We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Ranked #76 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here in the off season (October). We checked into our room at check in time (3 pm). Once in the room, we noticed patches of something black going up the wall and onto the ceiling. It was mold/mildew from the air conditioning unit. Since we both suffer from respiratory ailments such as asthma, we went back downstairs and explained that we would not want to stay in that room.

What I do not understand is why this comment caused such a defensive reaction by the staff. We did not bring the mold with us. It is not our fault that it was there. All we said was there appeared to be black mold on the wall and ceiling of the room, and that we would not be able to stay in that particular room. The staff completely overreacted in my opinion. No apology. The response was that they were completely sold out (on a weekday in the off season) and that there was nothing they could do except that we could wait until the next day to move to a different room.

We told them that was not going to be an acceptable option, so their response was to wait and check with them later in the day to see if anything changed.

Then we were offered the penthouse on the top floor. Well, in my experience, that typically means the best room, if not the Presidential Suite. This penthouse was a dusty, musty, dimly lit public area. It was furnished with furniture that looked like it was still from the mid-80's. There was also black mold in one corner of one of the bedrooms. The group we were with was hosting a cocktail reception that evening in the penthouse, and there was another group who we didn't know in another section of the penthouse area also hosting a reception.

We would have had to wait until both functions were over to go to sleep, since the bedrooms were directly adjacent to the common areas. Also, those attending these functions use the same bathrooms as guests staying in the bedroom portion. It also did not appear that certain entrances to certain areas on the top floor were locked or accessible by elevator.

We were getting ready to relocate to another hotel, and went to the front desk to inform them of this. We had actually called both hotels on either side of this property to get rates for the rest of the stay. The personnel at the front desk had changed, since it was now evening. This staff said they did not know why the earlier staff told us there were no rooms available, because there were.

We were given the key to a room on the first floor directly next to the restaurant. In my opinion, this is probably the least desirable location in the entire property. You have noise, food smells, zero view. When we opened the door to this room, every light in the room was lit, the bed had been used, and there was a wet washcloth sitting on the side of the bathroom sink.

Back to the front desk we went. It was now about 6-7 hours since we had checked in.

The front desk said they made a mistake. So they gave us yet another key to another room. This room was directly next to the room that was next to the restaurant. This room did not appear to be "used", but the furnishings in it were so worn looking. The rug had a dirt path. I don't think it could ever look clean again. We were so tired, we gave up and stayed in this room the first night.

The next day, we were told (again, in a defensive, angry way) that once people checked out and the rooms were able to be cleaned, we would be given a "good" room. This room was better than the previous four, so we stuck it out.

I understand that we were staying here at the end of the busy season. We have been going to the Jersey/Delaware/Maryland beaches for our entire lives. Things like mold/mildew can pop up. What we did not understand was the way the staff made us feel like we had done something wrong.

Needless to say, we would not stay here again. Looking back, I'm not sure why we stuck with them. We should have just left and stayed next door. It was exhausting living out of a suitcase for two days, since we couldn't unpack. So much for a relaxing beach trip.

Some additional notes: I only gave this 2 stars instead of 1 because we didn't see any bugs. I have also posted some photos of things that housekeeping could improve on such as a bedside lamp covered in about an inch of dust, window so dirty you can play Pictionary on it, and bird poop all over the table on the balcony. When we mentioned the table on the balcony, the staff informed us that they "can't control what the birds do". But you can clean the table!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slt50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    161
    98
    69
    71
See reviews for
231
117
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

You can't beat the location. Having a balcony right on top of the beach, mid-way on the Boardwalk is terrific!!! The staff is very nice and accommodating - they are responsive and help take care of the issues that come with this aging hotel. Balconies are nice size - small table and very easily seat 3 (4 wouldn't be bad). Outside bar is fun and bartender Cory terrific - quiet and attentive and entertaining with a great sound track playing from his iPhone for all to enjoy. We were there on "closing" weekend so drinks were super cheap. Maybe I'm warped from DC, but I didn't find these drinks expensive, even at regular price, and Cory worked to make customers very happy. Okay, back to the room. We had a kitchenette which is helpful. Full size fridge, and a dishwasher, but no dish soap for hand washing things. We didn't even have service for 4, but, it was post-season, so maybe this accounts for the low count of silver. I have to compliment the cotton sheets and duvet which were much nicer than I'd expect at this price. Very comfortable. As has been noted before, when you get a 2 bed suite, they're just doubles. This worked for us since my mom had one and I had one. If more than 2 adults are in each bed, think you'd better go for a King suite for each. My brother joined us one night and the sofa bed is as bad as most sofa beds are. The lighting in the sitting area of the room was quite lacking. One strong torchier or such would have really made the room nicer. The shower was average. Nice to have real tile on the walls of the shower, but the bathtub floor had stains. The sink and counter were very average, but probably what is to be expected at this price. I have to say the price is excellent. To be on the beach and have pools, too at this price is really good. Heat hadn't been turned on in the hotel, even tho it was mid-October, and we had to ask for room heaters.

By the end, we had a nice stay. Things like stains on the hall carpeting, broken down wheeling luggage racks, etc make the hotel feel sub-par. There were nice aspects as I mentioned and the hotel was clean, which is critical! I'll be paying more to stay elsewhere next stay, but there are some advantages for the money here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colonial heights
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

my husband and i stayed at this hotel last weekend and it was quite a suprise that there was a full size fridge, a stove and a dishwasher as well as the dishes and cookware. although we dont smoke, it was a smoking room but it didnt smell bad. it was clean and close to lots of things and right on the boardwalk. the cleaning staff was GREAT! would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 4th floor and i could watch the waves while laying in my bed. perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Aged furniture. Poor tub.Don't waste money on "deluxe" ocean front. Only difference from standard ocean front is indoor hallway.. This hotel needs some serious renovation or a change in name to Mediocre Inn. Rates too high for value.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Risser10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondack Foothills of NY State
Level Contributor
178 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We really like this place! We travel off season and get a great rate on an oceanfront room. The beds are comfy;pillows are great! Outdoor pool needed skimming with a net but surprisingly there was very little sand in it. Indoor pool was warm; clean as was the hot tub. We let them know about the town screen on our balcony door...if you don't tell them, they may never know. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean hotel on the Boardwalk, this is it! If you want perfection, go somewhere else and good luck!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADKphotobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
231 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is a great place to stay for the money! Right on the boardwalk and the beach, close to lots good food, and three nice pools and a hot tub...all for about a hundred bucks with the right deal. Can't beat the price. Our room was clean and well prepared for our arrival. However, there are things the staff should take note of: our screen was torn loose from the frame and was not very good at keeping the bugs out. Also, our couch had a piece of metel sticking out of the arm that could tear clothing or flesh. That, to me, is something someone should have noticed.
All in all, though, you just can't beat the deal. They will see us again.

Room Tip: Wee like the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillP1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was our first stay at this hotel. The hotel is nice enough, very clean and the staff is friendly and very helpful. They have two great outdoor pools right on the boardwalk and an indoor pool and hot-tub that is also very nice. This is what enticed us to stay here in the fall. We really wanted an indoor pool and this one was large, with a deep end and plenty of sunlight. Our room was spacious and had a large private balcony. We had a small kitchen, a small living area and two double beds. The Oceanview Grill, their onsite restaurant, is very good and serves a great breakfast. Very convenient! The hotel also has a small outside bar, public bathrooms and plenty of vending machines. All easily accessible from the beach which made it nice.

There were two cons. First, the beds are awful. They are double-beds which I found odd. Not sure who actually sleeps in a double-bed. My husband and I were not able to sleep in the same bed. Wouldn't have been a big deal really but they are hard as rocks and we both woke up stiff every morning. The linens are 200 thread count itchy sheets. I've been in much worse hotels that had better beds and linens. If think if they upgraded in this area the place would have been close to perfect for our stay. The second issue was the house-keeping. Every day we had to go to the front desk for things our maid forgot. Toilet paper and coffee were missed each day and there was no vacuuming or wiping down the counters, sinks or tables.

Overall, it was a good stay, great location and beautiful views. Please just get new mattresses!

Room Tip: Stay above the 3rd floor to avoid noise from the bar and pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 238angier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#26 of 103 in Ocean City
307 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
656 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Boardwalk

Property: Quality Inn Boardwalk
Address: 1601 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-4189
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the boardwalk, the Quality Inn offers incredible views at affordable rates. Family friendly, the hotel offers two outdoor pools, game room, exercise room, oceanfront restaurant, heated indoor pool and Ocean City’s largest hot tub. Most rooms feature a fully stocked kitchenette and a private balcony. Our newly remodeled two-story Penthouse can accommodate up to 18 guests. From your convenient location, you are just a walk away from restaurants, shopping, nightclubs and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Boardwalk Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Quality Inn
Quality Inn Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing