’t let one bad unit deter you from coming back to the good units!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2008

Just returned from a week long stay at the Sea Watch Condo in Ocean City, MD.
I would recomend this condo to anyone looking for value, convenience, ammenities, security, relaxation, fun.
It is one of the older buildings located on 115th Street and Coastal Highway. It is well maintained in general and the unit itself was somewhat remodeled recently. The unit was decorated nicely and still remained functional. Each appliance in the full kitchen worked properly and air conditioning was quiet and efficient. One nice feature of this building was the washer/dryer unit's location in a seperate locked room alongside the apartment.
My family of 8 people stayed in a 3 bedroom unit. We had sufficent space to be comfortable.
The owners association has spared little to keep the Sea Watch a fun and safe place to stay. It is always well secured and kept clean on a constant basis by the many staff members on site.
I was impressed by the attached parking garage where a guard was always stationed at the entrance to verify your pass upon entry. The non-refundable registration fee consisted of a $30.00 fee to park your car in the garage. We parked our 3 vehicles for the week in the garage without any issues. Checking each vehicle for parking passes displayed on each of the 5 levels was routine for this staff.
When at the pool, tennis courts, playground, game room or other activities a tag had to be worn and was checked constantly by the ever present staff. It was reassuring to have the staff so vigilant to keep non paying people off the property.
They offered 3 tennis courts that were well maintained and offered raquet rental at the small shop on site. The small cafe was just enough if you wanted something quick and easy. My 3 grandchildren enjoyed the large play area next to the tennis courts. Our balcony overllooked the play area and beach. I felt no apprehension allowing my 10 year old grandaughter lead her 4 and 6 year old cousins to the play area. I always saw staff present in every area of the building.
The indoor and outdoor pools and surrounding areas were always spotless and well maintained. The short route to the beach area was an easy one and always clean.
A nice touch was the atrium area in the center of the V-shaped building. It housed a beautiful fountain with trees and benches for relaxation.
Sea Watch is located directly acroos the street from the Gold Coast Mall. This is a great location boasting many shops, restaurants, grocery store and beverage outlet. The Green Turtle Restaurant is located on the next corner. Great place to eat, by the way.
If you are looking for a well maintained, safe and quiet family condo the Sea Watch is for you.

  • Liked — Well maintained and extremely safe.
  • Disliked — Slow elevators due to high traffic.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nanaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2008

The Sea Watch is OK. Unfortunately, our vacation there was marred by gang activity. Practically all rooms are Ocean View, not Direct Ocean Front. The South side of the building appears to have that beach view for most rooms obscured by an adjoining structure. Most South side rooms view the back of that building to the east and the sound to the west.

The beach in front of Sea Watch is very crowded. By 7:30 every morning, people from Sea Watch had "reserved" the beach just at the high water mark with chairs, umbrellas, blankets and towels. Every day we had to compete for a good spot from which to watch our children play in the surf. Both my wife and I found this situation to be very unpleasant. It was hard to relax and we ended up worrying about getting down to the beach every morning!

None of the balconies have privacy walls so you better like your neighbors, all of them. You can look down the entire row of balconies, and when your next door neighbors are on their balcony it feels like you are all sitting out on the porch together. Also, the walls, floors/ceilings do little to muffle noise from adjoining units. Additionally, our bathroom always smelled strongly of smoke when the people next door smoked, which they did constantly.

You have to bring everything: towels, wash cloths, sheets, blankets, pillows & cases, tissues, toilet paper, napkins, paper towels, dish washer detergent & dish soap, dish towels, washing machine detergent, bounce, etc., etc., etc., and security even makes you rent luggage carts for $2.00.

Sea Watch does not offer any dining options except a small take out shop that constantly has long lines. There are a few places to eat across the street, but Sea Watch is very far from the amenities available closer to the boardwalk.

The elevators are really slow. We frequently ran into literally crowds of frustrated people waiting for elevators. All hall ways are the exposed type with the air conditioner/dryer vent for each unit blowing smelly air on you as you walk by. Unfortunately, this arrangement aggravates my allergies. I also found that the stair wells smelled like dryer exhaust.

The condos are typical beach box affairs with bad decor and dated fixtures. Our unit had missing wall paper, carpeting that was bulged down the middle, flooring that separated from the baseboard, and a bath room door that locked from the outside (it must be a fire code violation - you could get locked in and die in a fire since the door opened inward).

While the real estate rental office advertises a gym at the facility, what they don't disclose is that you are only allowed access for one hour. You must sign out a gym key at the so-called "security" office where personnel are rude and threatening if you are late returning the key. The rental office also does not tell you that security makes all guests wear bracelets with identity tags (even kids). I don't know if they treat "owners" any better, but watch out if you get tagged as a "rental". Also, it appeared that owners were allowed to keep animals in their units and we saw many dogs, and even some cats, on the elevators.

In my opinion, Sea Watch is not a class act and it definitely is NOT worth the money. Go elsewhere!

  • Liked — The TVs had some premium movie channels.
  • Disliked — The activities were below par and some were difficult to access.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Customslawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW13OCMD, SW 13 Owner at Sea Watch Condominium, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Sorry you had a bad experience in your stay at SeaWatch. We agree with the comments that say check out the unit before renting in SeaWatch. We have 2 units in SeaWatch – and they are NOT the unit you are commenting on here. Please check out our units for consideration at SeaWatch in the future: You can read the positive responses posted both here on tripadvisor and on VRBO (listing 187185) and Vacation Rentals (listing 57199) or Google search on “seawatch 13” to find us on facebook. SeaWatch is really a great facility and don’t let one bad unit deter you from coming back to the good units!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

This was our first trip to Ocean City Maryland. We've heard of the beaches and the boardwalk and the famous blue shelled crabs but had no idea about the accomodations.

Although a member of RCI, we were unable to get any timeshare in OC. In fact, there are only a few places there that are listed. So we went with a real estate agent.

After review, we ended up with the Sea Watch. It's located in the north section of Ocean City Blvd, the main strip through Ocean City. Check in was a breeze as the Century 21 office was there and ready to assist us. The Lobby looked in great condition and the security guards were courteous and efficient in setting us up for the week. There is a $30 charge for parking but with the amount of money you can spend on Blue Shell Crabs, no big deal!  Speaking of security, it is everywhere in the hotel – constantly walking around the building. We always felt safe.

The courtyard on our way to the room was very clean and nicely landscaped. There was a small fountain with a waterfall in the middle. Nice touch.

When we got up to the floor (we were in 1203) and got out of the elevator, you could tell that the resort had some years on it. Not that it was in disrepair but it had older features to it. I’d have to say that this was my first feeling like – darn – did we make the right choice.

We had a two bedroom unit facing the ocean. The place was pretty well kept but again, as we found in the walkway to the room, it was obvious it was older. The walls had some stains, the furniture was sun bleached, and the showers had the old fashioned handles with no anti-scald features.

One thing that I didn't read in the fine print and totally my fault was that there was no linens or soap or dishwashing things. We had to go out and buy it all. But that's my problem.

The layout of the unit was great. Unit 1203 had a large patio facing the ocean and the bay so you could see both sun rises and sunsets. The living room was large enough for my family of 5. The bedrooms were large enough too with plenty of drawer space. The bathrooms although old were clean.

The kitchen was a galley arrangement but was certainly large enough for our family and the fridge fit our food and drinks easily.

There were two well kept tennis courts, a large play yard with many items for the kids to use and some decent grass areas. The indoor pool was round and had a covered walkway from the main lobby. It was clean but the amount of chlorine was excessive and my daughter was literally in pain one night from it. We never used it again. The outdoor pool had lots of chairs and tables and was warm.

The game room within the condo was huge. The only issue was that it ate quarters faster than my kids can each chocolate! Still the management team was always ok with returning our money the next morning so no major loss there. There were drink and snack machines in the lobby. There was pretty large place to get food and ice cream and snacks. It was open throughout the stay. There is a store on site as well with beach things and sundries.

The entry way to the beach was great with multiple showers to clean the sand off of you and your beach stuff. The beaches by the way are pristine. At night, a couple of tractors come by with these large sifters and clean the beach, so the next morning the sand is soft and clean. There is an umbrella and chair service available as well.

Overall, even with the aging of the condo unit itself, we’d certainly visit the resort again. The beach views were amazing. The facility well kept. The vacation was wonderful and we visited some great stuff as well as some yummy restaurants.

Enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — Location was great - layout of the condo with some fabulous views!
  • Disliked — Condo unit showed its age - may have just been the individual unit.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheNotarangelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#3 of 103 in Ocean City
2,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marigot Beach Suites
Marigot Beach Suites
#43 of 103 in Ocean City
295 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
846 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.4 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#70 of 103 in Ocean City
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Watch Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Watch Condominium

Property: Sea Watch Condominium
Address: 115th Street, Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 400
Also Known As:
Sea Watch Condominium Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing