We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot”
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sea Bay Hotel
Ranked #34 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect spot”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We were undecided as to where to stay here in Ocean City. We have stayed in the more expensive hotels uptown and we did not feel like paying all that again. Luckily I did some checking and found the Sea Bay. The location was perfect and we enjoyed the view of the bay and the city from our balcony. The room was huge, the bathrooms were clean and the service was excellent. You can tell they try very hard to keep the property in good shape. The front desk people were very helpful and friendly. The prices were very fair for everything they provide. We will definitely return. We can't wait until next summer.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from the Ocean City Tennis Center side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    153
    59
    26
    22
See reviews for
120
110
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishopville, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Excellent time at the Seabay Hotel. Perfect location... right near Rt 90 Bridge entrance and exit to ocean city at 60th street Heart of town. Very friendly staff ... made us feel welcome each day of our vacation. Dined at Seabay Cafe on first floor numerous times and was very convenient and excellent local flavor. Made friends with Chef Billy ..
Played tennis across the street and strolled to Fagers Island on the bay a few times for sunset cocktails nitely. Lots to do within walking distance. Hotel was clean and professional and the beach is 200 yards across ocean highway...but being on the bayside we got some spectacular sunsets. Enjoyed feeding the ducks with the kids.... 2 pools were nice also.
Will see you next year for a rerun ! JC Shaler , Pa

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jackcurry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My family and I planned a weeks vacation in OCMD. Last minute we decided to leave late the night before to avoid traffic. The closest hotel, and hotel with vacancies, to our already booked hotel for the week, was Sea Bay. We read mixed reviews on tripadvisor but figured one night couldn't hurt. There have been many occasions when we've read poor reviews for other resorts/ hotels and have still had a great experience. Unfortunately, that was not the case at SB. The staff was nice and and accommodating, but the room was terrible. I am not sure if this is all rooms or just ours but there was an overpowering smell of cat pee right when you entered. It was quite humid, the floors were damp, and furniture all moist. We would have preferred the air already on in order to prevent the humidity, but again we wouldn't normally complain. Except, once the air was put on, it still didn't work. It was mostly a fan. Long story short. Our experience was not worth the money paid, and we were uncomfortable all night. Thank god we had already booked another hotel,because if our vacation was spent in the room we were given at SB it would have been a disaste.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkig21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Nikkig21. Thank you for staying with us and I do apologize for the bad experience you had while staying with us. As we had told you, we did have a water leak in your room from the terrential downpour a few days before your arrival. This odor was caused by the dampness from that. The sliding glass door had been left open by a previous guest duirng their stay. We shampooed the carpet and ran the dehumidifier for 24 hours. We would normally not make a room available that smells like "cat urine". Our maintenance supervisor "signed off" on this room as "available" and he should not have done this. I take full responsibility for this. I should have checked it myself. The smell was not strong, but we do understand there was a slight odor and there is no excuse for that.

You did not mention that we did offer to move you to another room. Again we are sorry, but you will see that this is not typical of our Hotel. Most of our reviews compliment us on our cleanliness and comfort. Again I apologize, and while this is totally unacceptable, we do make mistakes from time to time.
jim@seabayhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place that was a close walk to the beach but we were not worried about being close to the boardwalk. She just wanted a private balcony with a nice view, along with a clean hotel room. After looking around on here we came across the Sea Bay Hotel, the price was not bad and we could get a room with a King size bed and a view of the bay. When arriving to check in we were greeted by very friendly staff who was very helpful. Our room was very clean and our view was amazing! The walk to the beach was only about a 5 minute walk and there is a 7-11 and Sunsations nearby. Also, we had a 5 minute walk to Fager's Island, which was a very good place to eat! I would stay here again without a doubt!

Room Tip: If you want a nice view make sure you book a room with the bay view, the rooms are not as big but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear JK. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide us with your comments. Your comments would not be possible without the hard work of our mangement and staff. We love making our guests happy! Hope to see you again soon!
Thank you.
jim@seabayhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My boyfriend & I wanted to get away for a few days without spending a lot of money but wanted a clean, nice place to stay. They bent over backwards to get us into a room that was most fitting for us for the best price. Just that little bit of extra effort went a long day. We were only there for two days but even the cafe they have attached to the hotel was warm & inviting. The girls working there treated us as if we were regulars & the service was amazing. The rooms are a bit outdated but I would take the cleanliness & impeccable service over a flat screen tv any day. It was quite a pleasant surprise & we will surely be returning. Thank you Sea Bay for making our short few days of vacation truly memorable!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scheiner62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Room was spacious and clean. Had a great view of the bay and sunset. Location was ideal, close to 90 street bridge and easy access to transportation and beach. Only there for one night but would look to book again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear David G, Thank you for staying with us and also for providing us with your kind words. I will pass them along to our staff. Our staff does make the difference and while we are not a 5 star Hotel, we try to be the best "mid-range" Hotel in Ocean City offering the best value to our guests. We purchased this Hotel in 2007 and each year we try to make improvements to improve the comfort and enjoyment for all of our guests. We still have a lot to do, but each year we "get a little better" and making our guests happy and "Repeat Stay Guests"! So we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
jim@seabayhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel is conveniently located off of the Route 90 Bridge. Upon arrival, I inquired if there was a room I could store my triathlon bike; I was introduced to Moe. I showed him where I parked and he said there are security cameras in the lot and he was on duty until 5am so he would watch over my vehicle as he entered/exited the hotel. The hotel was nice and quiet, the beds were very comfortable. Friends and I ate in the restaurant on the first floor. The food was served quickly and was very good. Overall, we had a wonderful experience in customer service, security, as well as a restful stay. I highly recommend the establishment!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
323 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
255 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#24 of 103 in Ocean City
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Bay Hotel

Property: Sea Bay Hotel
Address: 6007 Coastal Hwy, 61st Street & Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-7361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Bay Hotel is conveniently located in midtown Ocean City, MD. We are close to many area attractions, only one mile from the convention center, two miles from the boardwalk, within walking distance to restaurants and nightlife entertainment, and just one block from the beach. Two buildings, the East and West, make up the hotel property complex. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and balcony. Bayfront rooms are available! Hotel amenities include two outdoor pools, meeting room, business center, laundry facilities, a small market, and free Wi-Fi. There is plenty of parking (one space per room) and additional public parking is permitted on 60th and 61st Streets adjacent to the hotel. We also have an on-site restaurant, the Sea Bay Café, open daily for breakfast, lunch, & lite fare (in season). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Bay Ocean City
Hotel Sea Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing