We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the family-friendly hotel you think it is...”
Review of Sea Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Bay Hotel
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the family-friendly hotel you think it is...”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

1) This is NOT a family friendly place. Groups of teens - younger 20 year olds descended on this hotel, unloading cases upon cases of beer and funnels and carrying into hotel. It turned into party central. People coming back at 2:30 am and screaming, not fun.
2) Wifi is HORRIBLE, so very slow.
3) The pool is tiny for a hotel of this size, the pool in the west building is so small, it's almost comical. The above-mentioned younger crew were drinking around the pool (not what I want to expose my children to)
4) This may be a non-smoking hotel but people smoke so much on the balconies that we could not open our door or sit outside. Plus, many smokers were lighting up around the pool. As a parent with asthma, with asthmatic kids, this is totally unacceptable.
5) Sea Bay Cafe is nice and has great service.
6) Most of the staff at this hotel are nice and friendly but if it's overrun with partying young kids, this is not where I want to be with my family.
7) The room we had was a decent size but have to say the mattresses were pretty uncomfortable.
8) The carpet is downright disgusting in the room, it feels like it needs a very good cleaning.
9) On many occasions when I approached the front desk, no one was out front, they were in the office and it was hard for them to see customers at the desk.
10) We did get a good deal but I would rather pay $20-30 more per night to not deal with the party crowd.
Bottom line, if you're a young 20 year old, this is the place for you but I would look elsewhere before I brought my kids back to this place.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinsmommy627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear guest. It is difficult to screen every guest in our hotel. If guest pays the rate, they are entitled to stay with us. Just like every resort town, we also have to deal with those that simply want to party. We are a family-friendly hotel, and we want our younger guests to have fun as well. When a guest disturbs another guest, and we find out about it, we warn the guest. We spend a lot of money on security people, and take pride in protecting the comfort of all of our guests. We will not hesitate to evict our young guests when they are warned and continue to disturb others. Again I apologize for this, and do wish you would give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you for your comments.
jim@seabayhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    148
    59
    25
    22
See reviews for
119
107
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff was very friendly, it was quiet at night and there is free coffee. The location is good if you like the bars/restaurants around Fager's Island area. Unfortunately, our sheets had a stain and weren't changed after 2 nights, which was relatively gross. The towels were uncomfortable. Also, there were multiple strands of someone else's hair on the blanket. In the past I didn't have a problem with cleanliness at this hotel and the price was great, but I will admit this experience was a turn off.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acharmcitychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

I have to admit that for a last minute low cost hotel the week before the kids went back to school I was not expecting much. I was shocked at how nice and spacious the room was. It was the 4 of us and we were comfortable. It was clean and everyone was so nice. They have 2 buildings and each building has it's own pool. Can't get much better then that. Short walk to the beach and restaurants. They have a restaurant/cafe onsite and next door is a really good restaurant with all you can eat breakfast. I will say that we will be back again soon!!'

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hagouridis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you visiting Ocean City and for staying with us. We are a family-friendly hotel, and work hard to maintain that reputation. We are a family-owned and operated hotel, and while we appreciate all of our guests, we expect all guests to respect the comfort and privacy of all other guests. You are so glad you had a great stay, and hope you will stay with us again very soon. We are proud of our staff, and the work they do in order to make our guests comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
jim@seabayhotel,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timonium, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I would not stay at this hotel again. I worked in a hotel for 3 years so I am usually pretty understanding but I could not justify paying 300+ a night for a place like this EVER again, even in Ocean City peak season. Cleanliness is everything to me. I don't know if it was because we were in the back building which looked to be older, but our room was not clean at all. Very disappointed with what we got for what we paid. Here is why:

-My boyfriend was barefoot in the room and after 15 minutes, the bottom of his feet were black (I was sure to keep my flip flops on at all times).
-There was a weird big brown stain on the side of the mattress in our room.
-The curtain broke off of the top of the window right when we tried to use it.
-Housekeeping did not clean our room the second day or come by to even replace our towels or take our trash. Why?
-There were people having sex in the pool (although not the hotel's fault, but still, ew).
-Overall dingy, dark, AC fluid-smelling, outdated room. Although if it had been clean, I wouldn't care that everything was so outdated.

The ONLY thing the Sea Bay Hotel has going for it is its fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jiminoc, Owner at Sea Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Your review was extremely disappointing. I am very sorry for your poor experience with us. You did stay in our West Building and while it is a few years older than our East (or Main) Building, we do try and keep it very clean. Not sure what you experienced with "black stuff" on your feet? I check a lot of the rooms personally and this is a shocker to me. We have an excellent housekeeping staff, and they normally do a very good job. I would hope you would have immediately called this to a manager's attention while you were here? If so, I would like to know to whom you spoke with and what did they do to make your stay more comfortable.
Thank you.
Jim@seabayhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Another great golf vacation, Sea Bay staff makes you feel welcome & go out of their way to assist your every needs. We have been staying here for past several years & will be returning again next year. While the whole staff is great, Aubrey (who does our golf package) & Shelley (who manages the front desk) continue to exceed our expectations. The facility & golf packages are great all we had to do was show up all else was already taken care of. The hotel is in a great location on Coastal Highway & close to ocean & bay & good dining as well as close to many great golf courses and the famous boardwalk.. We are already planning next years return visit

Room Tip: Rooms poleside may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobnrhoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is the third year in a row we have stayed at the Sea Bay. Once again we were very pleased and we had a great week. Except for one day of rain, we totally enjoyed ourselves. The rooms are clean and spacious as well as the bathrooms. The location is perfect for us, it's right in the middle of town. We usually request a room facing the Ocean City Tennis Center as I play tennis and find it relaxing to sit on the balcony and watch tennis as I'm checking my email. Unfortunately the view from our room was obstructed by a big tree. I refused to let it put a damper on things, since the view was great anyway. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Every year we spend time in Ocean City, MD to be with our grandchildren while they are on vacation. This year we chose Sea Bay Hotel because it was located close to where they stay with their Mom & Dad. My husband & I both thought the location was ideal for many reasons! The hotel itself was really nice...not top notch, but very clean and comfortable. Staff was more than accommodating! They also have a cafe available for breakfast and lunch! The private balconies are great and so it the parking! We will definitely stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: We stayed in the east building, but if you want a view of the bay you would prefer the west building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunPlacesToCheckOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#34 of 103 in Ocean City
321 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
254 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
1.2 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#25 of 103 in Ocean City
428 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#33 of 103 in Ocean City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Bay Hotel

Property: Sea Bay Hotel
Address: 6007 Coastal Hwy, 61st Street & Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-7361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Bay Hotel is conveniently located in midtown Ocean City, MD. We are close to many area attractions, only one mile from the convention center, two miles from the boardwalk, within walking distance to restaurants and nightlife entertainment, and just one block from the beach. Two buildings, the East and West, make up the hotel property complex. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, and balcony. Bayfront rooms are available! Hotel amenities include two outdoor pools, meeting room, business center, laundry facilities, a small market, and free Wi-Fi. There is plenty of parking (one space per room) and additional public parking is permitted on 60th and 61st Streets adjacent to the hotel. We also have an on-site restaurant, the Sea Bay Café, open daily for breakfast, lunch, & lite fare (in season). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Bay Ocean City
Hotel Sea Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing