We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the Beach? Good Value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Ranked #34 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed here in late August and had a nice visit. The room & beds were comfortable. The hotel is in a nice location and has a nice beach area right in front. Having a refrigerator & kitchenette was convenient for drinks, milk & juice for breakfast. TVs and furniture were updated.

The room had some minor drawbacks with a broken door handle & lock in the bathroom. Ceiling fan in bathroom was hanging precariously. Maid service was just so-so as we had to change toilet paper rolls, and no new soap for the bathroom during the week. The outdoor shower had a large accumulation of wet sand that had built up over days if not weeks, making it hard to wash off your feet after returning from the beach.

Both the 45th Street Taphouse Restaurant & Bar & O.C. Steamer's Restaurant were located a block away and we enjoyed them both. Clambake dinner @ O.C. Steamer's was fantastic, and we loved the Taphouse for "Grapefruit Crush" drinks at the outside, bar that had a great band and beautiful sunset view of the bay.

Overall we had a good stay at this hotel, and would stay here again,

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms had great view on the balcony. Try to get a room on the 3rd floor or higher, for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear valued guest, thanks for staying with us and thanks for the great review! We have worked hard so you can enjoy your OC vacation. We have a great location and a great staff. Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was my first trip ever to Ocean City, MD. I researched a lot of hotels and for the week that I was going this was the best value. I think I got a better deal then some people. I booked in June 2012 and stayed from July 29th- August 3rd, 2012.

The hotel is located right on the beach, 45h Street. It was nice, little dirty out there but I guess it is expected. I liked how the lifeguard gave safety speeches and called people out of the water to hear them.

The hotel is right on the beach bus line which made it easy for traveling up and down the main street. It took about 10-15 minutes depending on traffic to get down to the Boardwalk by bus.The hotel was average. We were on the 3 floor and had a side balcony for a view of the ocean which was fine. The rooms were clean and had a kitchenette. We used the fridge for our drinks etc for the beach. The hotel was older and the halls were painted blue and yellow. The elevator door was fast to close. You had to be quick getting in and out or the door would close on you. Anyways, We were there just to sleep and shower. We were mostly at the beach. The pool closed the early, so no night swimming. I did see the guy checking the pool daily.

There was coffee and juice in the mornings, but we went to Layton's and to a little place just down the street called Satellite. So, don't; expect anything big in the lounge area.

I guess my only complaint would be the room service. We came back from the beach at 5pm and our room was not even done yet. I took at shower around 5:20 and it was room service. So, after my shower I went downstairs to let them know I am ready for them and they were like house cleaning is done for the day. We had this happen 2x where our room was not done and we are already coming back from our beach day. I over heard people at the pool saying the same thing. I think basically all they did was change towels and make beds.

The bed was ok but the other bed kind of sank in the center. Least the TV was updated and was a 32in and flat screen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjohnson76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn. The hotel interior has been newly renovated as of this year and the rooms have new furnishings as of last year. The bed's are one year old and the bed spreads are all brand new. We do apologize about the room service and will certainly be working hard to tighten up our operations. Stay tuned this Winter for great promotions on your next vacation. Thanks again for being our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We've been coming to OCMD since the early 80's and this was by far the most disappointing trip ever!! The hotel was grossly overpriced (we paid over $1400 for 4 nights, the "condo" with "separate" bedrooms was nothing more than an oversized hotel room that certainly didn't have any of the amenities that a condo would have, the cable was out most of our trip, which normally wouldn't be a problem except that it rained most of the trip, we had to actually call housekeeping to ask them to bring clean towels. They would take the dirty ones, but not replace them. They have more rooms than parking spots and that was confirmed by the security guard who works the lot at night. They actually called us on Saturday evening to move our truck, but had no where for us to move it to, so we refused! So then we were afraid to leave the property for fear that we would return and not have a place to park! In addition, this place is located on 45th street and the only thing that is really within walking distance with a 9 & 6 year old was Seacrets (for lunch), otherwise there is nothing around here. As I explained to my 9 year old, when we pay over $1400 for 4 nights, we have a certain level of expectations that tend to be slightly higher, and this place failed miserably!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solo0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear concerned guest, we are sorry you felt your stay was less than adequate. Our suites do offer a separate bedroom with a king bed, TV and furniture. These suites have an additional room with two queen beds, full kitchen, dinner table for four and are much like a one bedroom condo; pictures and descriptions are available on our website.

The Comcast issue was resolved ahead of schedule and was a city wide problem. There is nothing the hotel could have done better to resolve this any quicker.

We are truly sorry the weather was inadequate during your stay, this can most always put a damper on your experience.

Unfortunately we do only offer one parking spot per room. We did add 6 spots over the winter but we can still only guarantee one parking spot per reservation. There is plenty of parking in the surrounding areas around the hotel.

The location is in a great area with many family friendly restaurants closer than Seacrets, and within walking distance. The 45th st village is just a few blocks away along with Belly Busters as well. Within a few mile radius one can easily reach all the most popular attractions of Ocean City including Jolly Rogers, Trimpers, the Boardwalk and Northside Park, mini golf and more, without the hustle and bustle or price of staying downtown. This is why our midtown location is so attractive to vacationers.

The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn is priced well under other hotels in our competitive circle and we do pride ourselves on quality assurance. Were sorry the issues of Comcast, weather and mis-conception about surrounding attractions put a damper on your vacation experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

This place was amazing and I would definetly recommend staying here and plan on returning next year. The staff at the front desk were kind, curtious and always willing to help in any way they could. The rooms were beautiful with a nice size kitchenette, seating area & wonderful balcony(side view) with a view of the ocean and bay. The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff did a wonderful job. The hotel is located on the beach which was a plus. The beach was beautiful and well maintained. Also parking was always available which was another major plus. Looking forward to booking my next trip to this wonderful hotel. 5 stars *****

Room Tip: Book a room on the top floor. No noise and amazing view of the ocean and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpuccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed in one of the beach front rooms, and the view and the room were unbelievable. It was only a few feet from the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean. My only complaint was that they were not great on providing helpful info. The check in and check out times could not be found on the site or in the confirmation email. They were posted on the front desk when we arrived, but I had to call a few days ahead of arrival to find out. The pool was kind of small, and closed at 8, which also wasn't posted any where. It would have been nice had the sign said when it opened and closed, but oh well. Other than that the pool was great. The location was also amazing. Everything you need was in walking distance. It was a little expensive for my taste, but it is the middle of the summer and right on the beach. It was absolutely worth it though, and I would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear valued guest, thank you so much for the great review, and thanks for choosing The Atlantic Oceanfront Inn as your vacation destination! We pride ourselves on our great staff and fantastic location. Our apologies about the check in/out times and the information requested has been added to our website. We do encourage guests/future guests to contact us via phone or contact form on the website to request any information. The size of our pool is comparable to other hotels in the area. Thanks for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

The best thing is the hotel is right on the beach. The room is a
Good size. Great view. House keeping was good for the first 3you day
We put the "tip envelope" for housekeepong in the drawer
For when we leave....most people I know tip when they
Leave.....anyway after she left the second envelope
Our housekeeping service went out the window. We had to go
To the front desk for 3 days to get our towels for our
Showers. Housekeeping came well after 4 and on our last
Day it was after 5. She made the beds and threw the towels
On the bed. I wasnt expecting 4 star treatment, but maybe
A bit more for what I paid. The other problem is parking,
If you go out for the night make sure your back early
Or youll be hiking! Overall it wasnt bad. Just the little
Things that add up. WE will know better if there is a next time.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruthann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing the Atlantic Oceanfront for your vacation. We are sorry you had some issues with the housekeeping in your room, we guarantee we are working hard to resolve this issue and are going to make sure this never happens again. Thanks again for being our guest, we hope you choose our quaint hotel again so we can EARN your trust back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I thought that this place was going to be the banana inn, but it turns out for my 4 friends and myself it was THE PERFECT PLACE. We had our own bathroom, full kitchen, a nice sized balcony, and we were only on the 2nd floor with a side view of the atlantic ocean :). To add to the benefits, it was walking distance to Seacrets and they had their own beach area! There's a bus stop around the corner from the inn to catch to go to the boardwalk! The beds were also nice sized and the room was very clean! One car parking per room was the only downfall because we had 2 cars, but for a girls weekend, we will def. be coming here again!

Room Tip: 2nd floor wasn't bad at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsOBrien21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Atlantic Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear valued guest, thanks for choosing us for your vacation getaway! Not only do we offer some of the best rooms/views in Ocean City, we also have a great location close to dining and nightlife and one of the best beaches Ocean City has to offer! Unfortunately we can only guarantee one parking spot per room, but there is plenty of off street parking around the hotel. Thanks again for being our guest, we can't wait to have you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
686 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#23 of 104 in Ocean City
879 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Inn

Address: 4501 Atlantic Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £47 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Oceanfront Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great hotel under new ownership and management for Summer 2009! Located directly on the beach with ocean front rooms & balconies. Newly renovated rooms include flat screen TV's, pillow top mattresses, Fully equipped kitchens with refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffeemaker, and toaster. Hotel amenities include outdoor pool, post-checkout changing rooms, complimentary coffee, book & game loans, and a positive smiling staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atlantic Oceanfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Ocean City
Atlantic Oceanfront Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing