We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Showing It's Age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Iowa
Level Contributor
213 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Hotel Showing It's Age”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Attending a conference at the Clarion. Hotel is really showing it's age but they sure aren't afraid to charge. Even the conference rate is way higher than it should be. This morning when I took a shower the water backed up three or four inches. I called the front desk and asked for maintenance to fix it today which they did. Ate lunch at the smaller hotel bar. Asked if I could sub a a salad for the fries. Server told me it would be an extra $3.50. I took the fries and didn't touch them on my plate! I see there is a remodeled Holiday Inn down the street. Next year I will stay there. I checked tonight. It is $35 dollars cheaper and much nicer

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I'm sorry you weren't pleased with your stay. We do renovations on the off-seasons, to both the guestrooms and common areas, and plan on continuing to do so. Our rates are actually inline with other hotels in town of the same caliber, and we feel it is a good value. We appreciate your patronage, and hope you do decide to return for your next conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    297
    176
    81
    55
See reviews for
338
218
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro,PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel did not meet our expectations! Many of the seasonal pluses were NOt available(beach chairs, umbrellas,drinks,etc.) even though our reservation was one day after Labor Day.. The toilet seat was broken and the sink had a drainage problem. The sink was fixed. The price listed online was without ALL the taxes added. The breakfast buffet had only one chef making the egg dishes,waffles,etc. Matresses were lumpy and pillows were flat! Luckily the weather cooperated or this would have been a dismal stay in Ocean City.

Room Tip: There are NO rooms facing the beach!
See more room tips
Green Features: We didn't see any recycling done! Shower was good with temp and spray.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cahenicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I'm sorry your stay didn't meet your expectations. It's very disappointing to us when a guest is unhappy. I checked with our food and beverage department, and the day after Labor Day, the chairs and umbrellas were available for rental at the deck bar, where drinks were also available. The deck bar was opened until at least 6:00pm that day.
Also, our rooms are oceanview, but the hotel is oceanfront. We do offer 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites next door that are directly oceanfront. I hope you will give us another chance and come back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a lovely stay here over the labor day weekend. The room was nice and clean and the bed linens were crisp and cozy. If the hotel is full and you come back late at night, you will have to park across the street. Be careful there is no crosswalk there. I thought the room was a little pricey but so were most of the rooms in the nicer hotels in Ocean City. Enjoyed sitting on the beach and listening to the live music by the outdoor restaurant on the weekend. We stayed until Tuesday and had the place to ourselves for two days. The hairdryer in our room wasn't working and they sent someone up to replace it with a new one fairly quickly,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for visiting with us at the Clarion Resort. Just to let you know, there is a crosswalk one block to the north, where crossing is safe. But the even better news is that next summer we will offer free valet parking! Then you won't need to worry yourself with it at all. We hope to see you again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I (children when they were younger) have been coming to OC Maryland for at least 30 years. This was the first time staying at the Clarion and we were more than satisfied with everything. This hotel has everything you need...great buffet breakfast and dinner, walk-out to beach as well as an indoor and outdoor pool. The favorite part of our experience was the entertainment. The band had us dancing from 4-8 each evening with the beach as the backdrop. If we had any energy left over there was another band after dinner in the indoor restaurant. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catsam89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
I'm glad you were able to enjoy all aspects of the Clarion Resort! Everyone loves the live music on deck in the summer. Thank you for giving us a chance, and we hope you'll visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was our first time in ocean city MD. We chose the Clarion because it was on the beach & had a special rate offer.
We loved the choice of restaurants and the outdoor tiki bar. Drinks were great, especially the bucket drinks! $13.75 for fancy specialty drinks in a bucket....but that's great because it was equivalent of 3 drinks!
Staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are all about the FUN! And glad you could be a part of it. We hope to be your one-stop destination in Ocean City, and that we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Delta, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We traveled with a group of families and found this to be a place that pleased everyone! Our room was the King Suite that offered 2 standing balconys and a wonderful northern view of sunrise and sunset. The private beach with services, outside bars and grill with entertainment, indoor and outdoor pools, restaurants, and friendly staff made us very willing to return. It is somewhat removed from the touristy areas which only were a short drive away.
Say hi to Ben for us! He is the prime rib carver at the buffet. Let him entertain you!

Room Tip: King Suite worked for the 3 of us! More spacious! Loved the bed! We were on the 7th floor. I would...
See more room tips
Green Features: It was a pleasure to abide by their practices. We kept the same sheets all week but did switch pillowcase twice. Of course reused our towels as we have learned to do through previous travels. Happy to know that the hotel does its best to be Eco-Friendly!
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
It's so great to hear you enjoyed your time with us! We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back, hopefully sooner than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

For a fairly inexpensive, last minute hotel room that was by the beach, it was worth the money. The room was clean enough and the good at the breakfast buffet was pretty good. The decor was incredibly outdated though, and the service could have been significantly improved. It is unlikely that we will stay at this hotel again. The upside was that we had a beach view, were able to sleep until late undisturbed every day and got free beach chairs one day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcinnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
It's disappointing to hear that you may not come back to visit with us. I'm sorry that you weren't pleased with our service. I'd appreciate it if you would take the time to message me with the details, and what happened that made you feel you did not receive excellent service. We take that very seriously and want to take steps to improve. We renovate during every off season; recent renovations include new carpeting, new draperies, flat screen TVs, granite counter tops and new tile in the guest bathrooms.
I hope you will reconsider and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Suites
Marigot Beach Suites
#43 of 103 in Ocean City
294 reviews
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 103 in Ocean City
2,065 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,085 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront

Property: Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront
Address: 10100 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#23 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing