We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Helpful staff. Breakfast included.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Ranked #32 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location. Helpful staff. Breakfast included.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Breakfast pros: Many options, including make-your-own waffles; English muffins and bread you can toast yourself; plastic-wrapped Sara-Lee sweet muffins; plastic-wrapped pastries; one morning there were hard-boiled eggs; coffee and tea (available all day); fruit (oranges, apples, pears); juices (cranberry, orange, apple, probably canned or reconstituted but they all tasted good); hot bacon; scrambled eggs; yogurt; condiments such as little containers of peanut butter and "buttery spread".
Breakfast cons: The scrambled eggs tasted like reconstituted powdered ones so I wouldn't recommend. No cream cheese for the muffins available when we were there. I would have loved some for my English muffin. If you like real butter bring your own.
Room pros: We had an oceanfront room and the view was lovely, overlooking all the kites that the next-door Kite Loft was flying. That was fun to see. The bathroom vanity had lots of room for our toiletries, etc. The bed mattresses and pillows were clean and very comfortable, and I'm very picky about these things. Small kitchenette with stove-top, microwave, and a really deep sink came in very handy. Comfortable Adirondack-style chairs on the balcony which I loved because I could set my coffee on the flat chair arms. Room was cleaned to my satisfaction with a few exceptions (see cons).
Room Cons: Bathroom towels were adequate but not as absorbent as they could be because they were a cotton blend. This is a typical problem of hotel towels, though. The water pressure is adequate but I wouldn't call it strong. When we arrived there were a few pieces of stray paper on the rug which was no big deal because the rest of the room was clean. My main complaint was some odd smell that came from the microwave. I cleaned it thoroughly before using it (the hotel provides a dish-cloth and dish-towel and also dish-soap) but still, the odd odor lingered for a while before going away. The plastic door to the freezer section of the refrigerator kept falling off and that was annoying.
Miscellaneous Pros: The staff was very accommodating, friendly but professional. The inside pool and the pool area was clean and the water pleasant (I'd describe it as being on the cool side of luke-warm) so I found it very easy to get used to. There were lots of towels in the pool area, on a cart.
Miscellaneous Cons: There is only one parking space allowed per room, so if you are meeting a friend then one of you will be offered, for $10 extra each night depending on availability, parking in their auxiliary lot, which is a block away next to a dark alley. There is mostly free street parking which I was very happy with, but be aware that in this section of O.C. the street block closest to the boardwalk is metered parking.
I would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it. (note: we did not use the outdoor pool but other guests told us it was cold).

Room Tip: For best view of the ocean shoreline, choose 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katrinka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    113
    61
    22
    10
See reviews for
126
90
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was basically what I expected for a comfort Inn and being at the shore. Overall we loved the King suite in the boardwalk building. We were able to park the car and come and go easily. All of the hotels in that location( including this one)are overpriced,as its seasonal. It was a typical Comfort Inn. My only real complaint was the pool. There were no steps to gradually walk into the pool...only 2 hanging ladders with bottom rung at least a foot or more up from the bottom. Anyone with back issues, knee problems or just older would have a difficult time, unless very physically fit. I couldn't use it and that was one of the criteria for choosing this hotel. I was extremely disappointed with that and will choose another hotel next time since part of my vacation plan was to enjoy the pool while I was there. Breakfast was ok. Terrible eggs but great waffles. Over all a good place to stay for location and convenience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chach777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Reading the reviews on this hotel seemed like it would be a great place to stay but I was completely wrong. I'm very shocked this place had so many nice reviews. The hotel was completly disgusting!!!! The halways were dirty and smelled horrible like wet mildew. The room was not much better... The bathroom was filthy, the towels in it were dirty, the shower was nasty and had hair from the prior guest inside of it.... The bathroom and bedroom both were moldy smelling. The carpet was dirty and the curtain to the outside patio was so filthy, it looked like the back side had something spilled all down it. We never even looked at the outside pool but the inside pool was GREEN with about 3 inches of dirt at the bottom of the pool. Even the outside drain pipes spilled out green slimmy stuff into the parking lot that smelled awful.... This was one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed at and for the high prices they charge for their rooms, it was entirely not worth it and I completly regret staying there!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Went with wife and kids. Room was clean except for filthy a/c filter and dirty vents. Also, pull-out bed had dirty sheets. Friendly and responsive staff. Lacking towels in indoor pool and water didn't look clean though they swore that it's checked twice daily.
Located on boardwalk at 5th street, next to the eclectic and wonderful Kite Loft.
Price was lower than most places in such a prime location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank navins888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I'm 58 yrs old and have stayed in many motels in my life for work and pleasure. My wife and I had never stayed here before, but after reading the reviews, we decided to give it a try. Very good location and was very pleased with the room. The only negative we found was the slow elevator. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountain_doo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Booked this hotel because of all the reviews stating that it was clean. It wasn't exactly dirty, but it could have been a lot better. Seems like they do a light surface cleaning. Tub looked clean when we arrived, but after one use, you could see it needed a good bleaching. Visible Mildew behind sink faucet. Complimentary breakfast was just OK. Lots of flies in lobby/breakfast area. Located right next to Hooters, and the fried food smell wasn't too pleasant. Indoor pool looked less than inviting. Stayed in City View building which was on the side street, not on the boardwalk - entry to this building smelled musty. Elevator and halls on the shabby, outdated side. Room was updated however. Stairs were musty smelling and unsightly. Location was convenient though, if you want to be on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My family usually comes to ocean city every year, and when we do, we make this hotel always a first choice. The location is great and the scenery is amazing. i know because we always choose the ocean view. The double bed rooms are spacious and well furnished. This isn't our favorite just for the rooms, we love the features that come with the hotel. They have an amazing indoor and outdoor pool. And the free continental breakfast is fine. The service is normal. All in all, its a great hotel to stay in, one i would find hard to regret.

Room Tip: you might want to go to the indoor pool, but its not directly connected to the hotel. the pool is pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushfiq Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Boardwalk
Quality Inn Boardwalk
#75 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#55 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Boardwalk

Property: Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Address: 507 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4167
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Hotel Ocean City
Comfort Inn Ocean City
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Ocean City Md
Ocean City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing