We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There was a reason it was cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“There was a reason it was cheap”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed overnight in OC on the way south to Assateague Island. It was the off-season and $50 a room seemed good (and many hotels are shut at this time of year).

On check in, the staff appeared annoyed to interrupt watching a movie and surfing Craigslist in order to check us in. When we came back alter that night after dinner, they did not even respond to us saying "good evening" as we walked past the desk.

My room was OK. However, clearly the bathroom had not been cleaned properly as there was a significant amount hair left in the bath/shower. The aircon/heater was located directly next to the bed, and was old and while it functioned, it was so noisy it kept me from sleeping initially, and then woke me up later in the night.

If it wasn't for the fact it was $50, I would have been upset. Given it was one cheap night, I just wouldn't go back. My co-traveler had a clean room (no hair in the bath), but had a similar problem with the aircon/heater noise.

On the up side, it is located well (in the high season). I used the gym and it fine for a cheap hotel. Breakfast was basic, but a welcome inclusion for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul80A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    116
    61
    22
    10
See reviews for
128
94
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed one night in early November with a side view of the kite loft. Room was super cheap. Rating this property as average is a stretch - mainly because of the price. the lobby was clean. Room smelled. Very musty / smokey. Bed was uncomfortable. the bathroom was clean / adequate. Even at $50/night I would pick another property. The location at 5th and the Boards is awesome if location is the only factor. Not much else positive to say. We did have to leave the balcony door open all night to offset the odor...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twig0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Chose the Comfort Inn Boardwalk because it was a smaller hotel and on the boardwalk (5th). Hotel was CLEAN and fresh. We were upgraded to ocean view which was so great. Large private patio with chairs and great for people watching. Wonderful large clean room with two (very comfortable) beds, pull out couch, sitting area and kitchenette. Woke up Sat morning to a beautiful day, grabbed coffee in the lobby then walked the boards for 2 1/2 hours...missed their breakfast which was too bad as it looked good but we had such a great morning , we didn't care!
Front desk attendant Wendell , there when we checked in and still there the next day, was nice to talk with and get scoop on town. Actually ALL hotel personnel we ran across were super. We will definitely be back.

Can't beat the off season prices and no crowds or lines for dinner..and be sure to catch the Winterfest of Lights at 127th Street now through Jan 1st.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to stay. Very clean rooms,great breakfast. Very nice employees. Thanks to Dan and Chris both very nice managers. The rooms have a nice kitchenette and sleeper sofas. Comfortable beds nice view. Indoor heated pool, its an all round notice hotel to stay in,

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Comfort Inn Ocean Front 5th Street...satisfied all of my hotel needs...Beds were very comfortable..I was surprised to find it had a Kitchenette that included a Stove, Microwave, and Refrigerator.even had dishes to include pots and pans....It is a smaller hotel with only 5 floors, but I like the smaller quaint hotels...gives it you a more personal touch..I will stay at this hotel again!! Hopefully longer than just 2 nights next time!!

Room Tip: Ocean View 5th floor is recommended for a Fantastic View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SONYA152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Location is excellent for his place with easy access to everything on the boardwalk. The ocean front rooms with balcony allow you to rise to the ocean waves and sun. You can enjoy the view from the balcony. However since smoking is not restricted on the balconies, if someone is smoking at a nearby balcony it can ruin your stay because even the room door cannot be kept open now as the smoke wafts in and smells up the room. The place should be completely non-smoking. People in non-smoking rooms should not be allowed to smoke in the balcony. They are likely to smell up the room also for the next guest and all the guests around them. During most of our stay the people next door were smoking on the balcony all the time and it ruined our first day. We talked with the management and they said they could not do anything about it since smoking was allowed on the balcony. That was quite strange for a non-smoking room! Otherwise the place has a lot going for it. It is a little cramped in the breakfast room and the elevator is slow. Off season prices were good. Not sure why there was a separate "resort fee" per night which was not included in the price when we booked through the Choice Hotels web-site. Beds and room was fine with a fridge, microwave and kitchenette.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rimjhim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, OH
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Comfort Inn Boardwalk in Ocean City MD is at 5th Street, right on the beautiful boardwalk by the beach. Very clean. We had a balcony overlooking the boardwalk, beach, and ocean. This is the friendliest, most helpful hotel staff I've every encountered. Darrin, front desk day shift, was terrific in helping us make the reservation, giving us a great view, answering questions, and doing anything he could to make our stay enjoyable. Chris Greenwood, front desk evening shift, was super helpful as well, constantly going above and beyond what I would ordinarily expect of the front desk. Marie in housekeeping took good care of our room and was so friendly - she made me feel "at home". The maintenance staff was great too, quickly tending to a minor issue. Breakfast is the typical Comfort Inn hot breakfast, eggs-bacon-waffles-yogurt etc., fare. Besides the beach and walking the boardwalk, be sure to checkout nearby Assateague State Park/National Seashore for stretches of undeveloped beach with wild horses roaming free.

Room Tip: The corner rooms on the north corner give the best view of the boardwalk since one can see far to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#48 of 103 in Ocean City
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3,218 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
1.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,120 reviews
3.0 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#38 of 103 in Ocean City
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Boardwalk

Property: Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Address: 507 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4167
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Hotel Ocean City
Comfort Inn Ocean City
Comfort Inn Boardwalk Ocean City Md
Ocean City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing