We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a wonderful fall beach getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
alexandria, va
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a wonderful fall beach getaway”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Over Columbus Day weekend, I and my wheelchair-bound friend stayed in a 2 queen bed suite, with pool view; we asked for an ocean view room, but none were available. the hotel is very nice, loved the indoor pool and atrium, and the staff super helpful (especially Bill the bellhop!). the breakfast buffet was limited, but we enjoyed the view of the ocean while eating it! the only problem was that the doorways to the bathroom and bedroom were very narrow, despite the hotel's claims that all rooms were handicapped accessible. Still, we had a terrific time , received a good deal on the price, and highly recommend this resort. we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfahsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    754
    214
    101
    151
See reviews for
1,291
661
32
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Parker ford,PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Our stay at the Princess Royale Found the suites & all of its amenities a welcome to the stay and the fact that the Complete hotel is SMOKE FREE is a plus. Staff was very helpful in all areas, the rooms were cleaned & serviced every day with out a hassel, The indoor pool was clean and we enjoyed it every day.
the beach was cool for our stay, access was very easy from the pool area.
Our stay was for the cruse at Ocean City, parking was very good although the lot filled up quickly. The family and myself enjoyed the 3 night stay. Looking forward to next year spring and Fall cruse's.
Thanks to the staff and all personal at the Princess Royale Hotel & Resort
Our stay was the greatest

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upperco, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My 10 year old son and I stayed at the Princess Royale in October 2011. We had a great time. The room was spacious, the beds were awesome and the staff was so nice. We can't wait to stay there again!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room that overlooked the pool and we could see the ocean as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigitte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the princess royale in october.The room we stay in was amazing The oceanfront room 501 view from the bedroom and the corner balcony was like being right on the ocean.We left the bedroom door open to hear the sound of the ocean day or night.The room was clean and spotless.The beach was just as cool and clean.My wife loves it and were looking to come back next year

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and the view is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salvatore f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We just got back from a mid-October, two-night Saturday to Monday stay at the Princess Royale. Although we've driven through OC several times and have camped at Assateaque Island, this was our first time overnighting in Ocean City. We selected this hotel due to the good TripAdvisor reviews and also a coupon for a free night on the hotel's website (make sure to check there if you are staying off season!). Anyway, on to the review:

The Good:

- Super-friendly and helpful staff. Really impressive! For big hotels like this I usually assume that service and staff attitudes will be poor. Everyone we dealt with was helpful and friendly and seemed genuinely concerned that we have a nice stay.
- Our oceanfront suite was nicely appointed, roomy, and clean. Temper-Pedic mattresses were a nice touch and were very comfortable. Full kitchen including a full-size refrigerator and a small dishwasher (with provided dishwasher soap, too).
- The view and the beach. Our second-floor room overlooked a row of palm trees and then the beach, making for a view that was more Caribbean than Maryland. Very relaxing! Since it was off season the beach was very quiet and uncrowded.
- Parking was readily available both on side streets and in their parking garage.
- This place really is a true resort with lots of guest amenities. An amazing indoor pool complex under a giant atrium, complete with a pool bar/snack stand, sauna, game area with both video and regular games (ping-pong, etc.), and outdoor hot tubs. On a rainy day this atrium pool area would be a godsend with a family!

The Negatives

While I can't come up with any significant negatives, there are some things to comment on:

- Pricing seems a bit high for off season. Thankfully we used a coupon that gave a free Sunday night with a Saturday night stay. But our Saturday night stay pushed $200 with tax, resulting in an acceptable per-night cost of $100 with the coupon. If we had paid full price for both nights I'd say it was not worth it given other off-season prices in OC.

- Decor in public spaces is a bit dated design-wise, but it is not run-down or shabby. Really just a taste thing rather than a negative.

- The restaurant was OK. We ate breakfast there (buffet), which was just average for its $10 price (not including drinks). A bit outdated looking, but a great view of the ocean. Service was a bit slow. Our second day we had a better breakfast at a much better price at the Denny's restaurant a few blocks north.

- While the resort and the beach are great, be aware that the location isn't near too much else. You could easily spend the entire week there and not have to venture outside the resort, though. But if you want to check out other restaurants, the boardwalk, etc., it's a bit of a trip by car and definitely not walkable.

- This comment doesn't relate to the hotel, but to OC in general: we were left unimpressed by OC, feeling it was too built-up and citylike for our tastes. Also, restaurant prices were very high across the board, which was surprising. We expect a bit higher prices in a resort area, but OC restaurants seem to have passed into the realm of price gouging. For future trips we'll either make the longer drive to Virginia Beach or head to Rehoboth in Delaware or Ocean City, NJ.

Room Tip: Pick an oceanfront if you can. I think the interior rooms overlooking the atrium would be really noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Princess Royale in September 2011 and had a wonderful time! The room was beautiful and what a view-we were on the oceanfront! You could lie on your bed and feel like you were right there on the beach!! The room was spotless, the balcony great and the staff was very pleasant and helpful!

My brother stays hear often and has told me how wonderful it is but now I know for myself and will come back again and again!

We have been coming to Ocean City, aryland for years and have stayed at many oceanfront hotels, but this was above and beyond the very best one of them all!

Room Tip: The oceanfront room had a fantastic view-felt like you were right there on the beach without the san...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

If I could give this a 3.5, I would as I see the property hovering between "good" and "average." The decor was a little dated, but it was clean and we found the front desk/house keeping service terrific. If you want a basic accomodation that's right on the ocean, this is a good bet and great for a night or two.

Basically, we wanted to stay ocean front to enjoy the sound of the waves and have a balcony to sip wine and enjoy one of the last fine weekends of the summer. These were our priorities for this trip and the Princess Royale met these requirements. We stayed on the second level so we were steps from the beach. Is there anything better than walking up in the morning and watching the sun rise over the ocean? Having a full kitchen for our weekend trip was a pleasant surprise for a hotel.

The hotel was an easy walk from many shops and restaurants so we didn't use our call during the little weekend trip, which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Property: Princess Royale Resort
Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing