We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where not to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Where not to stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

To be accurate I stayed here June '13. The reason behind a late posting is 1) Im new to trip advisor 2) I had reviewed on yelp (copied below) post trip and 3) because I was asked if I had ever stayed in OCMD- did I have any recommendations. I just had 1... where not to stay.

OK there are many reasons I wont be returning to Ocean City, MD but primarily I wont be returning because of this hotel. From the moment my group pulled up the service was God awful. Check in was at 4pm we arrived at 3pm. Our room wasn't ready so one would think we could have our car valeted and bags stored until our rooms were ready like at any hotel... but that was not the case. We had to park our own cars because we weren't allowed to check in while the rooms were being cleaned and we had to lug our bags around until they finally had our rooms settled. We situated ourselves at the out door bar which was pleasant. Hard to be mad at an ocean view and bar. The bartenders were very nice & were able to lighten the mood after the check in debacle. They have a restaurant and what looked like a buffet but we didn't really get a chance to partake. We had breakfast once on our 2nd day there, it was below average. Took forever to be served. A few people in my group ordered English muffins which weren't toasted and basically just grabbed out of the pack and thrown on a plate. My one girlfriend ordered cereal and it was the last thing to be served when should have been the easiest since it was in a ready made package.

Once we were finally were able to get up to our rooms I couldn't help but notice that this hotel is beyond outdated it had a mirrored ballroom feel straight out of The Shining, creepy. Nothing short of two dead twins on tricycles wouldn't have surprised me. The rooms themselves were a great size and very convenient with a living room and kitchenette. We had a partial ocean view balcony which was also a plus.

Overall our time in the hotel was limited because we were out and about. The time we did spend there wasn't exactly pleasant and the interaction with some of the staff which consisted of teenagers and a less than pleasant manager was beyond frustrating. I hope the other hotels in the area don't have the same issues but wouldn't be shocked there's an overall lax behavior down there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jami0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Jami0804,

Thank you for being our guest in 2013. June is indeed a very busy month for us with the Dew Tour, the Blue Angels and several national competitions. It is sometimes not possible to check-in early simply because it takes us several hours to properly clean and re-stock all of our suites and oceanfront condos after a busy night.
I welcome you back to enjoy the many improvements since last year including new carpet, A/C, Wi-Fi, living room furniture, renovated ballrooms, tower elevator and Sandbox oceanfront gazebo bar!

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    771
    214
    102
    151
See reviews for
1,326
670
33
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located. The staff is excellent. The room was very clean and quite large. The kitchen was large with a full size fridge and a stove top. We ate breakfast in our room every day. The pool was very large and had games for the kids. Very nice would go back again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonhick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at Princess Royale last week. It is our third stay. It is a beautiful beachfront hotel with beautiful grounds. An important feature, because it really influences your experience, especially if the weather is bad. Our family loves it here.
I was disappointed that Princess did not honor the AAA discount and the housekeeping service one day. It has gotten quite expensive, so although I love Princess Royale I will probably have to look for other options in the future.

Room Tip: A pool room is great if you have kids that love the pool. We loved the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -Luvthebeach-18301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Luv the Beach,

Thank you and your family for being our repeat guests. I'm glad you enjoyed the entire Ocean Front resort and all of our amenities. We do have some high demand weekends in the summer where the AAA discount is not active. However, we offer fantastic specials during the summer weeks including free nights or free daily breakfast for your family. Please contact our reservation team members for planning your next trip. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room was relatively clean other than the extra sheets and pull out couch - GROSS! The mattress had holes in it, was completely filthy, and looked like it had never been replaced. The extra sheets were dirty. Would not suggest staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Erin,

Thank you for staying with us on your family trip this July. I apologize for the condition of your pull out sofa in the living room. The vast majority of our sofas have been replaced the last two years with a small number left to be upgraded with new this fall. I regret that yours was not previously replaced. Had we been called about the extra sheets in the closet we would have immediately replaced with new.
I'm glad you enjoyed the clean suite and hope you took advantage of all our oceanfront amenities.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our daughter and her fiance' chose the Princess Royale for their wedding venue. Martha did a fantastic job as the coordinator. The location was ideal for their informal beach wedding. The staff was courteous and attentive. The hotel is older and there were a few problems with some of the rooms, but the staff was willing to send maintenance workers to fix the problems. The ballroom had recently been renovated and was beautiful. The hairstylists at the hotel spa did a great job. Everything was very clean. We enjoyed sitting outside at the hotel restaurant and the crab cakes were delicious. I can't say enough about the friendliness of the hotel staff.

Room Tip: One of our ocean view rooms was really just a view of the hotel next door. I would recommend ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdobson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a fantastic experience! We stayed at the Princess Royale for the first time in July and are already looking at dates for 2015! The staff is professional and very helpful. Our condo was perfect! The layout was amazing! It was clean and had recently been upgraded! I cannot say enough about Diane Anderson, the Condo Manager for the Princess Royale! She was professional and friendly! She answered all of my questions given that this was our first visit. She made us feel like family! The bell staff was quick, efficient and upbeat. Lisa, the bartender at the indoor pool bar, was friendly and provided great service. We loved the beach --- lots of room and you never felt like someone was sitting on top of you. The only negative was the Schooner's Restaurant. We went there for the seafood buffet and were very disappointed. The service was not good (except for the bartender making a yummy grasshopper for my sister) and the buffet was not what we expected. The seafood selection was limited and much of it was fried. It was not worth the high price, even with a coupon! When we walked in there were very few people there, which should have told us something. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone! It's fantastic!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are perfect! The balcony was accessible from both the master bedroom and living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 93KB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent 9 days at the Princess Royale and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! Rooms were spacious with a separate kitchen and living area. The hotel was super clean and the staff was very helpful. The beach is steps away and pool is big enough for everyone. The bartenders at the cabanas are the best & drinks are great! This was our first time at the Princess Royale, but it will definitely not be our last, can't wait to go back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stineqnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,123 reviews
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3,240 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
861 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Property: Princess Royale Resort
Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing