We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic facility, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
123 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic facility, great service”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was my second stay at the PR and it was just a nice this time around. The facility is great and the service is top notch. The location is perfect for those not tied to the boardwalk scene and the rooms and grounds are kept amazingly clean.

I splurged on the king size bed with jacuzzi and was very pleased. Not only was the view amazing (the pictures out the patio doors still leave my friends in disbelief) but the way in / out from the beach was a piece of cake.

I am definitely making this my "one and only" place to stay in OC!!! Thank you PR!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emped0cles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    754
    214
    101
    151
See reviews for
1,291
661
32
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was our first trip to OC for our family of 4 and we were very pleased with our stay. We booked a Cabana Oceanfront room, which means it was on the first floor of the hotel. The rooms, suites actually, were huge and there was plenty of room for all 4 of us (mom, dad, 3 y.o, and 5 m.o.). It was great having a full kitchen and a living room, in addition to the bedroom. The hotel is right on the beach, which couldn't be more convenient, especially with all of the gear you need to bring to the beach when you have kids! It was great to be able to just walk down to the beach and come back to the room whenever we needed to. We also left our towels and beach toys out on the beach for a few hours and were pleasantly surprised to find that they were still there when we came back. The hotel was very clean and offered many great amenities, including an indoor pool and an arcade, which would be great for older kids! The rooms were very clean too and the beds were pretty comfortable for hotel beds. I would definitely recommend staying here if traveling to OC! I thought it was a very good value for an oceanfront property.

Room Tip: Book an oceanfront room. While all of the rooms have balconies, some of them actually overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadawggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First time to OC for my wife & I... (Fun "Get Away" for us Sunday thru Thursday)...
The Princess Royale (PR) was an excellent choice! We looked @ rooms @ about 6 or 7 places along the ocean on Sunday morning... None came close to the cleanliness of the PR!
Positives of the PR were... Nice big rooms...beds V comfortable...Ocean front rooms/view are amazing...biggest plus to me was the cleanliness of the entire facility! Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: 1) Kinda pricey for 2nd week of June...(almost $1,000 for 4 days/nights (Ocean Front) 2) Would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Softball_Dad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I booked this motel for a vacation with my 11-yr old grandson and his best friend because it advertises an indoor pool and arcade games. It seemed like this would be great for entertainment for the kids in the evenings and in case of rain. The first night there, the two boys lost a total of $8.00 in broken arcade games, table hockey, and pool table. One game after another took their money and would not work at all. I reported the loss of $$ to the front desk. They had security put "out of order" signs on the games and security said that their money would be refunded. However, I was then told by front desk staff that the games did not belong to the motel but to a vendor and that the motel takes no responsibility for the loss. The kids were only refunded $4.00 by the vendor. The motel staff attitude was "so sorry we are not allowed to give them the other $4.00" Isn't it sad that a motel cannot afford to pay children back another $4.00 of their vacation $$ that they had brought with them for spending. Other disappointments - the pool was full of sand from people tracking it into the pool. In spite of there being signs that no one under 16 is allowed in the hot tub, there were children with diapers in the hot tub and no one from the staff to enforce the sanitary rules for the hot tub. If you use this motel, please do not let your children waste money in the arcade. And beware of the unsanitary hot tub. Our room was supposedly cleaned each day, but obvious that the bathroom floor was not mopped during our 4 day stay. Would I stay here again? NO!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Gail B,

I'm sorry to hear about your Grandson's lost money in the arcades. I've instructed our vendor to change the refund policy, and we have credited back your account for the $4 loss. Unfortunately in the past, the vendor has been stung by some fictitiously reported refunds and I'm sorry that affected your genuine loss.
Despite three foot wash stations between the beach and our pool, we do accumulate some sand that settles to the bottom that our twice daily vacuuming removes. We do have a strict policy against underage bathers in our three hot tubs and I'm sorry that it was not uniformly enforced during your stay. Also, children in diapers are only allowed in the pool with sealed swimmies which we provide for.
We now have full time pool staff on duty at all hours, so I encourage you to give us a second chance on your next trip to Ocean City.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference and there were issues due to the numbers of people. The banquet food was bad! However the room was very large with separate sitting room and partial kitchen. The bathroom was above average too - full force shower and large mirrors. All and all a 3.3 or so.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnamcdofmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Donnamcdofmd,

Thank you for being our guest and for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our extra large suites with separate kitchen area and living room, and large mirror bath with full strength shower. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your banquet meal. Please call me 410.524.7777 to discuss your specifics. We hosted three conferences last week and have received rave reviews, bouquets of flowers, thank you letters and contract extensions for future years. I look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was my first time to OC - hubby and I decided to celebrate our 6th anniversary here, we were not disappointed!! Anita did a fabulous job of checking us in. We had a king suite with a Ocean View. The resort was nice, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I will definitely be back and highly recommend this resort. I liked the location, we went down to the boardwalk but afterwards was very glad to come back to the quieter side of town and enjoy a quiet section of the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After reading many reviews and speaking with former guests I had mixed feelings. Greeted by staff he loaded our luggage on a cart waited for us to check in and helped us to our room. While checking in we were informed that we had been upgraded for free. As we opened the door to our room we had been blown away! 10th floor 2bdrm suite. The view, room service and amenities my daughter celebrated a very happy 17th birthday with her friend! Would love to come back and stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancyhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Nancyhoffman,

Thank you for being our guest and your terrific comments. We are very proud of our guest reviews ranking us 4th best in Ocean City out of over 100 hotels and our 2014 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. I'm glad you were blown away with our direct Ocean Front views and all of our amenities and services. Please check out our Facebook page for more amazing scenes. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Property: Princess Royale Resort
Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing