We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tale of Two Buildings”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
EconoLodge Oceanfront Ocean City
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Tale of Two Buildings”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The hotel has two separate buildings (oceanfront and street front.) This might not be clear to people when booking stays. We stayed in the street front building.

First impression: The hotel exterior was recently painted a nice sand color and the interior had newer carpeting. The building was old and could use a deep cleaning. Very close to the beach and a couple of blocks off of the boardwalk.

Rooms: Our room was on the third floor facing the ocean (but a partially blocked view from the other building) I would not stay in the street front building unless I was on the top floor facing the ocean.) Room was small and could have used a deep cleaning. Fan in bathroom has years of dust on the cover, balcony had remnants of cigarettes and beverage can tops. However, housekeeping did a good job with the bed and cleaning what they could based on their schedule. Hallway smelled like a combination of deep woods off and room freshener.
I saw a staff person wiping down the lobby area with disinfectant. Balcony was big, 15 feet by about five feet. Beds small full sized, could not fit queens in room. The best and softest towels I have ever experienced in any hotel, great surprise here!

Breakfast: Basic continental food. Doughnuts individually wrapped. Very clean and organized.

Noise: Average, kept AC on while sleeping to drown out noise from kids and some running.

Staff: Hardworking professionals that were friendly and helpful with any questions we had.

Beach: Great beach with nearby access to the boardwalk. The hotel has an outstanding location because they do not get the boardwalk noise but are very close to it.

Overall Value: Very good considering the price we paid. I would recommend this hotel for those who can manage expectations.

Room Tip: Get a top floor ocean facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ALITD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    62
    42
    23
    18
See reviews for
61
51
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

It's a very basic hotel: small rooms but clean. We stayed at a room close to the street, which is not so good for long stay. But for one day, it is the most economic choice during a holiday weekend. The location is also not bad, especially it has its own beach access.

Room Tip: Pick a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towson, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I used this hotel for fire week. I only paid about 100 bucks, and I got what I paid for. The room was clean, but no frills (not even an HDTV), same with the beds. Parking was good, the pool was pretty good too. It's a good hotel if your just looking for a place to crash for a night or two and don't want to spend a ton of money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gprimr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It was okay. Plenty of parking. A little bit of walking to boardwalk but good exercise. Wouldn't recommend if you have small kids who get tired easily & plan to go to board walk a lot. Koi pond was extremely shocking, bad upkeep and felt really bad for the fish (unclean no filter)! Need to work on that.. Nice because our room had view of the Jolly Rogers theme park, super close to water park. Near restaurants. Overall stay was nice!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 319alewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This past July of 2013, we stayed at the Rodeway Inn and we had a wonderful stay! Thinking back there's not one bad thing that I can say about it.. We stayed there for a week in mid July and the room rate was the best oceanfront rate I have ever found in Ocean City! The room was very clean and comfortable, there wasn't anything I needed to do to make us feel more at home.. Usually I feel the need to wipe and disinfect everything but I didn't really need to do that there.. The beds and pillows were very comfortable, and the bed linens weren't from the 1970's.. The furniture, kitchenette, and bathroom was updated. All in all it was a very good stay, I would definitely stay there again! Also, I have already recommended it to friends and family!

Room Tip: Continental breakfast is average, nothing fancy like a waffle maker..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChaCha1651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is our fourth time staying here and again it was enjoyable, was a last minute get away to the beach to squeeze in one last time before winter, got an oceanfront room the night before and went down this past Sunday. Got down early and was able to park there and enjoy the beach for a while before we got the room. Went back around three to get the key and the older gentleman who checked us in earlier remembered us from being there before and moved us from the second floor to fourth floor oceanside. I regret I never got his name but he always seems to be the one who takes care of us and he always does a great job. Oceanfront rooms above the first floor have a great view of the beach.
While the rooms are not the greatest they are clean and the beds are comfortable, who really spends a lot of time in the room at the beach anyway. Also the breakfast is not the greatest is free and the coffee is good.
All in all a good place to stay at the beach and will look to stay there in the future.

Room Tip: If you don't plan on using the safe let them know at check in or you will be charged, but again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobertb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The front desk staff were all friendly and very helpful. Flo and Ann were the housekeepers and they were very friendly and the rooms very clean. It was closed to many good restaurants like Coins to name one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bakaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#81 of 103 in Ocean City
109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seabonay Motel
Seabonay Motel
#72 of 103 in Ocean City
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#62 of 103 in Ocean City
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#7 of 103 in Ocean City
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Oceanfront Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Oceanfront Ocean City

Property: EconoLodge Oceanfront Ocean City
Address: 29th St. on the Ocean, Ocean City, MD 21842 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Oceanfront)
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 98
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Rodeway Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing