We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay if you want coffee pot or internet!!!!!!!”
Review of Sahara Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sahara Motel
Ranked #51 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Laurel, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Dont stay if you want coffee pot or internet!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Great location, clean, close to boardwalk, great restaurant
on sight. Was told they had wi-fi. We stayed in the towers,
they reset the internet twice with no luck. After that was told
"I don't know what to tell you we have had problems in that
building".( other people had same problem) Husband a big coffee drinker
no coffee pot in room. (all other places we stay at have in room)
Will not stay again due to no internet when told there was and
they act like they don't care.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baseball96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    94
    48
    20
    30
See reviews for
123
70
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Carmel, PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Wasnt very impressed with this hotel stay. The bedspreads were old, the beds were awful to sleep on and pillows were lumpy. We had a nonworking minfridge which they did replace. Wifi was not available in our part of the building, they told us we were to far on the edge, the router is in the middle of the building(disappointed teenagers for internet use). It was clean but for the price we paid to be near the boardwalk i expected more

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgrosser74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Wappinger, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights.
As others have stated if your looking for the Hilton this is not it.
We stayed in a poolside room in the building where the office is.
Best part of this motel is the location. Your on the boardwalk.
It's far enough away from the noisey part of the boardwalk but a short tram ride right to all the action.
We had no complaints about the cleanliness of our room.
We had the beds made,fresh towels, and vacuumed each day.
Bathroom was small but clean.
Pool was clean and it was very quiet at night.
Fridge and microwave in every room was great.
We really didn't spend much time in our room.
The beach is right there to enjoy.
The cafe attached across the street has great breakfast and an early bird special.
If your looking for an affordable motel right on the beach this is a great pick.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joppa, MD
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is our second stay at the Sahara and it was great. It's definitely not one of the higher end hotels but definitely one of the best "budget" motels we've stayed in Ocean City. We've actually stayed at quite a few in the very close vicinity which were very close in price. The Price + Location = very enjoyable stay. The price is one of the lowest and you can pretty much walk to everything, the beach, boardwalk, lots of restaurants, etc... We got clean towels and garbage removal daily but didn't ask for anything else. We stayed in the tower building (we stayed in the West bldg last time) and even got a small glimpse of the ocean from the balcony in between buildings. We were in the pool alot which was for the most part clean. No problem finding parking. I also loved that you could open the windows in the bathroom and near the sink, which alot of motels you can't do. The beds were pretty comfortable, not hard like some hotels we've been to. I gave it a four because of cleanliness, the bathroom could have been a little cleaner when we got there and the pool could have been cleaner. Also the people upstairs sounded like a heard of elephants walking back and forth and slamming doors. Between the ending of senior week and the dew tour there were lots of rowdy teens. But we didn't stay in the room much and the kids didn't care about the pool so all had a great time. We come to OC at least once, if not twice every year and are always on a budget. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poca1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We were able to book last minute in high season for only $99/night. We had a sparkling poolside room only a few steps to the beach, complete with microwave , fridge and two double beds. The entire staff was friendly, the pool area was immaculate and we had a great time. Thanks to everyone, especially Bonnie who booked us in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelleontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Room was ok regarding cleanliness. Awful during our stay which I believe was because of the A/C filter needing to be changed or cleaned. Informed the front desk and they had the cleaning woman come to the room and she proceeded to argue about doing a good job cleaning the room. Told her the room was fine but the filter needed to be changed. By that time we were leaving anyway. Room was about as close as you could get to the beach without actually sleeping on the beach. I would definitely stay again because once I parked I could walk back an d forth to the beach or the my favorite restaurant-Phillip's Seafood Restaurant.

Room Tip: If you have the opportunity, check out the room before you pay just to make sure everything is as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafiki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

New bathrooms and carpet since last time. Beachfront. Pool very clean. The Cafe has amazing breakfast!! Walking distance to Phillips. Only ding is .25 for ice. Boardwalk action not real close, but nice to get to a little quieter area after a busy night on the boardwalk.1

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ScottKris96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Ocean City Oceanfront
0.4 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#62 of 103 in Ocean City
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#77 of 103 in Ocean City
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Spinnaker
The Spinnaker
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Safari Motel Boardwalk
Safari Motel Boardwalk
#52 of 103 in Ocean City
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Motel

Property: Sahara Motel
Address: Oceanfront at 19th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your next Ocean City, Maryland vacation at the Sahara Motel, a complex offering four buildings with rates and locations to suit your needs. Choose from direct Oceanfront/Oceanview, Poolside, West or Tower buildings. All are reasonably priced and just steps away from the Ocean City Boardwalk, amusements, restaurants and shopping. Our oceanfront hotel provides one of the best beachfront views in Ocean City, Maryland. Also the home of famous Jay's Sahara Cafe. Relax on Ocean City's white sandy beach and let the ocean wash over your feet. Stroll the Boardwalk or take a refreshing swim in either of our two sparkling pools. Sample one of Ocean City's nearby golf courses, or just relax on your private oceanfront balcony. We are convenient to all of the most exciting attractions in Ocean City, Maryland. Discover and enjoy Ocean City, Maryland at the Sahara Motel. We are your family's place at the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Ocean City
Sahara Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing