We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful waterfront inn in a cozy Maryland town”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful waterfront inn in a cozy Maryland town”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Robert Morris Inn and we were extremely pleased overall. Even during the offseason, the Chesapeake offers a gorgeous backdrop. The town of Oxford is tiny and therefore does not provide much in terms of shops and dining, especially during the offseason. The inn however, has an excellent tavern and restaurant. We were planning on eating there for dinner on the first night and trying another restaurant in nearby Easton on the second night, but we enjoyed the food so much we eat there both nights. We highly recommend the lamb shank, crab cake, and prime rib Sundays (so delicious). The waitstaff was a little slow on the first night, but we weren't in a hurry luckily. However, another gentleman, presumably a manager, was extremely helpful to us throughout our experience. My husband is a HUGE Syracuse fan and the manager was extremely attentive and kind enough to provide him with score updates and a channel change while we were waiting at the bar.

We stayed in one of the Bottle rooms with a waterfront view. The room was cozy, but the bed was a little uncomfortable (very firm). The inn however, was also able to accommodate our very large dog, so that was a key factor in choosing it in the beginning. There is a $25 pet cleaning fee, but no weight limit. Works for me.

Breakfast was also excellent. Served in the tavern, guests are given an $18 breakfast credit which we did not exceed either day. Brunch on Sunday provided more lunch options, but the lunch and dinner menu seemed quite repetitive. I understand the inn is small though. The food was excellently prepared though, and I particularly enjoyed the fresh butter and house-made berry preserves served with my toast. Also, excellent scones at tea time.

Lastly, one word of caution to those coming in the from the west. We drove in from DC and our GPS navigated us to a ferry. The ferry only operates March-November, so we had to backtrack a bit.

Overall, the service, food, and experience were excellent and we would gladly return and recommend for a relaxing weekend getaway.

Room Tip: If you want a TV and/or a pet friendly room, make sure you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you so much for your thorough and generous review, it is much appreciated. Our thanks to you for your comments and our staff join us in thanking you also. We are very appreciative of our wonderfull team.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    71
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
28
161
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Oxford is our favorite place on the Eastern Shore. We discovered Oxford almost 15 years ago and continue to return several times a year. We have tried several inns and B&B's in Oxford, Easton, and St. Michaels, but the only place we stay now is at The Robert Morris Inn.

We love the atmosphere of the charming inn and especially the staff. They are very accommodating and friendly.

The view of the Tred Avon is breathtaking from the outdoor patio during the summer months. But this time of year, it is nice just to sit in the tavern by the fire and share a bottle of wine with friends.

If you are looking for a weekend getaway from the DC area I recommend the little town of Oxford, MD and especially the Robert Morris Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we are indeed most fortunate to be located in one of the most historic, untouched and charming towns on the Eastern Shore. Combine that with America's oldest Inn and it is a great pairing to combat the stresses of a modern life. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This was the third or fourth time we stayed at the Inn. My mother arranged for two rooms for us and a dinner and breakfast package. From the first email she sent to Ian (who I believe is one of the owners) to the day we checked out, we had wonderful experiences. The food was exceptional and the wait staff and Inn staff were fantastic. The quaintness of the lodge and the views made it especially enjoyable as well. We loved the dining rooms with the fireplaces and the afternoon tea. We plan to visit the Inn again next year and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet getaway in a spectacular setting.

Room Tip: We all had nice rooms. Even the smaller rooms had a sitting area and were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience at our Inn with fellwo travelers. As an owner it is very nice to be "meantioned in dispatches" and the staff also join me in thanking you. For those who know about them our Lesiure Break packages are a great value, particularly at this time of year. It was a pleasure to look after you and we look forward to your return.
Regards
Ian & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and wanted to get away but still stay close to home (Newport News, Va). We found the Robert Morris Inn online and love the scenic and old history surrounding this Inn and place. We walked around the neighborhood and viewed the historic homes and beautiful pier and bay area. We spent one night there and loved hospitality, creaky floors and the room was magnificent. We ate a very well prepared dinner comparable to the ones we ate in Vegas at Emeril's restaurant. We woke up pretty early to head back home and still was greeted by a friendly hostess and was served the best filling breakfast I had a long time. We will definitely come back in the spring and summer to view to boats, beach and beautiful scenery. This place is definitely a hidden diamond in the ruff and I am very happy I had a chance to experience this historic place and inn.

Thanks again,

James & Diana Clark

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chief44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Chief
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments. We are so lucky to be the guardians of this historic gem of a building. Fortunate too to be located in such a charming and idylic town such as Oxford is. We have great staff and they will appreciate your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We were a little nervous about our stay at the Inn. Though most of the reviews were good, there were some question marks. Having booked through a discount site, I was prepared for a really small room, but when I asked if there was a chance at an upgrade, they told me that they had already arranged that! The room, a "captain's;" was very nice -- clean, spacious (a sitting area along with a nice sized bedroom and bath), and a nice view of the water. And warm for this December day! The staff were incredibly friendly, helping with suggestions for things to do and directions to places we wanted to go. Yes, this is an old (very old -- 1710) building with all the character and quirkiness you'd expect, but that was one reason we chose it. The location could hardly be better -- the end of the main road in town, right on the water, next to the ferry, with a nice quite street to walk along the water.

Probably most memorable was the finely displayed and most scrumptious breakfast -- free of charge with a very generous voucher -- all next to a warm fireplace. My wife enjoyed a hearty Belgian waffle and I a luscious Eggs Benedict.

We've already told friends and family about our delightful visit, and we'll be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davevm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Dave
Thank you for joining us on such a special occasion, particularly in light of reservations you may have had. Absolutely delighted you enjoyed your experience. Ours is an iconic building in a uniquely historic town. We look forward to your return.
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice to appreciate the simple yet most important things in life at The Robert Morris Inn. Refreshing and relaxing to not have a phone or tv to distract me from enjoying the beauty of the historic town and it's wonderful proximity to the water.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMCjr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear RMC
Many thans for your generous words and kind comments. Delighted you continue to enjoy your experiences with us and we are gratefull for your business. We look forward to your return and have a fabulous Thanksgiving.
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just stayed at the Inn this past weekend and they gave us a complimentary room upgrades for two rooms for two nights because they has some last minute weather related cancellations. The hotel is very nice, but admittedly old, which is what we were looking for. In older hotels, amenities such as wireless and TV in the rooms are not always avail, and we were ok with that. The rooms were immaculate, the hotel bar & restaurant were excellent, the food (a bit pricey) & service were outstanding, including a very nice breakfast and the staff was more than accommodating at every turn. Thanks for the nice stay and the upgrade. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Mike
It was a pleasure to look after your group and thank you for your business. In this day and age of homogenized hotel experiences iconic and historic Inns like ours offer a great alternative. So pleased you recognise this too and we will continue to add services and upgrades to make that experience more enjoyable.
Have a great Thanksgiving,
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Property: Robert Morris Inn
Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing