We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience at the Princess Royale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princess Royale Resort
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Joppa, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience at the Princess Royale”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Travel with husband and 3 grandkids, all had a great time. Nice view of the ocean and beds were very comfortable. Nice to have fridge and microwave in the room for the kids snacks and drinks. Great time for all.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarJoh21085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2010
Thank you for your review as well as your patronage. We appreciate your postive feedback and look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City!

Sincerely,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    754
    214
    101
    151
See reviews for
1,291
661
32
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We went to this hotel thinking it would be a pleasure to stay at. It was a nightmare. We walked in filthy, old, smelly. One of the worst hotels ever. Then to top it off filled with Roaches!! I was watching TV and saw a 2 inch Roach walking on the wall. I called front desk all they did is send people to clean the room. I just wanted to get the hell out of this disgusting place. They don't clean around pool area we left a cup on a table it was left there for 3 days. The elevator had a terrible odor. Then went to the gym smelled like dirty water who could excercise under that condition. I go to use the treadmill they were both broken. I go to use the weight the handle comes flying off. We just had a terrible nightmare stay at this hotel please do not stay here it's not worth it not even if they gave it to me for FREE!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROSENY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We paid nearly $300 a night for a room in mid-August. It rained one day and water starting pouring into the room. My concern is that if was leaking when I was there it has been leaking. God knows what kind of mold spore is growing in the crawl space. The "indoor" pool was FRIGID. We stayed at the hotel because it had an indoor pool. The kids only stayed in the pool for five minutes on a day it rained. Normally when they go to the pool they are there for hours. The "hot tub" was not hot. It was had an oil slick and hair balls floating around in it. The maid forgot to leave coffee and it took guest services over one hour to bring coffee to the room. I strongly recommend that you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manfredhanover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, 2 September 2010
We are in receipt of your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you felt that you encountered. Guest satisfaction is our utmost concern and I regret that we did not exceed your every expectation.

I sincererly regret that the houseeper forgot to leave the daily coffee in room. Please be assured that your comments will be reviewed with her immediately and corrective action taken as well.

We are sorry there was a brief and minor leak in your room during a rain storm. As would be the case in your home, leaks can and do happen without warning and through no fault or negligence. The leak was immediately repaired; as you are aware. Please note also that the room was occupied for 45 consecutive nights prior to your arrival with no other reports. Therefore, there is no reason to assume there was any previous leak issue.

With regard to the pool temperature, hourly logs regarding temperature as well as chemical levels are taken. Our records clearly indicate that the pool temperature was consistently between 81 and 83 degrees during all time you were at the hotel. However, I sincerely regret that you felt this temperature was not comfortable as 82 is the set temperature for our pool heaters this time of year. With all due respect, 82 degrees is considered comfortable and refreshing with temperatures are in the 90s and humid and 82 degrees is, of course, far from "FRIGID".

With regard to the hot tubs, unfortunately as much as we would like, often guests do not rinse off lotions and oils before entering the hot tub as the signs request. Therefore, we have to drain the hot tubs often and of course it takes a brief time to heat up to capacity. I do apologize.

Again, we regret that you were not pleased with your stay at our hotel and hope that on your next visit to Ocean City that the service, accommodations and amenities exceed your every expectation at all times.

Thank you,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

To describe the Princess Royale in one word... necessary. For anyone, who wishes to find that little slice of Heaven, they need not look further than this getaway from the madness. Not only was I impressed with the rooms, but the staff were so polite and accommodating to my every need and want. For those who can't afford the Caribbean, this is as good as its ever going to get.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I couldn't have been more rested and relaxed after my stay. The view and the service were top notch. I have already reserved for next year. Just exactly what the doctored ordered.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mugster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We were looking to take a short trip to OC for a quick family vacation before my daughter went off to college. In fairness we stayed at this hotel and location many years ago with an above average experience. All we wanted to do is hang out and relax for a few days and thought this place would work for us even though we rather be near the boardwalk. We did reserve a room before we found a closer place to stay. The very same day we called to cancel the room with hopes of a full refund on our credit card. Little did we know that they would refund us less $25.00 for a charge that nobody could or would explain, especially since we canceled the very same day. My wife repeatedly called looking to speak to a manager with no return calls. To date we have contacted them more than 12 times, either being placed on hold or left a voice mail for the manager to return our call. Nobody and I mean nobody will contact us about this charge.

If they are willing to take advantage of customers for something this silly, I wonder what they do to you when you stay with them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GVFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessRoyaleHotel, Public Relations Manager at Princess Royale Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2010
We are in receipt of your review. In all fairness, you did not stay at our hotel so the title of your post is deceiving. With all due respect, our cancellation policy is clearly noted on our web site as well as on the email confirmation that you were sent at the moment you made your reservation. To state that you were not aware of the policy and no one explained the policy to you is simply not accurate.

Each time the hotel charges a credit card for an advance deposit, we incur a transaction fee from the credit card companies. And, each time someone cancels their reservation and we refund the deposit, less the $25.00 cancellation fee, we are not refunded that transactions fee; in fact we incur a second transaction fee for the refund.

Again with all due respect it is for just the reason that your review stated that we had to institute a cancellation penalty to begin with; in order to discourage people from making reservations when they have not, in fact, made their final decision and are still "shopping".

When a guest makes a reservation the staff, of course, not only takes the time to process that reservation but then that room is removed from the inventory and thus is also not available for other guests who truly are interested. That, when added to transaction fees, is time consuming and expensive. The fee is NOT a source of revenue for the hotel; it merely helps to offset the charges the hotel incur during the process you initiated. Just as you expected the hotel to hold a reservation for you, the hotel has the same right to the reasonable expectation that you would honor that reservation. To keep our rates competitive for all guests it is not possible for the hotel to absorb these fees.

I did, in fact, receive a voice mail from you regarding this issue and responded to you via email with a copy of your confirmation. If you would like a copy of that information sent again, please contact me. Please do not confuse the policy you were emailed and confirmed being enforced with a lack of guest service. Please note, however, it is simply not possible nor productive to return multiple calls regarding the same issue when it has been explained repeatedly and provided in writing.

I am not certain how we can be described as "non caring" when you booked a reservation only to cancel to stay another less expensive hotel after confirming your reservation with us. Please note that we receive cancellations most often due to unforeseen emergencies, illness, death in the family, or issues such as that. And, we work diligently AND with care with guests who have such issues arise. That, however, was clearly not your situation.

We regret that you are not happy with our cancellation penalty however for the reasons explained above, we do not waive this fee as we have incurred expenses from your credit card company for your reservation and cancellation and, in addition, you did not have an such emergency.

I trust this information addresses any questions you had.

Sincerely,

Diane Anderson
Princess Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My wife and I came to the Princess Royale for a conference in May, without the kids, and we really liked the hotel. The accomodations were adequate, the beds were comfortable, and overall the suite and hotel were abive average for Ocean City. We stayed here with our kids last week and, though the weather wasn't the greatest, we had a great time. The pool was a lot of fun for those "not so sunny" days, and the beach was simply AWESOME. We already made reservations to come back with the kids next week, and we're looking forward to it, again!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dangerpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,998 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
3.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Royale Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Royale Resort

Property: Princess Royale Resort
Address: 9100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2745
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Princess Royale Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you want it all in Ocean City the Princess Royale is where you will want to stay! If you are a first time visitor or a loyal repeat guest you will love our 2014 upgrades! All 310 suites feature brand new carpeting, furniture, wifi and all new heating & AC! And, our multi-million dollar renovations of all meeting and banquet space is breathtaking; even more perfect for your wedding, meeting, convention or reunion. Not only do we have the perfect accommodations for you but we also have the perfect rates for any budget; AAA, AARP, Military, Super Summer Savers including daily breakfast for up to 4 people, Rodney specials including half off or even FREE nights in the Summer and even our famous Welcome Coupon; which provides FREE Thursday or Sunday nights in the off-season when staying Fri and Sat at standard rates. We have 30 2 & 3 bedroom condos as well as 310 two-room suites including a bedroom with choice of 1 king or 2 queen beds featuring the incredible Tempur-pedic mattresses as well as living room with comfortable sleep sofa. All suites have a fully equipped kitchen including fridge w/ice maker, microwave and cook top. We have everything for the perfect getaway for couples, families and groups from 7 to 700! Be sure to check out Schooner's Oceanfront Restaurant, indoor pool w/tropical Atrium, saunas and hot tubs, convenience/gift shops, complimentary wi-fi access in all suites, fitness room, complimentary covered self parking and valet parking in July & August. Also in July & August we host a nightly All-You-Care-to-Eat Seafood Buffet in addition to Ocean City's ONLY live comedy show--back for summer of 2014 by popular demand Monday-Saturday at 9pm nightly! Also back for July & August 2014 are FREE movies on our Beach every Thursday night Be sure to visit our new Creative Day Spa to complete your trip to Ocean City with a manicure, pedicure, facial, massage, couples massage, body butter ecstasy wrap and more! We are the prefect place to do it all-- or do nothing-- your choice! The Princess Royale is a SMOKE FREE environment for your comfort and pleasure. At the Princess Royale the only thing we overlook...Is the Ocean! Our staff is committed to exceeding your expectations and we look forward to serving your hospitality needs on your next visit to Ocean City! See you soon at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Princess Royale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royale Hotel Ocean City
Princess Royale Ocean City Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing