We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent lobby/ office belies the awful rooms”
Review of The Admiral Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Admiral Motel
Ranked #95 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Chadds Ford, Pa.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Decent lobby/ office belies the awful rooms”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My daughter found this place for she and a friend online and the price was right, so she booked the room. I was paying for the room as a birthday gift, so my job was to drive them there, pay for the room and leave. I know that it is senior week and things are hectic but I had a really uneasy feeling leaving them there. The location is great, the parking lot is very cramped and one way in/ out through an alley behind the hotel, the office looked clean and the staff was fine checking us in. Once I checked them in, we made our way to their room, poolside. There was trash littering the walkway and the room was reeking of stale cigarette smoke. Although the room looked clean, it was tiny and old with lots of stains, cracks, etc... I certainly hope they don't see any of the bugs/ roaches that some of the other travelers wrote about! I see now why the room rate was not that expensive. They need a visit from the host of Hotel Impossible now!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    11
    22
    8
    49
See reviews for
28
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First room had ants all over the mini fridge, blood on sheets, and an inscent burnt on the sink (obviously showing the room was not cleaned) we complained and moved us to a new room. The second room had hair and paper in the tub drain, as well as mud on the bathroom floor. And to top it all off as we are getting ready to go to bed, we see a bed bug on the bed!
We immediately call the front desk who sends security to verify the bug. He verified, so we went to the front desk to get our money back. The front desk service was awful! He was very rude and refused to give me the managers name. Their only solution was for us to sleep there and the manager would be in there at 9. This has to be the absolute worse hotel by far that I've stayed in!! I'm very surprised that they have passed health and safety regulations set up for hotels!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kendramichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I do not normally write reviews but felt like I needed to. We arrived and the front desk said they weren't expecting us. (They said they did not get the notification from the site even though we booked it a month ago?) He said that b/c of that, we might want to make sure our room looks ok b/c it might not be perfectly clean. We did not have time to do this but should have. After the beach, we noticed the bathroom was dirty, the towels did not match and there were various ants in the shower- dead and alive. They said that there is no night cleaning staff and gave us the option to switch rooms which we appreciated but we had already gotten settled and had to go at that point. The room really should have been figured out and cleaned out beforehand. Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laciephillips27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had to spend one night here and it was absolutely disguising. First the shower head barely worked, it sprinkled out either scalding hot or freezing cold water. The best sheets had little grits of sand over them so we decided we would sleep in the tent on the floor that we camped out in the night before. We were covered with bug bites when we woke up! it was just plain filthy!

Room Tip: BOOK IN ADVANCE! we had to book this the day of because of rain, which they charged way too much for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindseym15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I've stayed many times here over the years. I stay poolside. One block from the beach! Clean rooms. Great service. Never had an issue. Fridge and microwave included large bathroom and a heated pool! I will be returning again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Md317537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orwigsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed at the Admiral motel a few years back, we were very happy with it! No complaints. My sister came in from Chicago and we planned a unexpected trip to Ocean City with her 2 teenage boys. She didn't have a clue where to stay. I remembered the Admiral. We read the reviews and they weren't very impressive but we took a chance. We were very pleased with our stay! The room and sheets were clean. No bugs! Only complaint was the bathroom was a little rough and outdated.The staff was very friendly. It is so close to the beach and everything else.We would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank prweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown,Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The first day we got there we had to go to the front desk 3 times asking for toilet paper, towels and wash cloths. Our room's carpet was so filthy we had to keep our shoes on when we walked in the room. The bathroom was disgusting....we showered with our flip flops on our feet! Our bed spreads had stains all over them and there were ants and flies in our room. If we had the money we would've checked out and went somewhere else. Horrible experience...will never stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 977nothappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#79 of 103 in Ocean City
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shoreham Hotel
Shoreham Hotel
#83 of 103 in Ocean City
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#73 of 103 in Ocean City
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Bum Motel
Beach Bum Motel
#16 of 30 in Ocean City
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal Sands Motel
Crystal Sands Motel
#57 of 103 in Ocean City
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Admiral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Admiral Motel

Property: The Admiral Motel
Address: 813 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3832
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Hotel Class:2 star — The Admiral Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Also Known As:
The Admiral Hotel Ocean City
Admiral Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing