We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We just got back from a 5 night stay. The room was large and very comfortable. The staff was really accommodating and the beach was spectacular! Loved lunch and drinks outside near the beach. Would highly recommend for families!

Room Tip: Great as it had a kitchen and dishwasher for quick in room meals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,892 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a pleasent stay at the hotel July 16 through July 18 2014 and Martesha, a clerk at the check in counter, was very helpful in meeting our needs when we asked for help; she went above and beyond.

Room Tip: choose ocean front, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

It was just 'meh'. The rooms were outdated but ok - there was a temperpedic bed which was awesome and such a nice suprise I must say. Everything else was just average. We had to wait until 4pm to check in - which I have honestly never experienced before. And we had to wait EXACTLY until 4pm. Not a minute sooner. Not the biggest deal in the world we just went to the beach for a few hours. Also, we asked when we checked in for a late checkout which they said shouldn't be a problem but to call and tell them on day we were checking out (on a monday) to let them know. We called Monday morning and they said we couldn't have a late checkout. Now I understand on the weekends that they are probably booked and can't accomodate this but on a Monday? Come on. The hotel itself is old and outdated too so don't be expecting anything lavish. The elevators are the WORST! I would highly suggest asking for a room on a low floor so that you can take the stairs. I didn't find it to be terribly clean either - we were constantly finding trash on the floor out in the hall and there was room service food and a trays in the vending area of our floor for over 12 hours. It was disgusting. The hotel did it's job as far as it being a decent place to lay our head but I don't think I would ever stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on a low floor - the elevators are SOOOOO slow and you will literally stop on every single floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jrzgrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our guest's comments are very important to us and we would like to take this opportunity to respond. First, please accept my sincere apologies that we did not exceed your every expectation as guest service is our utmost concern.

With regard to our standard 4pm check in time, we NEVER make our guests wait for keys to their rooms of the rooms are cleaned and inspected. In fact, we check in well over half our guests on any given day WELL before 4pm. I apologize that your room was not ready early but all guests are always welcome to arrive as early as they like, get a parking permit, use the changing rooms and showers, have lunch in our restaurant and simply enjoy the day. Unfortunately, not all rooms can be ready early and daily someone's room is always last to be completed.

Likewise, and with all due respect, Mondays in the summer are no different for us than Saturdays; we are 98-100% occupied nightly in July and August. In fact, Mondays is one of THE busiest days of each week as that is the day we offer our spectacular Rodney Package that provides guest that check in Monday and stay 3 nights to get a 4th night at 50%! Accordingly, yes, in the summer, we do not provide late check out as it does take every bit of the 5 hours we have between 11am check out and 4pm check in to clean 340 units. Just as it seems you wanted to get in the room early to start your vacation, please understand ALL other guests would like to do the same. Giving late check outs in the summer is simply not an option as it would mean more families unable to check in promptly. We gladly provide last check outs frequently in the off-season. Please note as well many Tripadvisor reviews state that our guests were able to check in early.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the many upgrades be recently completed such as all new carpeting in all 340 units and all new HVAC we installed in every suite as well this past spring nor the all new granite baths and kitchens, wall paper, etc. However, each off season, we plan major upgrades to keep each and every unit in the condition that we and our valued guests expect.

I hope the above clarifies the importance of check in and check out times. However, I would hope also that you would allow us the opportunity to once again serve your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City. Please feel free to contact me directly and reference this review. I will be happy to make your reservation personally as the best possible rate as well as provide you with upgraded accommodations at that time if available.

Best Regards,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and i decided to take a last minute 5 day vacation in the middle of peak season the end of July. I too was uncertain what we would find upon arrival, based on some reviews. Were those negative people staying at a different hotel? The porters immediately greeted us as i went to check in, which Mary at the front desk was amazing! The room was super clean with new carpet. The porter unloaded our luggage, and asked if we had any questions at all about the hotel or town. We later went across to the supermarket, and that porter actually put my cold groceries away as we unloaded. Beach was large and pool was even better, with a fun arcade. Great relief to know bad weather doesn't stop the fun. The caliber of guests was very good whether your are a family or a couple. I want the manager to know that Lisa at the poolside snack stand/bar is a true asset to the Princess Royale. She is friendly, knowledgable and fun. I have been going to the outer banks for years, but i am booking at Princess Royale for next year! S. Miller-Taneytown, Md. 7/28/14

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Sharri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Front desk staff were extremely helpful. We were able to check- in early and the accommodations were very clean & spacious. The Resort offered us a room with an ocean view even with last minute notice on a Holiday weekend. The rates were very affordable, beachfront snack bar & restaurant, cabana bar with live entertainment all afternoon that we could hear from our beach chairs. The private patio and partial view of the ocean were a very nice surprise for walk-ins.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christopher l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, General Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Christopher,

Thank you so much for being our guest and for your comments. I'm very glad we were able to check you in early, as we have been working hard to expedite early arrivals based on available inventory. The weather forecast is fantastic this week - I hope you can come back and enjoy the beach and all of our amenities again soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Foelber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We returned a couple weeks ago from staying at the Princess Royale. Loved the location and the view from our balcony. We stayed in an ocean view suite which was perfect for a family of 5. The grocery store is located right across the street if we wanted to cook meals, although we really enjoyed the beach side grill. Several restaurants are located close by. It's a short drive to boardwalk and other activities great activities and easy to find inexpensive parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pweltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Enjoyed our stay on a impromptu weekend. Room wasn't cleaned when we checked in at 11pm but a hotel maid brigade was quickly dispatched and I tipped each of them they were so nice. Parking lot can fill but we got a place at top. Room is really two rooms with tempurpedic queen in main room and queen sleep sofa with new mattress in sitting too. Room had a kitchenette with granite counters and even a stove and large fridge we found very useful. Room included coffee and coffee maker. Room had a small balcony looking inside to the pool. Reminded us of a cruise ship. We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant and found it to be soo convenient and really pretty good. That was an unexpected plus. Wide beach in front of the hotel is great but waves are a little intimidating with the rip tides in full swing and life guards very vigilant. All in all a little pricey in season but a great family resort for a quick break.

Room Tip: Ask for free (comped) valet parking if hotel lot is full. Don't take no for an answer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LouMonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 104 in Ocean City
2,489 reviews
4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £74 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing