We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another perspective” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Admiral Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Admiral Motel
Ranked #90 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
ruth345
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Another perspective”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Admiral is an old, dowdy hotel/motel with a friendly staff and a CHEAP price, especially considering it's fantastic location. Ocean City is full of old hotels in need of updating so if you're looking for Ritzy, go to Atlantic City. OR If you can afford the finer things, stay elsewhere. If you want a friendly staff and a great location on a budget, this place is fine. It's not the Ritz, but it's not priced that way either.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruth345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    22
    6
    46
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

We originally tried to stay at another property but saw a sign a called as we drove by. They had the cheapest rate we had heard so far so we booked even though we had a room on hold down the street. The staff was very friendly down to the cleaning staff (who yelled "have a safe trip" from the balcony as we left) Our room was small and outdated. Our shower had dirty/wet washcloths in it and the toilet stopped working after one or two uses. We were promptly given another room and allowed to look at it before we switched. The room wasn't any nicer and the shower was still kind of gross but the toilet worked and we were happy enough knowing most of our time would be spent out of the room. The location was great for people/car watching since it was crusing week. It was loud and lively but we were ok with that. The hallways of the main building had an old charm about them. Would maybe return if the price was right again but the rooms definately need an update and scrubbing.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LetsGoCaps83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central pa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here in sep 2010 for bike week. Our room was small and not the cleanest we had ever stayed at. The worst thing was the bathroom, the sink faucet barely worked and the AC leaked. The location is pretty good, just one street back from beach, but would not stay here again. Our room was in the main building, friends stayed in the building behind ours, and there room was much nicer, in fact they stayed again in 2011. Would not stay here again, unless no other place was open. If your looking for cheap, check The Majestic, its a step up from this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimike611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Birdsboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We booked this hotel back in 2009 for vacation. When we arrived the lobby looked very nice and clean, bit once we got to our room it was a different story. We had our 2 yr old daughter with us so we got the room with the kitchen. The bathroom was horrible, mold all inside the tub, the air conditioner was leaking and the floor was soaked which could cause mold. We asked to be moved, which we were. Well when we arrived @ this room the toilet was broken and the shower head was missing. Once again we moved but they put us in there "newer section", which didnt look any different. By this time it was getting alte and we were getting ready for bed when we noticed cockrothes crawling under the floor, my husband pulled out the bed and there where more with loads of dirt, dust, socks etc. We called the front desk and they sent someone up and this person actually admitted to the hotel not being very clean and how housekeeping doesnt clean well. In the morning my husband went to the hotel mananger and we got a refund and went to stay somewhere else for the rest of our vacation. This hotel was in no place for anyone, not to mention a 2 yr old that crawls on the floor...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gregawsk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

my boyfriend came for senior week and when he got home he immediately started itching everywhere, we then went there again for my birthday stayed 2 days and ever since then i have non stop been itching...come to find out BED BUGS i wish i would of checked.
the sheets had stains all over it, blood stains at that. we asked for new sheets and they would only bring pillow cases...MORE DIRTY ONES AT THAT! the employee then asked if he had to put them on for me. when he was putting them on he took the remote and chanced what we were watching saying he was missing his show for this...didnt take the dirty linens with him. they dont bring extra towels for you the only decent thing was the pool!
the bathroom was nasty and stained the shower wasnt even big enough to shave my legs in and needed to wear my sandels in the shower. the window screen had a hole in it.
when i called asking for prices of the dates i wanted the lady got an attitude and hung up on me. i really wish i didnt stay in this hotel and hoping i didnt bring the bed bugs home!
please do your self a favor and DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan92_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Unless your just looking for a bed by the boardwalk, I wouldn't stay here. There were ants, thin walls, and the bathroom was grimy at best. Stayed in the efficiency. And the third bed was tucked into a closed-in balcony with no AC. Staff was shady, I would advise people to lock valueables in their car. Parking is not guaranteed.
And don't expect the staff to accomodate your complaints.
Probably a perfect room for Senior Week.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flea74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here with a friend and my two grandkids. The night we checked in we got in late due to bad weather. We were exhausted after a long drive and just wanted to relax. The room was absolutely horrific when we entered. The tiny bathroom was filthy and covered in dirt and mold. The toilet didn't work. We had to flush it by filling the wastebasket with water from the tub to pour down the toilet. The room was infested with ants. One of the kids left a juicebox on the dresser and within minutes it was covered in ants. The mattresses are horrific. Filthy with no support. They must be the mattresses originial to the hotel. Like sitting on coils. I did not specifically look for bedbugs but was not going stay in that room one night. I immediatly complained to the front desk who just looked at me like i had two heads and said they could not help me. No rooms available. We were forced to sleep in the room for the night but I quickly complained to management in the morning who apologized and gave us another room. This one was not much better. Still had ants, beds still old, checked for bedbugs and didn't see any, larger bathroom but still dirty. The maid told me that the entire hotel is infested with ants. If you are a teenager or young adult looking for a place to crash at a good rate, then by all means, stay here. If you are a family or mature adult looking for a hotel, stay clear!!! If i could award zero stars i would have. I would NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vabeachbum91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.0 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#78 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#36 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#81 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#72 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn Town Motel
Inn Town Motel
#89 of 103 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun 'n Fun Motel
Sun 'n Fun Motel
#53 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Motel

Property: The Admiral Motel
Address: 813 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3832
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Hotel Class:2 star — The Admiral Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Also Known As:
The Admiral Hotel Ocean City
Admiral Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing