We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service for an OC Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We arrived mid-September. Parking was a breeze, but when we went to check-in at the front desk, the staff were not looking up, looked liked they disliked their job and didn't give eye contact at all. No smiles either, they all frowned as if they were have a bad day. We got to our room which was on the 2nd level (pool side) and our room faced an arcade directly with the pool behind (which you couldn't even see). First off, why would an arcade be outside of a hotel room right in front of the pool? You can hear all of the noises from the arcade, even at night. The only time when everything turns off is after 11pm. I was there for a meeting conference and came back the front desk to see if they could find other accomodations. The first lady at the desk, just rolled her eyes and said, "They are no other rooms availble." When I asked if I could be contacted if anything else came availabe, she looked down at the desk and said, "I cannot promise you anything." Wow, she didn't apologize for the noise or even tried to compensate in any other way. She was very snappy and didn't seem concerned. The rooms are extremely outdated. Like they've been built and decor matching the 80s'. The closet door was hanging off, there were stains on the ceiling tile where leaking occurred, the tub was stopped up and very dirty and the refrigerator was left uncleaned. And, they had a nerve to charge for use of the room safe! Schooners restaurant was also, outdated and the breakfast buffet was only satisfactory. The workout facilities were a plus and cannot complain about the Tempurpedic beds. This did not outweigh the poor customer service received or the room by far. Will not stay there again :(

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Danielle1009R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,783 - 1,789 of 2,866 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

This place was GREAT!!! I was a bit reluctant, since it sounded a bit dated and small but I trusted trip advisor. Wow this place was great!!! Tripadvisor was right again!!!!

Along with the partial oceanfront room that I had right ON THE BEACH, the pool was HUMONGOUS and great for kids!!! I was soooo surprised. It has an indoor pool enclosed in glass with vaulted ceilings with a view of the beach. The game room for kids was also on the same floor. The kids could play games and win tickets and then cash them for prizes. You could step out of the pool and right on to the beach.

The rooms were extremely spacious with a separate "living room" The place was clean and most importantly very kid friendly. We really enjoyed our time there and would be back in a heartbeat!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I had a two night stay.We had an oceanfront room. The service was great from registration to departure.All staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean.Two outside hot tubs that had an age limit on it which was nice.

Room Tip: Better to get on higher floor for the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnSnyder02501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

When we got there, the parking area is kinda cramped and a lil bit dangerous if you have a big vehicle. The bell hops were nice and helped out alot. When we got to the room it looked nice, but then we found dirty dishes in the dishwasher and the internet wifi was terrible. When i went to tell the front desk girl she wa pretty rude. they have a lil convience store but of course it was expensive. They were pretty bad at giving directions. The first day full day we were there My son hit his head on the coffee table and needed medical help. I wouldnt use the urgent care places on coastal highway, go the extra 5-10 miles and go to atlantic regional in berlin, MD, They were super fast and took his insurance. Some of the games in the arcade were broke, the change machines had no change and neither did the store. Check out was fairly easy, the bill was under the door. One night we came back and there was no parking and they did give us free valet. I dont think i would stay there again, But i would let other people make there own opinions.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, spend a few extra dollars, there better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had planned on staying in Rehobeth at the Henolopen. When we arrived the room wasn't clean. We than called Princess Royal and went there to stay. This wasn't our first time staying here so we knew what to expect. Nothing is worse than feeling like you have bugs crawling on you for your vacation. So much for trying something new! Princess has friendly staff, cleaning crew is awesome, not bugs here! Totally going back.....I'll drive to different beaches!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxanne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at Princess Royale from September 3-6 in an Atrium view suite. I am very happy with this hotel. Check in was a breeze, took less than 5 minutes. When we arrived at our room, it did have a bit of a foul odor, but by the second day the odor was gone. The room was spacious and we really enjoyed being right next to the pool, which was large and clean. We ordered room service twice because the burger they have is delicious. The amenities at this hotel are excellent, you don't have to leave the hotel for anything. The beach access is also great, only a short walk over a dune and you are right there. I cannot praise the beds enough! They are so comfortable and very clean. We always bring a sheet to hotels with us to put on top of the bed, and we didn't have to use it here. The only complaint I have is the exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work and the handle on the microwave was broken. Neither were enough of an issue to even alert the staff about. This is definitely our go to hotel in Ocean City now.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We booked the Princess Royale through a third-party booking site on fairly short notice and we chose this hotel based on it's ranking on Trip Advisor. After booking it, I went on to read some rather unfavorable reviews, so I was a little skeptical. Let me just say this hotel was a great find! The rooms were immaculate, the bedding was extremely comfortable and the amenites were very nice. As for comments that the hotel is "outdated", I find that absurd. Not having giant flat-screen TVs in every room does not make a hotel outdated. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. There was a minor problem with the shower head and it was fixed immediately. The outside grounds, restaurant and bar were fantastic and the views were beautiful. With the palm trees swaying and the sound of the ocean I felt like I was in the Caribbean! The only constructive thing I might offer is to add some nicer outdoor furniture to the balconies. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Princess Royale and plan to return this summer!

Room Tip: The King Suite partial view was very nice, but next time I would splurge for the oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,298 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,602 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
885 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £80 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing