We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econolodge Oceanblock
Ranked #7 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Stephenson, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a family vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We recently stayed a week at this hotel and were very pleased with the friendly staff and hotel accommodations. We had a great view of the beach and the bay from our room (421). You could even see the Fenwick Island Lighthouse.The hotel is very quiet, close to the beach, and within walking distance to many shops and eateries. Must go to "Grab and Go Tacos" if you love Mexican! The room was clean and comfortable with a nice kitchenette. Just the right size for a family of five although it would be nice to have a small table on the balcony to eat on.This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Close to the beach with a pool and affordable for those who want to stay at the beach without breaking the bank! We did not eat at the restaurant or go to the bar so I cannot comment on that. We did go to the pool some at the end of the day for a change from the beach which was nice. I had read many of the reviews before arriving here and have found from our experience that this hotel, although is not perfect, was a great value. We will be back in the future!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genevieve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    63
    32
    9
    17
See reviews for
72
43
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed two nights in August, and it was a very pleasant experience. We don't usually go to OC during the summer months, and had a hard time finding something we could afford. We had a clean comfortable room, enjoyed the pool one afternoon, and ate our breakfasts at the restaurant. A short walk to the beach, Fisher's Popcorn, and the Fenwick Lighthouse. The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful, and we loved the location. The rooms are large, with a small kitchenette, sitting area, and table with chairs. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The north side was very quiet, away from the music and noise of the Tiki Bar, music, and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puffin126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yonkers, ny
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This place definitely had more pros than cons but overall-most afforable place if you want to be near the beach. The only major complaint I have is that I was charged $7.50 per room for a safe I did not use! My family of 6 had two rooms for 5 nights. After returning home, I called about the charge for the safe ($15 in total) and was told that there was a sign in the lobby upon check-in stating that if you don't want to use the safe, you must tell the staff. Really...after driving a long way, I have to look for a sign or I will get this outrageous fee. Not acceptable!

The housekeeping and front desk staff were extremely polite and helpful. The kitchen area could be cleaner but I feel that it is because the staff has too many rooms to clean.

As for the beds, the mattresses were old but ok. The only thing I didn't understand was that you had to ask for the pillows, top sheet and blanket for the sofa couch.

The best part of this place was the walk to the beach and the restaurant. The waitresses were extremely friendly and the food was delicious and reasonable. The only item we didn't like was the nachos. They just dropped a glob of half melted cheese on tostitos and they were not worth the money.

Finally, the pool would be a good size IF people didn't come from the beach and swim here. I truly feel that the lack of supervision allowed people who weren't staying here to use the pool without getting in trouble. The week we stayed was extremely crowed.

As far as the boardwalk goes- this is not near the boardwalk which we didn't mind but if you want the boardwalk it is at least a 1/2 hr drive.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with one room facing the pool and one facing the driveway. If you aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksg1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family has been coming to OC for over 22 years and had a very good experience at the Econolodge. We were greeted by very friendly staff which started the stay on the right foot. the housekeeping staff was excellent especially our new friend Laverne , a kind hearted and warm person who made us feel like we were staying with friends rather than a hotel. The rooms were clean and the walk to the beach was fine. The restaurant on the first floor has one of the best breakfast menu and the prices were fair. The kitchen made our stay easier. Wil stay here again

Room Tip: The odd number rooms are not on pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

And hair on the "clean" towels. And nasty desk staff who never even apologized for this. Finally the head of housekeeping came up to apologize. Makes the rest of the stay extremely questionable. We don't want to eat in the restaurant or swim in the pool, etc. i am actually shocked by the incident and the lack of accountability for it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbbiescreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This was our 1st stay here. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed including a kitchen. The staff were helpful, house keeps we're so very nice and accommodating as well. It was a very short walk to the beach. There were plenty of things to do close by... Mini golf, arcade, DD,restaurants , ice cream etc. and if you didn't want to drive downtown the bus station is diagonal from the hotel!! We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to our friends and family. This hotel was perfect for the price.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor on the end closest to beach and had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MILFDIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Econo Lodge 145th Street, Oceanblock. The Hotel was clean, accomadations were great and quiet. It was a short easy walk to the beach. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. Having a Kitchen was really convenient for some of our meals. It was pretty much fully stocked for cooking. The pool was great and a shower to rinse the sand off from the beach. The cleaning staff were pleasant and couldn't do enough. We felt very welcomed at this Hotel. We would definitely return and highly recommend it for friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curlygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
6.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#24 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Oceanblock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Oceanblock

Property: Econolodge Oceanblock
Address: 14502 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-4371
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge Oceanblock 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Oceanblock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Oceanblock Hotel Ocean City
Econo Lodge Ocean City
Ocean City Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing