We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Combsberry Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great relaxing stay”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We arrived at Combsberry on Friday evening for a nice w/e getaway with our dog Max. We called ahead of time as we knew we would check in after hours. We arrived at 6ish and lights were left on in the cottage by innkeeper as she said she would. It is quiet pieceful surroundings. The oxford cottage was quaint and fitting for or stay with our little pup. We would have loved to see more of the innkeeper but we were out and about most of the day anyway spending time in St Michael and surround area. Breakfast was brought over each day in a basket with muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit and coffee. Very nice. I look forward to returning whenever we need to get away from hussle and bussle of DC area and work.

Room Tip: Any room facing the water would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DANNYBOY1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Okay...so I read the reviews and we didn't have the same experience. Yes...very quiet. Very very quiet and that was nice after a long couple of days of travel. We drove down the long gravel drive and it is like going into another world. We were greeted by a young girl (not the inn keeper). We were shown our room (the private cottage). It was quiet there and the cove is a nice place to read. You are all alone in the world. We drove into Oxford for dinner and went back to the Inn. Still no inn keeper. We enjoyed the quiet sitting on the porch. We began to lock up for the night...only to realize that while we could lock our door, we couldn't lock the front door to the cottage or an outside door to the cottage bedroom. We moved furniture to block the outside entrance. Have to say a little disconcerting with a family. The inn keeper brought breakfast to us the next morning in mason jars. Tasty. We were able to tour the house before we left and it is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BlessedTraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Seems the welcoming folks at Combsberry Inn have made some four legged friends...our Golden Retriever, Casey, also enjoyed both the cottage and surrounding grounds of this historic estate-turned-B&B. Thanks to Megan and Abby for making us feel welcome including the fruit and munchies in the little fridge. Suggestion to all: bring a bottle (or two) of wine and enjoy the patio in the late afternoon. We also included some brought-along cheese and crackers before our delicious dinner at Robert Morris Inn. Not sure the validity of this one but hubby (who never does this) dreamed/saw a young blond girl at the end of our queen bed in the cottage. Who knows? No bad feelings (but did seem to give him pause for thought!). FYI, I'm sure they'll address it but seem to have a small ant problem in the cottage. Very enjoyable and very close to Oxford with extra peace and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happywaterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I rented the Oxford Cottage so that we could bring our dog with us. Sadie's notoriously timid and we were a bit worried about how she would adjust to her new surroundings. Our minds were immediately eased when we met Megan. She asked our names and then our dog's name and greeted her. Our dog loved her! The same was true for Abby when we met her the next morning. Both ladies were friendly and wonderful! What we loved was the absolute peace and quiet that encompassed the property. It was like we were the only two people on the planet.

The breakfasts were delivered to our cottage on both days and were served in adorable Ball jars. The food was delicious and very filling. The cottage was clean and cozy and we were saddened when our trip came to an end. Although there were other guests staying at Combsberry while we were there, we were made to feel like we were the only ones on the property.

I'd highly recommend the Combsberry Inn to my friends and family and would return, without a doubt, again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sadiebug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is a lovely and secluded location, a true historic marvel built in 1730 but with all the amenities of today; the Carriage House where we stayed is more modern while the mansion is of course more traditional and historic. Loved the service, loved the breakfast, the Innkeeper could not have been nicer nor more knowledgeable about Oxford and about Combsberry itself. As for the review citing a bug "infestation," if you leave your window open and a light on and return hours later from dinner, you will have bugs, especially in a secluded area like this. Duh. Don't leave your windows open with a light on, just like you wouldn't at home! Beautiful place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jokeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We couldn't have found a more charming and friendly spot in the world. Not only was the Innkeeper sweet and accomodating, she was also filled with excellent ideas on how to make the most of our time in this quaint village of Oxford. The ice cream store she recommended was in fact the best we ever had.
The grounds were neatly manicured and the view at sunset was exactly what we had hoped for, romantic and relaxing. Breakfasts were exquisite ( she even took requests!) And our suite was more than comfortable and quite spacious. Everything was clean and functional, and truth be told, we didn't want to leave. We wanted to live there.
You are tucked back in the woods on the water with civilization not 5 minutes away but you would never know it. We saw deer, foxes, rabbits and even a raccoon. It was such a wonderful break from city life. We will definitely be back next year, perhaps even in the fall of this year. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Combsberry for 3 days in May. We stayed on a Monday through THursday and had the entire property to ourselves. We could not have been happier. We stayed in the Carriage House, which was very secluded and met all of our needs. Breakfasts and chats with Abby in the morning were the highlight of our day. The house and grounds were immaculate, the location was serene, housekeeping was outstanding and the breakfasts were out of this world. We normally stay at The Inn at Perry Cabin when we head to the Eastern Shore but will now be regulars of Combsberry.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
1.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
8.7 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
7.1 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
2.0 mi away
Robert Morris Inn
Robert Morris Inn
#2 of 5 in Oxford
243 reviews
13.2 mi away
Wades Point Inn on the Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combsberry Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combsberry Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Combsberry Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4837 Evergreen Rd, Oxford, MD 21654-1450
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Combsberry Inn! An elegantly restored 1730 English country mansion, carriage house and cottage nestled on 35 secluded waterfront acres. Spectacular water views from all rooms, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, private baths, dock, canoes and kayaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Combsberry Hotel Oxford
Combsberry Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing