We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Historic Hotel - but with up-to-date wonderful food!!”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely, Historic Hotel - but with up-to-date wonderful food!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My boyfriend and I just wanted a quiet weekend getaway before the hustle and bustle of the holiday season. We saw an article about the chef at Robert Morris Inn, and the deal that was offered for the hotel and dinner was too good to pass up. We ended up with the a room on the top floor, just under the eaves. It was perfect, even with the howling winds that night. We were very cozy, especially looking out at the choppy water. We loved it! The dinner that we got in the evening was more than fantastic! We got to choose anything off the menu for a full three-course dinner. The food was delicious. Even thought the weather was less than perfect, we still felt that we were far away from home and the hustle and bustle. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kesslkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianiglasgow, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
What a great review! Thank you so much as the staff read these avidly too and it goes a long way to motivating them.
It is a great omen when the Chef is also one of the owners, the food really should hit the spot and delighted it did.
We enjoy being busy so keep the prices "real" and yes the Leisure Packages are the best.
Thanks for your business and we look forward to you relaxing with us again soon!
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    73
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
28
164
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

My Mom & Dad stayed there in the late 50' & 60's. The visits were tied to my fathers goose hunting and was always accompanied with Julie and his wife. At the time Julie was the President of the NY AC and both he and my father were good friends.
As a young man pursing other interests, I was not present on any of their trips, but my father always told me about them. God, he loved that place! I promised myself , I would someday spend a night there.

That opportunity presented itself this past August when I needed to visit the University of Maryland- Baltimore. I asked my wife if she would like to join me - we pen three enjoyable days there and discovered the Eastern Shore of MD and fell in love with the area, just as my mother and dad had over 50 years ago.We loved the hotel, food and the "wait" staff, all were both friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billdougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The Robert Morris Inn in Oxford MD is very old (1710!) and it shows. The floor in the stair landing isn't even close to level. Doors are often quite short (people used to be shorter). And there is no elevator. But, it has been renovated and it has comfy beds, AC when needed, and even wireless (although their network was a tad anemic, at least from the 3rd floor). The wifi is the only in-room modern convenience, really. There are no telephones or TVs in the rooms. Furnishings are mostly antiques and rooms are varied as to size, especially size of bathrooms.

But the location great-- right on the Tred Avon River in quiet Oxford, but just a short ferry ride and drive from the more touristy St. Michaels. The food is great (there is a formal dining room and a tavern) and the staff were wonderful. The management of the Inn changed recently, and the new owners include a chef who knows how to put beautiful tasty food on diners' plates. Usually we make a point to get away from the hotel to eat, but at this Inn, we figured why leave? The food was great! If you want to get away from it all, this is a wonderful place to do it.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandAnglophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore MD
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Oxford MD is a beautiful place for a quiet getaway. We stayed two nights in the Bottle Cottage of the Inn. The cottage rooms are roomy and comfortable but in need of updating. The cottage is what might be called a story and a half house from the 1970's (?) which has been split in half. the large picture windows make the room very bright and the view of the river and ferry are terrific. The yard of the cottage, overlooking the water is a great place to sip some wine in the sun after touring the area or enjoying the water. The rooms of the main inn are historical but quirky. I think there is quite a bit of room for taking some of the quirky away, yet leaving the historic, casual charm. I was told that new ownership (3-4 months) is professional and is interested in moving the Inn toward its potential.
The bar area with its brick and wood decor, looks like a great place to enjoy a wintery afternoon, and was a pleasant place to have a drink before dinner on the brick porch surrounding the Inn. The formal dining room is large but also in need of some updating.
The food which has recently been updated by Mark Salter was terrific and the menu provided a nice choice of meals including some vegetarian offerings. The scallops were stunning and herbed in ways that I hadn't considered before. The rockfish over the chorizo-fennel-tomato ragout was also delicious. I could go on about the food, but it should be experienced. Ingredients seemed fresh and as labled on the menu were sourced from local suppliers.
The staff at the restaurant and the inn were also incredibly professional and welcoming without being cloying. Our ninja waiter at dinner, Eric, was one of the best waiters we have experienced, anywhere. He went about his business professionally and discreetly. His was service unseen these days at few but the finest restaurants. The entire staff could not be nicer or more professional.
The new owners are off to a great start. I believe that my rating can only go up in the future. I can't wait to go back and see the progress.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bay traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

New owners have brought great food to this isolated little village on the water, and the emphasis is now very definitely on the restaurant. There are certainly sumptuous meals to be had, but the owners need to put the same vision into the Inn to up their game.
They have inherited a heritage property and the rooms reflect that with roll-top baths and four poster beds, but there's not a sitting/resting room for guests inside where you can settle down with a book, a coffee or a newspaper -- and that is something that needs sorting out.
Instead -- during our visit -- the obvious contender, a room to the left of the front door, was set out as a private dining room and not used during the three days we were there. Meanwhile if you are staying in the Inn there's no communal space at all that is not about dining. The whole of the glorious old porch is laid out with dining tables, where as guests would love a section of it to be given over to rocking chairs with a view of the bay.
And there is a massive underutilised parking area out back, why not give over some of this space to a leafy garden with outside tables and chairs? Other stuff that inns on our travels offered, but not found here, included bikes to borrow, flasks of tea and coffee that could be taken to your room and boxes of board games.
Our other criticism was the air conditioning which was not up to the sticky summer temperatures at all.
So a glorious old property, offering great food, but right now I would stay down the road at the Sandaway , which has a lovely garden, beach area, and an outdoor summer house stacked with water and games, and head off to the Robert Morris for dinner or cocktails at the highly recommended bar.
Possibly a star of the future, but not at full shine yet.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwood, Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Dinner at the Robert Morris Inn was unbelievable. The Chef, Mark Salter, only recently opened the Inn to dinner and word has gotten around. We started with wine and weren't sure what we would like so the manager brought 4 bottles for us to sample. A nifty touch to ensure the satisfaction of the customer. For appetizers, we tried Chef Salter's Chesapeake Sample and Vietnamese Spring Roll. Both were fantastic. The peppered steak entre was only slightly overdone but the sauce made up for that. And we topped off our meal with the vanilla/chocolate custard (nicely light after a filling meal) and fresh peach trifle.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC82010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2010

With it's current casual atmosphere and fresh, upscale food, Chef Salter has created an absolute gem. My husband and I came with another couple tonight fot the first time and were impressed from start to finish. The rockfish and crab, all local, were divine and the deserts were a fresh summer time treat. Our server Jo anticipated every need we had and we never had to ask her for anything. With her service she was delightful and knowledgable and we will be back again in the future. Thank you Robert Morris Inn!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
40 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
447 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Property: Robert Morris Inn
Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing