We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This was our first family vacation to Ocean City and the hotel was great. It is north of the boardwalk but we purchased all-day bus tickets for $3.00 to save us the hassle of driving down and trying to find parking. The hotel has beach access, rents chairs and umbrellas if you forgot to bring your own. The breakfast and dinner buffets were also fantastic. The hotel has a priceless treasure, the lady who hosts the arts and crafts for children on Wednesday mornings. She loves working with kids and is a fountain of knowledge on places to go and things to try. We would stay at this hotel again. If there was a downside it is the wait for elevators during the peak hours when people are checking in/out.

Room Tip: Choose a room high for a grand view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for the positive review! I'm very pleased to know that you took advantage of our children's activities. The bus is great, isn't it? And it's super convenient, with stops right at the edge of our parking lots. We hope to welcome your family back again next summer, if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

this was the 1st time we were able to stay at a resort in Ocean City that was affordable and ocean front. The service was great from all areas of the resort, The beach is walking down a path and the pool is awesome!!!!

Room Tip: For best ocean view, get the room past the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lchd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for writing about your great time staying with us at the Clarion Resort! We hope we can become part of your vacation tradition! Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel was okay, it was not what I expected at all. We booked the Romance Package for our 12th anniversary and was told it included roses and champagne. However, it actually included just one rose. Upon entering the hotel, I felt like the employee we first encountered were disorganized and a little mean. We had to go back in forth to complete our entire transaction before getting settle into our room. The room was neat and clean, but not worth the money we paid for the balcony/ocean view experience. The buffet was good, but make sure you ask for the price because they do not tell you how costly it is until you have eaten....lol....but it's good.

Room Tip: If you are interested in Ocean City's boardwalk, this hotel is at least 30 minute away driving f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I'm so sorry for whatever misunderstanding caused you to think the package included roses. The description on our website does say "...accompanied by champagne and a rose upon arrival, along with $150 in food and beverage credit..."
I apologize for the rudeness you encountered at our front desk. That is inexcusable and not tolerated. I've spoken to the Front Desk Manager who will take appropriate action with his staff. I hope you give us another chance to show you superior service by returning to visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel was clean, bed was comfortable. Balcony you can only stand on. Has small fridge and small table, couldn't stay for a whole week, couldn't store food for breakfast or lunch. AC unit is loud. Bar area is great, good food priced right, band was ok. Great access to the beach. Hotel staff was rude, pushed passed me in the halls and through doors. The maintenance staff using 2 way radios had the volume on high in the halls and it was very loud especially when your trying to sleep.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lwest14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Please accept my sincere apologies for the rudeness of staff members that you encountered. Our goal is always superior customer service, and it's disappointing that we fell short of that goal for you. I do hope that you will give us another chance to provide excellent service for you. Thank you for posting your review, and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Went to this hotel for a family reunion for 3 days. My very first impression of this hotel was that it needs refurbishing. It looks dated inside. The rooms really need an update. Closet door was broken and wouldn't slide. The double beds were full size. Not roomy at all. However, the mattress was very comfortable. All of the rooms in this hotel have a side view of the ocean and they face the parking lot directly. The also do not have a full balcony, it's just a step out balcony.
Air conditioners are ver noisy in the room. On the plus side, I liked sitting by the door on the sofa and relaxing. Excellent buffet and room that turns into a night club at night after dinner. Convenient location in the midst of all the action. If I returned, I would stay at their condos next door. They are oceanfront and more roomy than the hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Stay at their condos next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joycerey1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Although it seems like overall you enjoyed your stay, I'm sorry that you didn't completely care for your accommodations. We have redone approximately one third of our guestrooms, and it's our plan to complete the rest of them in the coming winter season. We also have ongoing projects in the other commons areas. We do hope you'll return to see us, and as you suggested, perhaps the next time you would be more comfortable in our spacious oceanfront condo suites. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed three nights at the Clarion. We loved the beach bar and the beach! Our room looked clean but smelled like Lysol. The bathroom smelled like urine and the floor was sticky. We all were sure to wear shoes in there. The washing machine broke so housekeeping couldn't supply clean towels on our last day. We were on the 11th floor and our room only had a small standing balcony but the view from it was amazing! The elevators were super slow and we had to wait a long time for them. We ate at Lenny's Bar & Grill and the food was great and priced right. We ordered room service a couple times and that was priced good and service was fast. Overall a great and fun place to stay. Just could have done without the odor in the room and bathroom. Also would have liked it if there was a hairdryer in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

I'm very sorry that your room had an odor. That is definitely not up to our normal standard, and I apologize for your experience. We did have a washer down for a day, and a few of our guests were effected with a delay in getting clean towels. I'm very disappointed that you didn't get any clean towels at all your last day, and will definitely inform the Director of Housekeeping. Thank you so much for posting a review so that we were made aware of your situation. I hope you will visit us again so we can offer you the superior service we try to give every guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed on the 6th floor, had great view of the ocean. Room was clean and a/c worked great. Tiki bar is nice to hang out and listen to the live band which plays every night 5-10 and the food is very good and priced right. Room balcony is very small, standing room only but serves it's purpose.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHReed, Manager at Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the compliments and your patronage. Hopefully, staying at the Clarion Resort will become a tradition! Hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Suites
Marigot Beach Suites
#53 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 104 in Ocean City
2,373 reviews
6.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#50 of 104 in Ocean City
308 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront

Address: 10100 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-2619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#23 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £44 - £821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel is the finest all non-smoking hotel in Ocean City, Maryland, featuring luxurious hotel rooms and a 40,000 square foot Conference Center. Located directly on the beach and overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, you'll get the best in Ocean City resorts with unmatched comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Resort Fontainebleau Hotel - Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort Fontainebleau
Clarion Ocean City
Ocean City Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing