We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great as always!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fishing Creek, Maryland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great as always!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Went for an April offseason weekend stay when we got a good rate, and once again we were not disappointed. Clean, comfortable rooms, the private beach (this IS very, very rare in congested OC), decent entertainment, and great views. The staff went above and beyond in making sure we were comfortable and helping with a late checkout.

The rooms themselves have been updated over the years and are at a three-star hotel standard. This is significant because a lot of OC hotels are appointed cheaply in anticipation of the sand-dragging children they expect to host. If you are traveling as just a couple or with more grown up children, this is a big plus.

Bathroom is very basic but clean. Decent size. Beds were comfortable and the linens were clean. Vending machines are readily accessible on every other floor.

I've had the pleasure of seeing five-star resorts in my life, and the Fontainebleau does not try to be that--it's a comfortable, cozy, affordable family place where summer memories are made, and even through the decades that I've come here since childhood and the ownership changes, it's still hitting it out of the park for the buck.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESVASpiderTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
We appreciate your continued patronage! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    289
    168
    76
    54
See reviews for
323
211
15
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

First the staff is great!! The hotel itself is stuck at best in 1989. The hotel has all the quality of a resort but there is not a shot that I should pay in season prices. Off season prices are a bit high. The restaurant is decent but the bar is lacking a selection of top self and a interesting drink menu. The rooms are ok but deff need a face lift. The option to bring your pet is awesome but there is not special pet offerings that should be a given. I travel all the time for work and hold lots of events in hotels. The best things about this hotel are location,staff and view. I would not hold an event here its to dated and not worth the cost. Good for a stop over night at best.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worksleeptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post. I'm sorry there were aspects of your stay with which you weren't satisfied. In the past few months, we replaced the lobby furniture, and in the past year or so, have replaced the carpeting, draperies, and changed the bathroom counter tops to granite in the sleeping rooms. Do you have some ideas for special pet offerings? We're always open to hearing new ideas, and would love to hear your pet ideas. We're unable to list our contact information on these replies, but you can visit our website for contact info. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Great hotel.....a little worn, but that was to be expected at the beach. The food was great, especially the Sunday brunch. And the staff was stellar. Our room had views of the ocean and the bay and was really big. The balcony was more of a Juliet as opposed to a real balcony, so we couldn't really hang out. It was a little chilly anyway, so it was ok. Definitely would stay there again, wallet permitting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Yes, our rooms have a standing balconies, but I really like the term "Juliet." I think I'm going to speak to the General Manager about that term. Thanks for throwing that out there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Upon arriving greeted by a very plesant staff. We had been in our room less than an hour when I realized someone had smoked in the room. Within minutes the staff decided that we should move to another room. That was great, however; it took the staff three trips in order to get the door passes to work. We placed the door hanger on the outside handle for breakfast to be delivered on Saturday by 8:00 a.m. When we called at 8:30 they had misplaced our order would not deliver for another 30 minutes. Our session would begin at 9:00 therefore; we had to cancell our order. We found out too late that the dinning room only does buffett on the weekends, we do not do buffets, that is why we did not take the weekend package with our group. Need to have two queen size beds, no one sleeps in full size. Cleaning service did not show up until after 4:00 p.m. on Saturday, she was standing at the end of the hallway most of the day. The Clarion should be a top notch place since it is a year-round hotel and member of the Choice Hotels. One other thing the servers in the bar took our orders for food and drinks quickly and pleasantly served us. We had a group of six for lunch on Saturday, the food arrived timely and was very tasty. Kristen was a wonderful server in the dining room for our Friday (we arrived on Thursday a day early) breakfast - she is a keeper. Thank goodness for the efficiency of most of the staff, yeah we would come back now knowing what not to expect from the hotel. Holding a convention or area meetings - I would highly recommend using the Clarion, the service of the staff that handle those arrangements and throughout our two day meeting - thumbs up for that team!

Room Tip: When you order room service and it does not show up by schedule time, don't give the service a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you dealt with during your stay. Our goal is to always exceed our guests expectations, and it seems we fell short of that goal for you. We hope to welcome you back for your next conference or vacation, and prove to you that we offer the best in customer care and service. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review; I sent this on to all departments involved and I know that the General Manager spoke with each department head personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We've been staying at the Clarion for many years, back when it was the Sheraton. Back in the day, it was impeccable in every way. It has gone through several renovations, but it definitely needs another. The carpet needs replacing, the bathrooms needs updateding, the electrical outlets for all the new devices need to be improved upon.
I've also attended conferences here. The facilities are excellent and I would highly recommend this as a conference destination.
The staff has remained excellent and professional, the dining room with full view of the ocean has a good menu and good service, the casual restaurant/bar remains good. The indoor pool and health club amenities have been maintained well.
The owner is often in the hotel and is always open to speaking to guests.
With a good renovation, the Clarion could be a 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60811Traveler626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you for your continued patronage. At the bottom of your review, it's noted that the last time you stayed with us was almost a year ago. We have completed several renovations, including new carpeting, new draperies, new lobby furniture, and more. Hopefully, you will be back to visit with us soon and will see the improvements for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was our first time traveling with our 2 Boston Terriers. We had a pleasant experience. The room was nice with a decent view. The room was not worn out and stained like you think a room that always has dogs staying in it would be. The staff was very friendly. Pet "bathroom" area was clean. Most guests picked up after their pets and the hotel provided bags to do so. The only complaint would be the smell of the room. Not as fresh and clean as "non-pet" hotel rooms smell. I'm sure there is some kind of deodorizer they could use to take care of that.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TWONBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that your room had an odor. We continually strive to exceed our guests expectations; unfortunately, there is the rare occasion when something happens to make a guest's stay less than perfect. In those instances, we encourage our guests to let the front desk know if there is any issue at all so we can take care of it in as timely a manner as possible. I do hope that we will be welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, MD
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Needed a break and spontaneously decided to take the kids to OC for a night. We live on the Eastern Shore, so we avoid Ocean City after Memorial Day. March and April are when we prefer to visit, especially since rooms are cheaper and dogs are allowed on the beach during these months. Last minute trips aren't easy for pet owners, because it's usually expensive to board them and/or hard to find someone to housesit on a moment's notice. In any case, the Clarion is one of the few remaining hotels in OC that will allow you to bring dogs.

My problem is the exorbitant taxes (which the Clarion can't do anything about), compounded by the $35 pet fee, or $50 for two dogs, which they do have control over. I know there's extra cleaning involved after a pet, but for one night, off season, it cost +$180.00. That's too much...$50 for two dogs? C'mon. It's the same amount of cleaning for two as for one...why the extra $$.

The children enjoyed the indoor pool, and the bar immediately adjacent offered decent happy hour specials. It was nice to relax with a view of the ocean, comfort food (chicken wings), and happy children playing in the pool a few yards away.

The hotel was obviously swanky in its day, but the years are beginning to show. Our base rate was $106 before pets and taxes, which is a fair price. The room was clean, but very basic. Too, keep in mind that "ocean front" hotels aren't necessarily indicative of a great view. This hotel has "standing balconies", which means there's a sliding door that opens to a slab of cement that one person can stand on at a time. When I booked the room and was provided a total cost, I was also told "exceptional view". That helped to sell me, but when we arrived in our room the immediate view was of the hotel next door. Bummer! We had to walk (individually) onto the balcony and look to the left (over the rooftop and a/c units of the bar/indoor pool) to see the Atlantic. Lastly, the beds were just not comfortable.

Also know that for that price, breakfast is not included...not even a danish and coffee. The breakfast bar is $15 per person, which is ok for the honeymooning couple, but probably not so much for the family of 5.

I guess the point of this review is that for an off season price, this hotel is acceptable...but I can not begin to imagine paying summer rates to stay here. $180 per night would've ticked me off had I not known that part of it was for the dogs.

Room Tip: Room 514 has a better view of the building next door than it does of the ocean. Plus, why is the cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JennyMadison_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
I'm pleased that overall, it seems as though you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate that you chose the Clarion Resort for your night away. There are very few hotels in Ocean City that welcome pets, and our rates are right in line with what other establishments charge. We sincerely believe that our buffets are very reasonably priced for the high quality of food we offer. Please keep in mind that we do offer children's pricing for all buffets. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Suites
Marigot Beach Suites
#48 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel

Property: Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel
Address: 10100 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#23 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing