We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Princess Royale Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonita Beach Hotel(Ocean City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachcomber Motel(Ocean City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Surf Inn Suites(Ocean City)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour Club(Ocean City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,917)
Filter reviews
2,917 results
Traveller rating
1,624
800
232
105
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,624
800
232
105
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolocean frontconvenience storebedroom condoarcade gamesparking garageoff seasonfull kitchenhot tubbeach accessfamily vacationocean city marylandschooneratriumtubsbalconyboardwalk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,402 - 1,407 of 2,917 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed their last week and had a wonderful experience. Mary during the check-in process and Jamie during the check-out process were very helpful. The hotel is right on the beach and has an indoor swimming pool and one inside hot tub and two outside hot tubs. The swimming pool was very clean and it was a great place to relax after returning from the beach. We were in an ocean facing room and the view from the room was great. Our other friend had a swimming pool facing inside room and even from that room you had a view of the ocean since the swimming pool has a glass wall facing the ocean. All the rooms were suites that include a kitchen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jagat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

First of all, this is not a five star hotel. I don't know who is putting down five stars for this hotel but they either have really low expectations or are not honest reviews. I have stayed in five star hotels around the world and this doesn't come close. The entire hotel smells like deodorizer…like the smell of car wash office.

We were given a room which must be the worst room in the hotel by location. Next to the arcade games and the pool. This would not have bothered us but we were unable to stay in the room due to a heavy smell of deodorizer and cleaning chemicals. They must have been trying to cover up something from the previous guest. It was literally burning our eyes in the bathroom. The couch was dirty with and the bed sheet had a hole. The tile in the bathroom floor was black from mildew. They need to take this room out of service. When we asked to move to another room they said the hotel was booked and there was nothing that they could do for us. Well, apparently they hadn't met my wife because after a series of not so nice phone calls we were moved to a nicer room…which still smelled like deodorizer but not as bad.

We ate at the bar and had a nice experience. The staff is friendly and the beach location is perfect. There are life guards on the beach in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DBWITT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear DBWITT,

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed our direct Ocean Front location with life guards on our beach and our friendly Ocean Front Schooners and Gazebo dining and bar staff. I apologize for the off smell in your suite. We recently installed new carpet and just cleaned and sealed the grout around the shower tiles - which both give off a temporary smell. The bathroom floor tiles are accented with grey colored grout. We look forward to hosting you again soon possibly in our more private direct Ocean Front suites or condos.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came down to this hotel for a quick 4 day family trip.. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very polite and helpful with everything we needed. It rained two days that we were there so the indoor pool came in handy.. Its a huge indoor pool which kept the kids busy but the water was very cold. The room was very big and very clean. It was a big room sort of like a 1 bedroom apt with very comfortable beds. The restaurant inside the hotel had amazing breakfast.. We didnt eat any other meals there but the breakfast was very very good. The location of the hotel was great we thought also as it was off the boardwalk.. The hotel is about a mile or two up the beach from the boardwalk which we enjoyed because it was very laid back and perfect for our family.. The beach was beautiful and never crowded it was perfect.. Aside from the pool being cold i dont have another complaint about this hotel and i will be returning again..

Room Tip: We chose an ocean view room because we were worried with a pool view room our 2 year old son would always see the other kids in the pool and demand to go down.. It worked out to our favor
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmenduina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel resort is perfect for a beach vacation, The employees are all very lovely and professional, the property was well maintained and the room was very clean, well decorated and very comfortable. The ocean view is as good as it gets, looking past the palm trees that line the property to the sandy beach and Atlantic ocean (Priceless).

The pool, tiki bar and restaurant all over look the ocean, this hotel has everything and I highly recommend this property to any traveler.

Room Tip: Get the ocean front room, you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reviewer123-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I have been staying at the Princess Royale for the last 15yrs.. That is including coming in the winter, spring, summer, and fall. I make atleast 10 trips during the winter alone.. It has not always been a very good experience. Heating didn't work AC didn't work, shower heads leaking, microwave broken and couches being old and dirty.. I've had trouble with them over charging my debit card all sorts of things. Pretty much anything that is bad has happened there.. I have still been loyal and always came back.. They have a GM there named Diane who does not even know the meaning of customer service.. The best Managers that they had are now gone.. My kids have a rash all over them from the pool, the hot tubs have a dirty film over them.. I'm sad to say that this is my final stay at the Princess Royale.. If you like the beach and want to enjoy yourself Do Not Stay Here..

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wctcjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We are certainly very sorry to learn that you do not plan on staying at the Princess Royale in the future. Guest satisfaction is, in fact, our utmost concern; especially mine as I have been in this position with the Princess Royale for well over 20 years.

Mr. Cullem, for the past several years we have extended many courtesies and there have been repeated and multiple exceptions made to our policies for you; including you not providing the required advance deposits, deeply discounted rates, upgrades, late check outs and not registering/paying for additional guests & cots, etc;

As a long term guest, I am sure you are very familiar with the policies that are emailed to you each time a reservation is made. And, as much as we value your repeat business, we also need to be fair to our many other valued and repeat guests who are, in fact, required to adhere to our policies.

It is very important not to confuse simply asking you to comply with our long term policies that, with all due respect, all other guests adhere to, with a lack of customer service as those are two very different issues.

We certainly hope that you enjoyed your stay at the Princess Royale this weekend and hope that you will return in the future while also respectfully requesting that you adhere to basic policies such as providing an advance deposit, prompt check out time and correctly registering all guests as well as paying for additional guests and/or cots.

Thank you again for your long time patronage and we sincerely hope that on your next visit to Ocean City that the suites, service, staff and amenities exceed you every expectation.

Sincerely,
Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews