We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This was my first time to Ocean city and I loved this hotel. It has a great band to listen to at the hot tub, bar, and pool. The beds are comfortable which is huge on my list of importance and the pillows are so nice, you sink into them. The staff is nice. The only two things at all that would be nice is an hour earlier check in or place to put your bags so you can go enjoy the beach when you get there, or the option to pay for a later check out to sleep in. Secondly, the view is nice even from the side of the ocean but if you could fit two chairs out there to sit it would be so nice. We learned though that if you leave the balcanoy door open you can see the beach from the sofa. The location is great because the bus is across the street and you are away from young spring breakers which is nice. Great hotel.

Room Tip: Higher up is better and one level is actually opens the door to the pool so unless you have kids tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aymami21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post! We do have a health spa open to all guests, even before your room is ready. You can shower, use the lockers, and of course you can use all the other facilities at the hotel while waiting to check into your room. We hope you stay with us again, and take advantage of all the amenities at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion Resort Fontainebleau quite my accident for a spur of the moment trip to Ocean City, MD. At first I was a little disappointed that this was where we ended up as every other hotel was sold out or astronomically priced. It turned out that we really had a nice time there and glad we were away from the southend where the boardwalk is. At first when we arrived at the hotel we thought it could have been cleaner, but after experiencing being chased off the beach due to a major thunderstorm I realized that there is no way to control the amount of sand that is dragged into the hotel. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff really nice. We were on the ninth floor and had views of both the bay and ocean, which was great, even during a thunderstorm. The balcony was tiny, but that was better than nothing. The hotel has an outdoor “tiki” bar and around 4pm each day there was a band playing music. This was really fun and if we didn’t want to stay we just went to our room and opened the door to hear the music. We also had lunch on the beach from one of their restaurants Lenny’s Beach Bar and Grille. It was probably one of the best crab cake sandwiches I have had in a long time. We had a great time in Ocean City and would definitely return to the Clarion Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamcometrue214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Sometimes those spur of the minute getaways turn out to be some of the best times! Glad you found us, and we hope you'll be spending another vacation with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was our first trip to Ocean City, Maryland. We decided at the last minute to go so our choice of hotels were limited. We found ourselves pleasantly surprised with the Clarion. The foyer was busy with families checking in but everything moved quickly. The bellhops were very helpful. Our room was on the 14th floor but the elevators moved quite quickly each day. I also thought with it being a pet friendly hotel we would listen to dogs barking all night but never heard not one. We used the weight room facilities each day..small but clean. We had a drink daily at the outside bar and the distance to the beach was great. Parking, although crowded, was never a problem finding a spot. Hotel staff was friendly. Although, the location is a bit away from the boardwalk, we kind of liked being a little bit away from the hustle and bustle of it all. I would definitely consider staying here again on a return visit to Ocean City:)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thanks for the kind words; we're happy you enjoyed your vacation with us. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Still our "home away from home" and still love the place! People are so friendly, and even remember you! I find that pretty special since they see THOUSANDS of people coming and going! "LILA" or "LYLA" remembers us from THREE years ago, and has the sweetest and friendliest demeanor of anyone at the Clarion, though, like I said, ALL were helpful and friendly as usual! They FINALLY got 37" flat screen tvs, too! Not that we sit and watch tv, but with two kids, it's just nice to have a tv like that for those rainy days! Still very clean, room smelled good, and we were on the PET FLOOR (we bring our family cat)! Seemed like newer curtains too. Love the beds, and the down-alternative comforters...and all the pillows! There are TWO types! One with REAL down, and the others with an alternative. Pretty cool. My ONLY "complaint" this year, I guess, would be that our phones were broken, and while they DID get them somewhat repaired in a short amount of time...they still didn't work correctly the entire stay. No big deal really! I asked if they could give us ANY sort of tiny "compensation" for that inconvenience, and they said they'd talk to the mgr....but when check-out came, there was no discount or anything to help "make up" for the phone issues. Oh well. I just felt that even a couple free DRINK vouchers would suffice, but nada! Room should have a working phone, so maybe they'll consider compensating people in however small a way, in the near future? STILL LOVE YOU CLARION, OC! We'll be back next year and hopefully longer, too! I highly recommend this place, as I did for the past four years. Hope they never go "downhill" and keep up the great work and friendly staff! Thank you! Justin

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, even on the pet floor! Must have thick walls! The pet floor is the 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank musicjustintime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and we do apologize for the broken phone. We agree that Leila is a gem and we're very fortunate to have her on staff. Take care, and we're looking forward to year number 5 with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

fantastic service from the hotel and all its employees, great food music and the best of accomodations but next time I would like an ocean view room so i could see the ocean see you next year god willing i enjoy the beach and shopping and getting a tan so i could brag about my experience when i get back home to pennsylvania/ blondie from pennysylvania

Room Tip: ocean view/ I did not have an ocean view room if I would have had an ocean view room I would likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertaL655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Thanks for posting! We'll certainly be happy to welcome you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel with our family. Overall we had a good experience. The accomadations were good, the hotel staff was great especially our housekeeper, Helen. The location is ok but because it was a busy week, we had to park across Coastal Highway often which is an extremely busy road. The food was good at the outdoor bar. The entertainment was good. The outdoor pool was small and crowded and so was the beach area. The beach was very wide so there was plenty of space to do activities. The work out areas were good. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: I do not have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Glad you enjoyed your family vacation! Please note that when parking across the street in our satellite hotel, there is a traffic light with crosswalk about a block north of the lot. Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Not very satisfied with the experience as a whole and would probably opt to stay at another hotel. We've been going to OC for many years and have stayed at other hotels before. Trying to broaden our horizons did not pay off this time. We were surprised to find no in-house movies to select from, which for our family is usually a way to wind down after a long day of activities. Parking near the hotel was limited, causing us to have to park across the street on several occasions and play "Frogger" back to the hotel. We tried a Horizons Breakfast (after all they are "famous" for it) and were completely disgusted. They had two omelet lines but only one chef cooking for everyone. The line was about 20-25 minutes long before you could get an omelet or a waffle. Usually you can make your own at other hotels. When told they should open up the second line, the Chef stated there was another Chef but he didn't know where he was.?? No manager?? We left our room at 8:00 am one day, came back at 3:00 pm and found our room had not been attended to yet. Naturally after being there to shower for 5 minutes, houskeeping knocked on our day. The evening front desk personell show no professionalism and act like they are either tired of the vacation period or have had no training in hotel management. For the mney, I think there is better value somewhere else. Water pressure was so low the shower head couldn't be used fully on any options. The beds were small and the mattresses were hard. We did like the large in-room safe. The hotel is even built facing the wrong way. It's as if they had a small piece of property to fit the hotel on and placed it sideways. The elevators took a very long time. It was nice walking out the back of the hotel to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

It's disappointing when a guest is so very dissatisfied with his/her stay. Addressing some of the concerns: it's correct that we don't offer in-house movies, but we do offer free cable and HBO; we do provide ample parking between the adjacent lot and satellite lot across the street-no need to play "frogger" while crossing-1 block to the north of the lot on the west side is a light with a crosswalk; housekeeping cleans rooms by 4pm barring any unforeseen circumstances; and the building is positioned in such a way that most of our rooms offer a view of the ocean to one side, and the Assawoman Bay to the other.

I do apologize for the delay at the omelet line. Since I don't know the day of your visit, I can't comment specifically, but I do know that it's extremely uncommon for there to be a long wait in any of the buffet lines.

We wish you well on future travels, and thank you for taking the time to post your opinions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,297 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Suites
Marigot Beach Suites
#52 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,598 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#50 of 104 in Ocean City
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront

Address: 10100 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#23 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £61 - £835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing