We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coconut Malorie Resort
Nearby Hotels
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel & Spa(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Royale Resort(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$324
US$233
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$65
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Plaza Inn(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
50
83
71
57
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
83
71
57
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfagers islandpresidential suiteisland restaurantview of the bayworkout roomwhirlpool tubsmall kitchenoff seasonparking lotfamily vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Coconut Malorie several times during the 90s and thought of it as the best of the best in Ocean City. Big rooms, great service, and we could walk to Fagers Island, where we enjoyed the nightlife.

Fast forward to 2014, on our annual January trip to Ocean City, we thought we'd spend a bit more than usual and go back there. Unfortunately, it did not pan out well. The rooms, while still large, had not been updated at all since our last visit, save for the TV which probably dated back to 2002 and didn't work. The fixtures in the bathroom were rusty and dated and the toilet barely flushed. The mattress was uncomfortably firm as well. The sliding door to the balcony wasn't very tight and we could hear the wind quite loudly. It was pretty disappointing.

However, things got worse when the hotel lost power (seemed to be confined to two blocks of OC) during some rain. Then it started raining in our hotel room around the sliding door/window I mentioned above. To top it off, we heard LOUD banging and voices down the hallway, which we thought was maintenance working on something, but when I went into the hallway, I learned it was a domestic situation where a guy was busting up the room and the police came to haul him away.

The weather, power outage, and police acticity was NOT the hotel's fault, of course, although it made our choice clear that we needed to go somewhere with power, working tv, that was quiet and not raining in the room. The front desk clerk was understanding and agreed the reverse the charge, although I will be very relieved once I see the transaction clear. We went back to Holiday Inn Express, which is very nice, accomodating, and less expensive with breakfast included.

Room Tip: I would actually recommend another hotel if you want a good room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hawknoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We just met our family half way for New years / christmas at the Coconut Malorie, just arrived home yesterday. All of our rooms were very nice! Comofortable! quiet! (well besides us and our family i think at times we were pretty loud) All the staff was very nice, even house cleaning! The stay was great! We had a large family there and it went wonderfully!!!!! NOT ONE COMPLAINT. NOT ONE BUG. CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN and they dont make pizza so that might have been an issue someone had with whoever they ordered from who delivered! :( loved our stay thank you coconut malorie

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We came to this resort the weekend after Christmas for our daughter's birthday. Great time, but the rooms need to be updated and the maintenance staff needs to be aware when people are in the room instead of just barging in w/out knocking!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrynite96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel thanks to some leftover RCI points. The lobby was very nice and decorated for Christmas. Our room was clean but needed updating. The carpet in the bedroom showed signs of wear, and the tile in the rest of the room was old and needed updating. There was a musty smell to our room which was cured by opening the patio doors for a few minutes. The heat/air did not seem to work so our room was in the mid-upper 70s during our stay. The walls are very thin - we could hear the people in the room next to us and even hear their conversations. The water pressure in the shower was not great. However, the water was nice and hot. The "kitchen" consisted of a refrigerator, two stove top burners, and a microwave. There were place settings for four which was nice for morning breakfasts and snacks. The deadbolt on our door did not function. When I mentioned it to the front desk clerk, he told me they were supposed to automatically lock after the door was shut?

WiFi signal was average in our room. Internet did not work at times during peak hours, but was good when most people are sleeping or not in their rooms.

We also were charged a $35 "cleaning fee" because we used RCI points. It probably would've been cheaper to just book a room at the hotel rather than use RCI points after the RCI booking fee and the cleaning fee.

A few updates and some TLC is needed, but our stay was comfortable and we enjoyed our weekend in Ocean City.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We did an off-season weekend stay on our way south. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the lobby was nice. However, the rooms were not well-maintained or clean.

We took a studio over a 1 bedroom because the 1 BR only had a queen bed, while the studio had a king. On the way to our room, we killed a cockroach in the hallway.

It was less then I was hoping for: poor water pressure in shower, grungy floors, loose fixtures, musty smell, and broken doors & curtains. Overall, the place is dated and a bit shabby. Also had to put up with noise from late night partiers at the Fager's Island bar next door.

On the plus side, the coffee in the lobby was good. :)

If you have a choice, look elsewhere. Otherwise, it'll do in a pinch.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank hal064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews