We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Townsend, DE
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delightful Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I recently stayed at the Inn with a long time friend and we both enjoyed our 2 night stay. The historic inn was built in 1710 and wears her age with a quirky beauty. We were in room 10, two twins and a sitting room with a couch and easy chair. Breakfast was included, and simply excellent. Feel free to ask for a washcloth.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerrimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments following your visit to our Inn. Delighted you enjoyed your experinece and yes, if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable customers need only ask and our wonderful team will do all they can to make you stay memorable.
Regards
Mark and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    70
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
26
156
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

As the other reviews relate, it's an historic building - with all that that entails. If your expectation is an antiseptic/cookie cutter modern facility, you're probably not reading this review, anyway. Our room (#25) was very nice: King bed, sitting room and private bath w/shower and sepatrate tub. OK, some of the paint was peeling on the ceiling and the wall paper was showing some seams; but, if you value character and a magnificent location, don't be put off. The place is 300 years old! We had dinner in the dining room and it was excellent; limited menu, but both my wife's and my meals were excellent and reasonably priced. Had a nightcap at the bar and talked baseball with the bartender (a very knowledgable lady). The included breakfast was likewise excellent. Everybody on the staff was great. Bottom line, slow down, decompress and taste a little history. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tipflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your experience at the Inn and your closing comments perfectly highlight what we are hoping to achieve for our customers. Relax, "unfrazzle" and unwind! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Rgeards
Ian and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We also received a Living Social coupon from our son for two nights, including afternoon tea and breakfasts. The weather was cold for March with a stiff wind creating white caps on the river beside the Inn. We enjoyed tea immediately after we checked-in. Another couple was enjoying their own wine in the parlor where tea is available with scones and cookies. The time passed quickly and the cookies were hard to limit in consumption. Dinner in the Tavern offered many great sounding entrees. We settled on a special of Surf and Turf which was excellent. The wine list was extensive and included some moderately priced selections. We shared a special dessert of meringue with Chantilly cream and fresh berries which was memorable.
Breakfast of Belgium waffles and Eggs Benedict with crabmeat was delicious and filled both of us. Friends from Salisbury joined us for our second night and we enjoyed tea and ate dinner again in the Tavern. Three of us ordered the crab cake. All three of us felt this was a disappointment. Plenty of crab, no filler, but bland.
The following days' breakfasts were another Belgium waffle and poached eggs with ham. Both were very satisfying.
We had room 1 above the office. The room afforded a view of the river and ferry dock. A loveseat, two chairs and a coffee table were not crowded against the double bed with two nightstands. The bathroom appears to be a converted closet. Very small sink and a shower stall that made a shipboard shower appear large by comparison. Our friends had room 17 on the third floor which had a claw foot tub, a larger bed and reportedly a small shower stall.
I have saved the best for last - the staff. We did not meet the chef, but everyone else, desk staff, husband and wife owners, dining room manager, bartender, wait staff and housekeeper. Everyone was interested in our stay being as enjoyable as possible. Oxford did not appear to offer much as to activities in March. We would definitely consider staying at the Inn future.

Room Tip: Some rooms have water view. Ask about the type of bed in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Many thanks for your thorough feedback and we really appreciate the comments. We do have a fabulous team of staff here who genuinely care and we are pleased you enjoyed your experiance. Food is just one of the many reasons to visit The Inn and in the Winter, no better time for that and our roaring fires. We look forward to your return.
Regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,882 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,859 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had a Living Social coupon to stay at this 1710 inn for 2 nights. It is like being part of history. The original building was built in 1710 and was bought by Robert Morris, Sr. in 1738. His son, Robert Morris, Jr., who lived here for a few years, was famous as the "financier of the Revolution" and a signer of both the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution. Morris Sr. died in an accident in 1750. Over time the building was enlarged and became an inn. Part of the original building is incorporated into the present inn.

The place is quaint and charming with old wood, some slate floors, large murals showing the history of the area. We stayed in a Captains room on the 3rd floor-#25 (there is no elevator). There was a sitting area, bathroom with a tub and a separate shower and a large comfortable king sized bed with 5 pillows--very pleasant accommodations. The room is toward the rear and does not have a view of the water. Some rooms have views and some have fireplaces.

The TV is in an old fashioned lounge in the front of the inn. Delicious afternoon tea is served there from 3 to 4:30 PM--very tasty scones and jam and clotted cream--like a touch of Britain.
A terrific sit down breakfast is served in the tavern from 8 to 10 AM and is included with the room. You can order anything from the menu totaling up to $18 per person. There are many choices including omelettes, eggs and meats, french toast, etc

We really enjoyed staying at the inn in this small seaport town. The inn faced the bay and is right across from the ferry landing (the ferry was not operating in the winter). The only problem we had was with the intenet. We were told at the desk that they had wifi--we found that it did not work on the 3rd floor, but was supposed to work in the lounge area--our tablets and computer indicated that we were connected, but still could not get on the intenet. Not a major issue since overall we enjoyed the inn and the area so much.

We also want to commend Mark Salter, the proprietor and chef. He was charming and helpful and went go to each table to speak to the guests. Make sure to check out the great restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience at The Inn and thank you for choosing to visit us. Our building is indeed very special and little "messed" around with even since 1710, a very unique part of American history and situated in a similalry historic, unspoilt and charming town. We remain mindful that we are only guardians of this building for a moment in time.
Mark really enjoys escaping the confines of his kitchens to meet and chat with guests and the winter is a great opportunity for him to do just that.
We will continue to perfect those modern convieniances that challenge us and one day the wifi will be awesome everywhere in the building. We look forward to your return.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed there past two nights. So much history and such great information available. The Chef and proprietor, Mark, not only prepares wonderful food, but visits with his guests. We had terrible rainy weather, but the warmth of the place and the excellence of the meals, plus afternoon tea, made our stay a delight. I noticed another reviewer mentioned lack of a/c, but all rooms are air conditioned. We were also pleased to be allowed to bring our dog along. Lots of great places to walk or sit along the shoreline. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Our room was in front and overlooked the water and the front. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethz1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments, they are much appreciated by all. So pleased you enjoyed your experience at the Inn and we enjoyed your company. This is a wonderful part of the Eastern Shore with so much to see and do, beyond our doors.
Best wishes,
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Bought a LivingSocial voucher for a two-night stay in off-season. Staff were friendly and the food in Salter's Tavern was very good. Afternoon tea and breakfast included with the room and that is a good value. The Robert Morris Inn (dating from 1710 as a residence) is very old, and one expects a certain lower level of comfort. The Admiral's Rooms are pictured on the website. The Captain's rooms are one floor further up and much smaller. The in-room bathroom was well-done, clean, and modern. The only thing we didn't care for were some of the furnishings. Those in our room seemed to be (literally) children's furniture, which meant the chair and love seat were quite uncomfortable, and the mattress sagged to one side. Furniture/furnishings in the common areas were worn and could use some re-upholstering. Oxford is a pretty little town but little is open in the off season. Also ate in Pope's Tavern (Oxford Inn) and the food and ambiance was very good, with friendly staff.

Room Tip: Admiral's Rooms seem to be larger and better appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KirkinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
So pleased you appreciated the value on offer over these winter months. It certainly draws new people in to Oxford and this wonderful part of the Eastern Shore. Little spoilt and little changed this is an area full of history, character and charm. Our Inn too reflects this charm and we do appreciate that is not to everyones taste. We thank you for your comments and will certanly keep them in mind as we go forward into another season.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westminster, md
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My wife and I spent an overnight at this very quaint b&b in Oxford. Our room was fine and dinner and breakfast on Sunday were both incredible. Without A/C I cannot imagine how warm the rooms are in July and August, so I`m glad we were there in February. My only request would be a pot of coffee in the study in the morning for us early risers. Other than that it was very nice.

Room Tip: The ferry from St Michael to Oxford does not run in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainLar64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear Captain
Thank you for visiting our Inn and delighted you enjoyed it and the food in particular. We do actually have airconditioning units in the rooms for the hotter months. So you could consider returning then and the breeze coming right off the Tred Avon cools on even the hottest day. We will certainly keep in mind your suggestion for the early coffee, which we do provide if requested the night prior.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#4 of 4 in St. Michaels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Oaks Waterfront Inn and Events
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Property: Robert Morris Inn
Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing