We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Plaza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Plaza Inn
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
central pa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed here fall 2011, clean place, great location, decent prices. We ate breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel, they didnt have everything on the menu and service was extremely slow. Other than that we would def stay here again.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the parking lot in the back of the hotel. it was nice view of bay and sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimike611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltim, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad we delivered on a couple of issues that were important to you and that was; “a clean place”, “a great location” and finally, “decent prices”. We take in pride in all of these features as it benefits everyone that stays here. I do apologize for the restaurant. Although the hotel does not operate the food and beverage it is leased out and we are in constant communication with the staff and owners of the TAPHOUSE so we can pass along any positive or negative feedback that we may hear. I know they were winding down a bit in the fall with the menu and staff especially after their first year of operation. Hopefully with the 2nd season getting ready to kick off, they may find that they might be able to remain open on a year round basis similar to the hotel schedule. If you liked the room overlooking the bay and the parking lot, you see one of our ocean front rooms. They are spectacular!

With Hospitality,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    301
    96
    51
    74
See reviews for
387
292
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

The location was great and the rooms were clean. The beds were also comfortable. Sadly, the restaurant's grill was broken, which meant a long wait for breakfast (which was good) the first morning and no restaurant the second morning. We also experienced some challenges with the neighbors in the room next to us. It was disappointing that it took numerous tries to reach the front desk staff. However, once we did, the manager responded promptly, took care of the situation and stopped by to assure us that all would be fine. Everyone was very friendly. The managers' special was a great offer that included wine, 2 glasses, and many food vouchers, including one for $40. You couldn't beat the price for this time of year (St. Patrick's Day). We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a room above the 2nd floor so that your view is not obstructed by the bathrooms (o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swhit618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltim, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Wonderful, more clean rooms, a great location and comfortable beds! I do apologize for the restaurant grille as the 9th STREET TAPHOUSE BAR & GRILLE just re-opened St. Patty’s Day weekend to begin their second year of operation. I guess all the bugs were not worked out. It does concern me that it took a number of times for you to call down to the front desk to alert my staff that there was an issue taking place in the room next to you. I do remember you as I was the one who responded and stopped by the room in question to address the situation with the occupants there and then your room to apologize and make sure everything with you all were OK. Again I am sorry and I certainly do appreciate you taking the time to report the disturbance to the desk so that it could be addressed and not get out of hand. Glad you enjoyed the Manager’s ESCAPE package that you had apparently booked. Hope you enjoyed the champagne and the souvenir glasses. I hope you return next St. Patty’s Day weekend.

With Hospitality,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We came to this hotel as part of a group of 10 families. The staff members involved in the booking process and check in were very helpful, especially GiGi and Denise. I had the opportunity to visit several different rooms while I was there with a group, and they were all very nice and very clean. We had the Dolpin 2 Suite and the layout was perfect and extremely spacious.

It was off-season, so the pool was not opened. However it did look very small and it is located in the parking lot, which is less desirable than one that is by the beach. But it personally doesn't bother me that much...I am there to enjoy the beach, not a pool!

We are in the process of working with Group Sales dept again to book another block of rooms for June. This hotel is a great value for your money.

- A very satisfied, repeat customer

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kalnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltim, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
I am not sure what group you were with but thank you and I hope everyone had as many positive things to say about the hotel as you did. I am happy check in went smoothly and quickly and yes GiGi and Denise and are both very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately as you mentioned, our pool is small and I would tend to agree, I would prefer it to be oceanfront but there are not too many in Ocean City that can be. Nonetheless, when it is open, it is clean and refreshing and only a few steps from the ocean! I am thrilled to hear that you are working with GiGi again to book another block of rooms in June. I also think that are price value of this hotel is far superior then any of our competition. See you soon.

With Hospitality,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Paradise Plaza is at great location 9th street and Boardwalk. Not far from the main area of boardwalk shops and restaurants.
We have been staying at Paradise Plaza inn since 2006.
The first year we stayed in the "Dolphin" suit it over looked the pool and slight view of the bay. The next visit we stayed on the 4th floor Ocean front, it was great! each time we stayed we had a different room, but really could not complain about any of them. One visit we did call late and were unable to stay in an ocean front room but we stayed in an ocean view room on the north side of the building... Not crazy about this view of the other hotel, side public parking and slight view of the ocean and boardwalk but the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The maid service never gave us a problem with our request. We did have one issue with the curtins in one room and the staff came to our room we showed them the issue and with in minutes they were taking the curtins down and informed us they would be replaced by the time we got back from lunch..Extra towels, soap anything you need their staff was always happy to accommodate you in every way. When we return to Ocean City we will be calling and making our reservations here at the Paradise Plaza Inn on 9th and boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ocean Front, its a little more expensive but worth it. Great view of the boardwalk and beach. Ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltim, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for all of your positive comments about the hotel. Your first impressions mirror those of most of our guests, the great location on 9th street and the boardwalk and in the heart of the main area for shops and restaurants. We certainly appreciate your loyalty to the hotel and that you have been repeat guests for so long. As you mentioned, the Dolphin Suites are nice and roomy but the view is not its primary feature. With 18 different room types you do get a wide variety of selection and views and unfortunately with only 89 rooms we do not have many of any one room type. I am pleased that you found housekeeping and the staff both friendly and accommodating and the rooms clean. We constantly strive to meet these expectations. We look forward to your next visit to Ocean City. Do keep us in mind and please mention our hotel to your friends and family.

With Hospitality,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I was recently at the Paradise Plaza Inn for a high school reunion. The staff treated us so well. The rooms were clean and exactly as promised. I think we took over the hotel and restaurant for the weekend, but no request was a bother or trivial. I would suggest this hotel to any of my friends. The rooms were spacious.

Had a great time and the venue and it's staff contributed to the overall reunion weekend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean front room! So nice to look out and see the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rethlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltim, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
What a great weekend. It seems that your entire group had a wonderful time despite the weather not exactly cooperating for being at the beach! We are glad you found the hotel, staff and restaurant up to your expectations. Hopefully you won’t have to wait for another anniversary reunion to come back to visit. Thank you for recommending us to your friends, we certainly do appreciate it.

With Hospitality,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montoursville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed in a oceanfront room on the 6th floor from March 1st to 4th. Ill have to admit I was a little disappointed with a few things, although I will say overall the hotel was good. First of all several of the amenities I was promised were not provided or not fully provided. Many of the channels on the TV were fuzzy unless someone wiggled the cable, the internet didnt work almost the entire time we were there (although the internet password was changed literally the 1st day we were there as we contacted the front desk the next day about it, it was still spotty the entire time and we should have been informed of the password change),the room safe was closed without a combination, and the refrigerator was broken and froze everything in the fridge portion the whole time. The front desk answered the phone only once out of atleast a dozen different times we called for our various problems. Another thing is that the floor was tiled which wouldnt have bothered me if atleast one picture on the website featured a room with tiling, its very misleading. Also not even the clock radio, a simple amenity, was not functional. All the numbers were just scrambled. Another big thing that grinned my gears was that the website clearly advertises "black-out drapes" as a feature which I liked until the morning came and the room was just overwhelmingly filled with light to the point that I bought a sleeping mask. Although in all fairness the ocean front side of the hotel is also where the sun rises, but it I really don't see how the drapes could ever be considered "black-out". Another biggie is that also under services listed is free local calls, when in the hotel room the phone said it was 50 cents a minute for local calls. Also around 1 or 2am I walked down to the front desk because they weren't answering the phone and there was a walkie talkie along with a little sign that said saying that the person was on their rounds and to push the button and say hello for assistance. I try not to be burden and I don't like to bother people so I just went back to my room. I know I could've pushed the button and got the assistance I needed but I feel like I shouldn't have to do that, it makes me feel weird forcing someone to come back to the desk and deal with some little problem and I'm sure I'm not the only human being who feels that way.

Now for the pros of the hotel. The room had a thermostat that gave you complete and total control, you could turn it to heat or a/c and adjust the temperature and clearly hear the unit click on. I like this because some hotels dont give you much control or dont allow to get very cold and I've had trouble sleeping other places. The beds were very comfortable. The room was very clean when we came in. The view was amazing and the location is unbeatable. You can walk like 10 feet and youre on the beach. The balconies had chairs. The robes were a very nice plus. The room came with plastic cups which was nice for when we got food delivered. The staff was also very nice. I am returning to this hotel for another stay this week and I'm hoping and expecting it will be better than my last.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltim, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that you were a bit disappointed with a few things. I am pleased though that despite a few issues, overall you did enjoy the hotel and you shared your positive experiences as well. I am sorry that you were unable to speak with anyone that could address your concerns while you were here as after reading some of them, most of them could have been corrected on the spot. I would like to know what room you were in so I could address the issues with the appropriate department. I am sorry about the TV fuzziness, the Internet, the refrigerator and the “jumbled” numbers on the clock radio. There is no question that the TV and Internet are provided by a third party and they did have to be called in to diagnose the problem. I am sure there are times at your house, as there are in mine, that the cable, TV or Internet isn’t working as it should and we have to summons a technician. I wish we could control these annoying inconveniences that we have come to expect but we can’t. I am honestly not sure why you were not able to contact the front desk as we had plenty of staff on. These other issues, although major concerns of yours, as they should be, could have easily been fixed on our part. As far as the blackout drapes go, all of our department heads have been in all of our rooms numerous times and none of us know of a room without them. We are now on the lookout for that room that is incomplete. Yes we do have a few rooms that are tiled, which many guests actually prefer but unfortunately we do have 18 or so different room types and we cannot show them all on the Web site due to space limitations. You will be happy to know that I did just place an order for new faceplates for the phones as I did see what you were talking about with the “50 cents per minute…” They have been corrected and in doing so, I also made locals calls free. The weekend you were here was the 2nd weekend that we had resumed 7 days a week operation. I know we did not have a full complement of staff back to work so what you experienced at the desk in the early morning could have happened. We have addressed the issue with all of our night auditors and how this behavior is unacceptable. I would like to assure you though that as we rapidly approach our season, we do have full time security that eliminates a night auditor from making rounds. As I mentioned earlier, thank you for your positive comments as well as you had mentioned many and you did focus on the unbeatable location, comfort, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff. Thank you. We look forward to your return.

With Hospitality,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

I just finished a painless reservation process with the front desk my helpers Name was Gi-Gi. Thank you so much for assisting me in my reservations for next month. I didnt feel any pressure or I didnt feel as if i was being rushed. Excellent Customers Service for the Booking aspect.

FYI: I will be checking in at the end of April. Stay tuned for part 2 of this review........


Claude

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoteltim, General Manager at Paradise Plaza Inn, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your 1st experience with the Paradise Plaza Inn with us and others. First impressions are always important and Customer Service is one aspect that I am constantly trying to stress to our employees and continually improve on. Gi Gi is very good and we are fortunate to have her. As much as we would like all guests inquiring about rates to book with us, we don't want them to feel pressured. It is human nature to shop the competition and we feel confident that we have the staff, product and price value that will keep guest coming back. We look forward to your stay.

With Hospitality,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.8 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Plaza Inn

Property: Paradise Plaza Inn
Address: #3 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Plaza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most ideal and premium located hotels in Ocean City. Sitting on the Boardwalk with a spectacular view of the Atlantic Ocean. Souvenirs, shops, burgers, ice cream and candy, all located on property! Grab the boardwalk tram or the city bus located on both sides of the hotel. An outdoor swimming pool, an in house restaurant and a customer friendly staff. Park your car and experience the entire beach resort by foot. It can't get any more convenient. From your private balcony, enjoy the sounds and smells of the ocean from the water, seagulls, suntan lotions and the food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Paradise Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Plaza Hotel Ocean City
Paradise Plaza Inn Ocean City Maryland
Paradise Plaza Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing