We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Park Place Hotel
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Wynantskill, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We just checked in yesterday and the person at the front desk who checked us in could not have been nicer. I had hoped for a cancellation to get a room with a balcony but no such luck. We are staying in room 609 which I said to my son whom I am traveling with that is good because no one to being running over our heads a night. Well I spoke too soon..although we didn't have anyone runing over our heads we have a family next to us whose children are very loud. There door slammed shut last night and shook our walls for about a hour straight from then coming in and out up and down the hallway. We woke this a.m. to two loud noises..the dumpster outside being emptied at 630 and then again at 7:00 with the little children yelling in the room next to us. The fact that this trip was for my son and I to relax is being hindered by the noise in the next room.
With that said let me give the positives. The room is beautiful with a partial view of the harbor. Very Very clean! Beds are very comfortable and pillows are like clouds. All of the staff that we have encountered so far have been very nice and helpful. I watched as my son and I sat at the bar last night as the bartender interacted with some of the other staff members and you get a since of homeyness from them. The bar that I am speaking of is on the second floor and is outdoors and overlooks the boardwalk and the ocean,,,the views are spectacular. On one side of the deck is the bar and tables and chairs in which you can sit and order food from the hotel restaurant. (my son and I got burgers..they were good). The other side of the deck all Adirondack chairs to just sit back and listen to the ocean and people watch.
I gave this 4 stars because the room was as expected and very clean and the staff from the front desk clerk to the bartender where very friendly and helpful.
I have been a secret shopper for years..going into stores, hotels and amusement parks and assessing them and giving feed back on what I encountered and I must say that the Park Place is very worthy of the four star rating!

Room Tip: We are in room 609 and the room itself is lovly but if you are a light sleeper you will be awakened...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shallwedance40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
shallwedance40 from Wynantskill, New York thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy that you are enjoying your stay with us here at Park Place Hotel. We strive to make all our guests stays as comfortable and pleasant as possible and we are always pleased when we here from them positively. The second floor deck, with its view and rocking chairs, is definitely a favorite with our guests and I will let Conner's Beach Cafe know how much you enjoyed their restaurant and bar. Thank you again for your review and I hope that when you make your next reservation you can book more in advance so we can get you a more quiet room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    155
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
222
136
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
buffalo
Level Contributor
190 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is our 5th return trip to this hotel. We return because of the location, the service, and the cleanliness. Last summer we stayed right next door at The Breaker's Hotel and would NEVER return there again. We stayed for 3 nights and had no complaints. The people that operate the hotel are nice folks. Their staff is properly trained. Their housekeeping crew does a proficient job. It is very difficult to keep any beach property clean and they are continually trying to maintain the cleanliness. Parking spaces are tight; but, there is a spot for every guest. My only complaint is that none of us find the beds very satisfactory. First of all, they are only doubles instead of queens. And, the linens are of very low quality. Would that stop me from returning? No. It just makes me look very forward to returning back home to my luxurious bed! Overall, great boardwalk location.

Room Tip: Do not reserve a 2nd floor OF unless you are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveisbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Loveisbliss from Buffalo thanks for taking the time to write about Park Place Hotel. Returning guests are very important to us and we are very grateful for everyone of you. Also, thank you for complimenting our staff, they work very hard and we are lucky to have them. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel location is perfect if you have children. Short and enjoyable walk to the amusement park. Beach and boardwalk right outside your door. Short driving distance to State Park and shopping. I found the room to be average at best although it was clean and comfortable. Parking like with most places is very tight but you will be able to park close to the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Troy f thanks for your input. It is unfortunate that you found our rooms only average since we take great pride in keeping our rooms up to date and fresh. I hope you will have better luck on your next visit to Ocean City but thank you for staying with us here at Park Place this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have been coming to Park Place for the past few years and I have to say we love it! We always stay on the 3rd floor ocean side. The location is perfect for us we never go anywhere when we stay there since we have all different restaurants on the boardwalk to choose from. We also love Park Places restaurant and usually eat there twice when we stay. Everybody is very friendly. The hotel is clean and also the rooms have been recently remodeled. I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want ocean front stay on the side the restaurant is not on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BANKERCHIC061904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Bankerchic06 from Williamsport, Pennsylvania thank you so much for your kind review. We love hearing from our repeat guests because when you are happy and come back that tells us we are doing our jobs. Thanks again for taking the time to write about Park Place Hotel and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This was our first time staying at park place and loved it! The location is great, veiw is great, rooms are very clean, staff is nice and helpful, they have a bar on the 2nd floor deck with is awesome to just grab a drink and chill. Will definitely stay here again

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kellybelly2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much Kellybelly for your great review. It is always very gratifying when a first time guest has a wonderful stay with us at Park Place Hotel. I am also glad you enjoyed Conner's Deck Bar, I think it is one of the best views of the Atlantic Ocean and the beach that can be had on the Boardwalk. We hope to see you again soon and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
144 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a good family hotel--nothing fancy but perfectly adequate. My only regret is that we were not able to book an Oceanside view but instead had to settle for a pool/parking lot view. It is located toward one end of the boardwalk within walking distance of the amusement parks if you have children and the bay if you want to go parasailing (which we did). We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant several mornings and our meals were fine. However, I do not recommend the restaurant for dinner. The last night we were there, we were all tired so thought we would just eat dinner there. It was the worst meal I had in Ocean City. They even managed to make fried shrimp taste terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandmaAudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
GrandmaAudrey from Rochester, Michigan thank you for taking the time to write about Park Place
Hotel and Conner's Beach Cafe. Ocean Front rooms are always at a premium during the vacation season so may I recommend making your reservations earlier. I realize that it is difficult to plan very far in the future but it will help secure an Ocean Front room. I have passed on your concerns and comments about Conner's Beach Cafe to its owners so be assured that they will receive the proper attention. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lived at this address for 7 days with entire family (8 adults + 7 children) Aug 3-10.
Location = awesome. Service = superlative. Friendliness = perfect.
Our stay was made more memorable by the staff and perfect boardwalk location.
The last time we had this kind of experience was at Disneyland!!
We will be back.

Room Tip: Floors 3 thru 6 are better for "viewing pleasure".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCParkPlaceHotel, General Manager at Park Place Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Great review; thank you so much Jim B from Germantown, Maryland. We cannot tell you how glad we are that you and your family had such a great, extended stay with us this season. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we hope to see you all again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
2.3 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Hotel

Property: Park Place Hotel
Address: 207 Atlantic Ave, Between 2nd & 3rd Streets, Ocean City, MD 21842-4161
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront hotel on the Boardwalk. All rooms are efficiencies with a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Oceanfront rooms were redecorated in 2013 and Bay View rooms in 2014. Amenities include private balcony, in-room safe, duvets, hair dryer, flat screen TV, HBO, Disney, heated outdoor pool, free wi-fi, Conner's Beach Cafe and Deck Bar. Hotel is close to amusements, water sports, boardwalk restaurants and night spots. All parking is on site. Disabled access. Golf Packages available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Place Ocean City
Hotel Park Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing