We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront
Ranked #33 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It all started at check-in, very unorganized it seemed as if it was her first day checking guests in. Once we got our room everything was fine. UNTIL I went to use the hair dryer which completely fell off the wall, then I went to turn on a light the bulb blew and when I looked up the entire bulb and wire were hanging out the top of the lamp. We have an 11 month old son. There were wires hanging out of the wall I had blockade him away from the wall. I can say when I call down to the front desk about the issues they were willing to move us to another room or send someone up to fix the issues. I did choose to stay in the room as our family of 4 had a lot of stuff already organized into the room. We had two issues with getting towels delivered to the room. The man was seemed to be very irritated about delivering the towels. At check out there was no asking how our stay was. It seemed as if we ,Well you already paid so we have your money see you later. I usually don't complain but we work to hard to be able to take our children on vacation to have to many issues. As much as we enjoyed the food and location this hotel had to offer. I would never stay here again. If I have to call the front desk twice during a 2 night stay I think that is a bit much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacei F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

I apologize for the issues you experienced while visiting the hotel; and I am very sorry for the poor customer service that you feel you received. Our goal is to always exceed our guests' expectations, and provide an environment where guests will feel safe and comfortable. We have failed to meet that goal with you, and again, my sincere apologies. The Directors of the appropriate departments have been notified, and the problems you encountered are being resolved. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

First and foremost, its important to consider this hotel by the others around it. Its a hotel in Ocean City. If this hotel was located in a different city, it may not get as high reviews. But for Ocean City, its about as nice as you're going to find. Its pricey, but average for the area. The rooms are clean and fairly large, with a nice view of the ocean. The staff is friendly enough. Parking can be a bit of an issue depending on when you're there. The hotel is right along the ocean, about 100 yards away. There are many bars/restaurants/attractions within a few minutes walk from the hotel. Its also pet friendly if need be. At night, the halls were quiet. The only negative was that some of their equipment in the rooms have aged and are loud and distracting. Our mini-fridge was so loud I had to unplug it, and the air conditioner was so out of tune that it made an incredibly large noise when turning on. By the end of our second night, I had to turn that off too because it kept waking me up from a dead sleep. All that being said, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, and try to stay in the rooms on the eastern most side of hotel. Also, try an...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColonelPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you for posting your review of the Clarion Resort. I'm happy that you want to stay with us again, and apologize for the equipment issues. We are evaluating our equipment and replacements will me made as soon as possible. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed in one of the Cabanas like I always do. Very comfortable with all you would need for a great time. Staff is top notch and very professional. Food and drinks are the bomb. Wonderful three day stay. Can't wait for Convention next year.

Room Tip: Cabana all the way. Close to all the action beach, pools indoor & outdoor plus the spa.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

It was great having the Council back again this year! Thank you for your continued patronage, and glad you enjoyed the Bash again this year. We can't wait for next year's Ravens Beach Bash either! Thank you for complimenting the staff, they all work very hard. Maybe we can welcome you back before next spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Even though the weather did not want to cooperate with us for some of the outdoor events, the Clarion and its staff made our Raven's Bash weekend wonderful. The food at the BBQ was outstanding. The staff is so friendly and helpful. And despite the 30 MPH winds on Saturday, they still were able to pull off all of the outdoor activities, even the bonfire. We stayed in the condos but were still able to use all the amentities of the hotel. Looking forward to next year's Raven's Bash, but I have a feeling we will be back before that.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for coming down for the 3rd Annual Beach Bash! We're glad you had a great time, because we certainly did! We hope you do get the chance to come down before the next Bash. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Overall, nice hotel. Indoor and outdoor pool, tiki bar outside makes for nice atmosphere, right on the beach, restaurant with seafood buffet and live bands at night. Rooms are clean and quaint and all of them have a standing balcony with an ocean view.

The only cons are the parking (if you have to park across Coastal Highway it is a little inconvenience with luggage, kids, etc.) and the hotel looks to be a little outdated in the lobby and restaurant areas. It would also be nice to have a seated balcony like some of the other hotels.

Overall, I was happy with my stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: No preference, I think they are all about the same.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review; we're very happy you enjoyed your stay. I see you stayed in August of last year. Since then, the lobby has been remodeled to include current styles and colors, and a beautiful water feature. 80 of our 250 sleeping rooms have also been updated, and the rest of the rooms will be completed in the next off season.

In addition to our towel program (guests decide if they want to reuse their towels or have housekeeping provide new ones every day), guests can also choose to not have their linens changed during their stay, we have changed to LED lighting, and our laundry now uses new technology with cold water.

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon, so you can see all the improvements we've made since your last visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was pleasantly suprised at this hotel. I had heard mixed reviews and was really nervous about staying here. I am very picky about a hotel. It has to be clean above all. This is a very nice hotel. AWESOME amentities. Very nice outdoor pool and indoor pool. Great restaurants and ocean view. The only downside was the hotel, rooms themselves. They were clean for the most part but had a terrible moldy type smell. I dont know if it was from the room air conditioners but everything felt wet to the touch and just had a very mildew type smell. The balconies are also extremely small but do have beautiful views. Awesome fitness center and lots of other great ammenties. The breakfast buffet is well worth the price and is delicious. Would love to try the seafood buffet one time. The room seemed clean and sheets were clean and bed was very comfortable. The room was a nice size for it being a hotel room, the smell was just terrible. I did spray some febreeze which helped. I would stay at this hotel again for the ammenities alone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelle695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Clarion Resort. I apologize that your stay wasn't 100% enjoyable due to the odor in your room. We strive to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests, and will use the information you gave us to correct the issue. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had to stay here for Easter because our home had been damaged over the winter and this was only one of a few OC hotels that was pet friendly. We have a kitten! Staff was very nice. Only complaint would be that all pet friendly rooms only have 2 double beds, no queens or kings available. We did the Easter buffet, and it was very good! I even brought the kitten down to the level where brunch took place and the "Easter bunny" met me in the hallway for a picture! I thought my husband wanted to die!! LOL! It was our "baby's " first Easter! Since we are "local" to the area, we have done their Sunday brunch numerous times, always very good! We would definitely stay there again! They offer some great holiday package plans too!!

Room Tip: Ocean view!! No pet, king bed!!! :)
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowycat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I'm so sorry to hear about the damage to your home, but glad you decided to stay with us! I completely understand about celebrating your "baby's" milestones. I do the same thing. We even throw casual parties for his birthday! You are not alone! We're happy you enjoy the buffets; since you're local, check out our Lenny's Beach Bar and Grill for some lite fare and live music. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
879 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Suites
Marigot Beach Suites
#51 of 104 in Ocean City
315 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#49 of 104 in Ocean City
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront

Address: 10100 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#23 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £69 - £799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing