We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surf Villa Hotel
Ranked #93 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
1 review
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The apartments A,b, c and d on the 1 st street have to be destroyed and left in a trash can forever !!!!!!! Worst apartments in the world and expensive. I prefer to sleep on the sand, for it is cleaner than inside of those apts. Never go to the surf villa apts on the 1st street.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    10
    6
    5
    31
See reviews for
18
17
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Finksburg, MD
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Was very excited to find such a reasonably priced hotel in Ocean City in the middle of summer!! The hotel was clean, the beds pretty comfortable and the air conditioner in the room worked great! The gentleman at the front dest was very nice and answered our questions about the history of the hotel (it dates back to 1963!!). It is in a great spot if you are looking to go to the boardwalk. Please know that when you are paying such a great rate you are not going to get a Hilton...but for the price it was a fabulous deal!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 4 years with different experiences each year. Last year was so-so but we decided to give it one more try as the price was good. The water pressure is terrible and we had to ask to have our showerhead fixed as the water was only a trickle. All the electronics were unplugged and we had to search and plug each in as we discovered them even moving furniture to do so. The fridge we did not discover unplugged til the next day when all our soda was warm. We requested extra towels which never came. We will change our hotel for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I've stayed at the Surf Villa 5 out of the 7 years I've vacationed at OC. True it's not of an up to date decor, it's of an older time! The rooms are small and the appliances are not always the best but guess what, I wouldn't stay any where else. Parking can sometimes be difficult but it's OC, parking is hard to come bye everywhere in OC. The price is fair, the location is perfect and I love the "quietness" of the place. If it didn't have a hotel sign out front you would never know that it's a hotel. There is not the constant traffic of the larger hotels and the drunken pain in the butt clientele! So, I am glad the staff turns away the unruly that would turn such a quiet place into grand central station. If your looking for a place to bring you steady girl and enjoy a quiet safe residential atmosphere then this is the place. I've never had a problem with the staff, they try their best to please and I like that. The only thing I wish they would improve would be a stronger WIFI signal, that would be nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flametree1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have stayed at Surf Villa hotel for many years with my entire family, i love staying here. This year, being that my grandparents can no longer make the drive, I've planned the very same trip for my family & a few friends. We always stay in the 1st floor apartments. The owner Hector has always been extremely nice and respectful, the girls are so sweet as well! We always stay for a week, the place is clean, cable & free wifi, beds are comfy, the girls come in every morning & rid up... Only with your consent! Parking in back, boards & Beach can be seen out front, It's quiet, in a perfect location! Feels just like home, with the beach as your front yard! Can't wait til July, see you soon Surf Villa :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ashleyhanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

It's a wonderful, no frills, place to stay in Ocean City. I stayed there in 2011 and 2012, and will definitely be back in 2013! It's very clean and very quiet, but parking can sometimes be a problem. Close to everything, and they even have free WiFi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed at Surf Villa on Sunfest weekend. Rooms were hard to come by at a reasonable rate. The surf is an older building in the heart of downtown OC so don't expect much in the way of amenities. The rooms were clean, and the manager was very hospitable. All in all it wasn't too bad. I don't think I would bring the whole family though. The walls are thin and the rooms are small, but the bed was oh so comfy and the sheets were fresh. If you're just looking for a place to lay your head at night Surf Villa will do.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princefrostydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#78 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#80 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Walk Hotel
Beach Walk Hotel
#52 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#45 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
Flagship Hotel Oceanfront
#42 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Villa Hotel

Property: Surf Villa Hotel
Address: 705 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3830
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Villa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Surf Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surf Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing