We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service, beautiful place to stay”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb service, beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This Inn came highly recommended and did not disappoint. The lady taking our booking explained that the cabin rooms were small, but we were happy and comfortable in ours and who needs a TV anyway? Pack a book instead, although there were plenty of magazines provided. Loads to explore in the area, and don't forget to take the Oxford/Bellevue ferry if you're heading to St Michael's. The winter leisure D, B & B package is unbeatable value, and no part of the menu is off-limits, such a welcome touch. The whole dining experience was a joy, from delicious, freshly prepared breakfasts, to truly memorable dinners in the tavern area. The wait staff were friendly and attentive, knew the menu/ingredients well & worked well as a team. The owners are clear in their aims, working to establish this unique, historical place at the head of the gastronomic field. They got our vote, 100%. Thank you for a great weekend and particular thanks to Chef Salter for making my 78-year-old father's special savoury.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yingonthewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
What a generous and kind review, much appreciated and our staff love to read them too! Mark and I are so pleased you appreciated the great value for money we offer and having worked in Scotland and having a Scottish wife, Mark relished the opportunity to do the savories. Having Mark as a Chef partner is such a blessing as he truely is a master of flavor and champion of regional produce. Our thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Mark & Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    71
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
28
161
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Robert Morris Inn is a fantastic place to stay. Not your normal hotel, no tv in the room, a refreshing change. Old fashion comfort that was fun for our one night stay. The best part of staying here is the dinning. Fabulous food in an elegant manor, or in a rustic inn, or eat out on the patio. Whatever you do be sure to have their Crab Cake, best ever. The town of Oxford is just a sleepy old town on the Trad Avon River, not a lot to do here ,but just walk and relax in the park on the river. if you have never been on an old style ferry be sure to take the trip. Love the town have been here many times.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richar37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a gracious and kind review. Mark and I are thrilled you had such a good time. Having Mark as our Chef and owner ensures terrific cooking and the Inn is such a great building in such a peaceful and historic town. We try to rest the weary and feed the soul!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We have been coming here for years as my family has a summer home here in town. So sad to see it close down a few years ago. However it is now better than ever. We came for lunch and had a very pleasant surprise,we chose to eat indoors in the tavern where the food was fresh and nicely presented. I had a soft shell crab sandwich, which was encrusted I believe with a wonderful crunchy panko bread crumb which was fried to perfection, not greasy at all. The cole slaw was creamy with an unusual touch of cheese added to it. My husband had a chicken panini which he said was one of the best he had, thin crust with spinach, fresh tomatoes and cheese toasted to perfection. The service was pleasant and we won't hesitate to keep coming back when we come back on the Eastern shore

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Pebblecreek_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianiglasgow, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Many thanks for your generous comments. So much more valuable when coming from a guest who has visited for so long. Our Chef Partner Mark and his brigade enjoy reading such comments. Many thanks for your business and support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Robert Morris kind of exemplifies the Eastern Shore of Maryland. It has understated elegance mixed with unpretentious atttentiveness. My room was very comfortable, and I was happy that there was no TV (a great break from dawn to bed CNN and ESPN). The restaurant would hold its own against the top competition anywhere. (The crab cake is the best I've had and the Smith Island (peach) cake is fabulous.) Check out the Leisure packages for Sunday and Monday. You won't find a better deal.

Room Tip: All the rooms are probably nice; mine was
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianiglasgow, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
Wow . . . what a great review and it really reflects everything we want The Inn to be recognised for. So many thanks and best wishes. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Mark and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My boyfriend and I just wanted a quiet weekend getaway before the hustle and bustle of the holiday season. We saw an article about the chef at Robert Morris Inn, and the deal that was offered for the hotel and dinner was too good to pass up. We ended up with the a room on the top floor, just under the eaves. It was perfect, even with the howling winds that night. We were very cozy, especially looking out at the choppy water. We loved it! The dinner that we got in the evening was more than fantastic! We got to choose anything off the menu for a full three-course dinner. The food was delicious. Even thought the weather was less than perfect, we still felt that we were far away from home and the hustle and bustle. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kesslkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ianiglasgow, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
What a great review! Thank you so much as the staff read these avidly too and it goes a long way to motivating them.
It is a great omen when the Chef is also one of the owners, the food really should hit the spot and delighted it did.
We enjoy being busy so keep the prices "real" and yes the Leisure Packages are the best.
Thanks for your business and we look forward to you relaxing with us again soon!
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenville, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

My Mom & Dad stayed there in the late 50' & 60's. The visits were tied to my fathers goose hunting and was always accompanied with Julie and his wife. At the time Julie was the President of the NY AC and both he and my father were good friends.
As a young man pursing other interests, I was not present on any of their trips, but my father always told me about them. God, he loved that place! I promised myself , I would someday spend a night there.

That opportunity presented itself this past August when I needed to visit the University of Maryland- Baltimore. I asked my wife if she would like to join me - we pen three enjoyable days there and discovered the Eastern Shore of MD and fell in love with the area, just as my mother and dad had over 50 years ago.We loved the hotel, food and the "wait" staff, all were both friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billdougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The Robert Morris Inn in Oxford MD is very old (1710!) and it shows. The floor in the stair landing isn't even close to level. Doors are often quite short (people used to be shorter). And there is no elevator. But, it has been renovated and it has comfy beds, AC when needed, and even wireless (although their network was a tad anemic, at least from the 3rd floor). The wifi is the only in-room modern convenience, really. There are no telephones or TVs in the rooms. Furnishings are mostly antiques and rooms are varied as to size, especially size of bathrooms.

But the location great-- right on the Tred Avon River in quiet Oxford, but just a short ferry ride and drive from the more touristy St. Michaels. The food is great (there is a formal dining room and a tavern) and the staff were wonderful. The management of the Inn changed recently, and the new owners include a chef who knows how to put beautiful tasty food on diners' plates. Usually we make a point to get away from the hotel to eat, but at this Inn, we figured why leave? The food was great! If you want to get away from it all, this is a wonderful place to do it.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandAnglophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Property: Robert Morris Inn
Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing