We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachcomber Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beachcomber Motel
Ranked #42 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Beachcomber Motel for three days just prior to the July 4th holiday. It is a quiet motel away from the noise of the boardwalk. The manager and his assistants are friendly and eager to make sure that each guest has a pleasant stay. The bay view from the higher floors is wonderful, and the motel is an easy walk to the beach. Though the motel is a bit dated, it was very clean with new linens and towels. For the price, it is tough to find a better motel if you are looking for a place in north Ocean City.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murfsmom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    34
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
41
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I have to agree with the other positive reviews. My two toddlers, husband and I stayed here the 3-day Labor Day weekend 2012 for less than $450. Was this a luxurious stay? No (the furniture/decor was very dated), but we were provided everything that we needed - clean towels, fridge, microwave, sink, dish soap and dishrag/towels, dishes, and a small coffee maker. The staff was extremely kind and welcoming, and the rooms were large and clean. We stayed in room 205 and the beds were comfy! (My sister stayed in 204, and the beds were creaky and OK at best). The pool was clean and never crowded, even on a holiday weekend. The Beachcomber was conveniently located to a number of restaurants within walking distance, as well as putt putt, and of course it was only a block from the beach, with no streets to cross. For the price, I doubt you could beat this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panzergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed the weekend of August 17th. We found the motel to be very clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed on the 5th floor and had a view of the bay and a small view of the ocean. The bathroom was a small but manageable. The room itself large and comfortable. If you are looking for a clean room at a great value then this is the motel for you. We will return to this motel on our next trip to Ocean City, MD.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KayB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake Beach, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is based on a visit during August 2012.

Pros:
*The place is "hotel clean."
*Rates are reasonable based on location and time of year.
*There is parking is under the structure--this means the sun is not beating on your car all day.
*Walking distance to the beach.
*Hotel pool is small, but clean and well-maintained.
*Ironing board, iron, frig, microwave, kitchenette available in our room.
*Staff is friendly and helpful.
*Garden hose near the entrance is available to wash beach sand off yourself.
*Elevator is large and responsive.

Cons:
*Rooms face the main road (Coastal Hwy) instead of the ocean, which is partially obscured by other buildings closer to the ocean.
*Traffic is loud unless the door to the balcony is closed.
*No Internet access. ("Go to McDonald's")
*Room key is an old school metal key with a plastic tag with the room number imprinted on it.
*No room safe.
*A/C filter cleaning/replacement is needed. A/C unit it loud. Wear noise plugs to bed.
*If you're looking for privacy while you change in your room, the bathroom is the only place to do it, and it's really small. So if you're a big person...

Other observations:
*There are two handicap parking spaces.
*Hotel pool's deep end is 5 feet. There is no diving board (which is a good thing in this case).
*The exterior and the room interiors appear to have been recently painted--and painted properly.
*There is at least one cart available to make the moving of luggage from your car to your room easier.
*There is no fitness center.
*There is no free breakfast or other similar amenities.
*The ice machine is the ground floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be exposed to less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silverwoodchuck47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allentown
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

I was surprised to see so many good reviews on a motel that was so reasonably priced so I decided to try it out. I have to say It was VERY clean and rooms Very big....the view to the bay was refreshing the beach was only a half a block a way and we were far enough from the hustle an bustle to actually enjoy our vacation me and my boyfriend stayed for 2 nights and never heard any excessive noise and slept so comfortable. The staff was also very accommodating I lost a piece of my earring down the sink and the staff tried for 40 min to get it out! Although they couldn't I appreciated the effort. I will definitely be coming back to stay here on my next visit and would recommend this place to anyone who wants a clean place with a good location and very nice staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthy918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We went to O.C. last week on short notice, found several rooms, some of which we have stayed before. We chose to stay at the beachcomber, we found the staff friendly and accomodating, The price was right, the room was clean, service was good. The room is a bit dated but so is grandma's house! had a great time, wanted balcony, pool and oceanside, for that price it was great, also had good cable TV even though the TV was a bit small and so was the bathroom but it was acceptable. had a great view of the Bay! I would stay there again, would be a little cramped for 4 people though unless they were little kids.! Overall we were very satisfied. Pool a bit small but big enough.

Room Tip: Go for a corner room by the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beach_fans801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just spent four days at the Beachcomber and it was great. Been going to OC for over 30 years and have been in many motels, low to high rates. Must say we were pleasantly surprised with the Beachcomber beings the rates were so low. The rooms were very spacious, very clean and beds were so comfy. Had a small kitchenette, a/c worked great and never ran out of hot water like most hotels. The pool was very clean and refreshing and only 1/2 block walk to the beach. The owners and cleaning staff were very nice and pleasant to deal with. I have been in very expensive hotels ranging 200-300 and this was by far a much cleaner and roomier hotel than those that were so expensive. I will continue to stay at the Beachcomber every visit to OC. No more hotel/motel searching for me. I've found the best in the area!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, never heard anything at all. This is a family oriented hotel with no lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#25 of 103 in Ocean City
394 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#67 of 103 in Ocean City
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#39 of 103 in Ocean City
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri La Motel
Shangri La Motel
#5 of 18 in Ocean City
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel

Property: Beachcomber Motel
Address: 7500 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-2938
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Beachcomber Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Hotel Ocean City
Beachcomber Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing