We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Robert Morris Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Oxford Inn(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. Michaels Inn(St. Michaels)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
131
78
26
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
78
26
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe tred avon riversconeseastern shorebottle cottagesitting roomrobert morriscooking demonstrationincluded in the room pricemy husband and ibreakfast was includedchef markmark salterno elevatorhollandaise saucea living social dealhistoric propertythird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The RMI was all that we imagined. Quiet, scenic, luxurious, romantic. No phone or TV in our bungalow. Terrific local restaurants to compliment RMI's own crab cakes. Take the ferry over to Bellevue for more interesting shopping and food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Larry
Thank you so much for joining us at the Inn and for your kind words of praise. Appreciated and shared with our wonderful team. Ours is a pretty unique historic Inn, vintage rooms and warm Eastern Shore welcome and so perfectly situated in this charming old colonial town. Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a wonderful time celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Bouchaine Dinner! Waking up every morning overlooking the water, having breakfast in the tavern, sipping afternoon tea in the Tred Avon Room are part of what you can experience with your stay! Very romantic! Evening or early morning strolls are a delight! This was our 2nd stay at the inn and we do plan returns! The Bouchaine dinner was fabulous and a culinary delight! Heck with the wine, the courses served were unbelievable. Thank you Ian & Mark, your family members, and all the exceptional employees for you make the experience of staying at the inn such a memorable one! Joe & Kathi

Room Tip: The rooms are reflective as to the history of the inn and as such you experience history and authenticity with the modern amenities of indoor plumbing!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Kathleen
Thank you for returning at such a special time and so please you enjoyed your experience. The Bouchaine wines really punch above their weight and Mark loves pairing on those dinners. We will be publishing a new Winter Wine Series in about two months, keep an eye on the web site.
Regards
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We went as a family of four and ended up with wonderful, restful sleeps, decadent dinners and breakfasts, afternoon teas with cookies/scones to die for and a view of the river. The staff were friendly, rooms clean, history in every corner and nearby attractions. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmarchlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear "cmarchlong"
Delighted you all enjoyed your vintage experience in our historic Inn. It is quite unique and so perfectly positioned in this charming colonial town. Check out our Leisure Breaks on our web site when next contemplating a visit, great value and include all the decadent meals you enjoy.
Regards
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We needed a quick get away just to unwind and relax. The Robert Morris Inn was perfect. Very comfortable, clean and the service was great. We had a great view, overlooking the water. Couldn't have asked for a better view. We had a fantastic dinner at the tavern (which is part of the Inn). Everything was delicious - but I highly recommend the crab soup... absolutely fantastic. Our breakfast the next morning was also great. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.
The town of Oxford didn't have too much to do. But if you want a restful, relaxing getaway - this is the place.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront if possible.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JilleefromPhilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Jillee
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments. We do our very best to feed the body and calm the soul, providing a certain peace in an ever increasingly stressfull world. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

First I must state that the Inn is over 300 years old and the current owners have only had the property for three years. The service is excellent and the facility is very clean. There is a tavern attached to the Inn and you go there for a very good breakfast. I am hoping that the current owners have plans to update the facility. The furniture is older and a mix of different styles. We had what is called a Captain Suite (Room 10) on the second floor. I think these rooms are in a part of the building that was added to the original building, The floors are not completely level and some of the furniture definitely needs to be replaced. Some of the furniture is worn through. Our bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed that left just a tiny bit of room on the one side to get out. A queen size would have fit the room much better. The wallpaper needs to be replaced and the carpet in the sitting room either replaced or cleaned. It was still a wonderful stay because of the hospitality and cleanliness. We visited in February and it was very cold outside and windy. However, inside was warm and toasty. The town is small and was very quiet. The Inn is located right on the water with wonderful views. There is a sitting room on the first floor if you want to watch TV. If you don't mind mismatched furniture, this is a wonderful place to stay to peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcd0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Many thanks for choosing our Inn and for sharing your experiences with fellow travellers. We take your comments in the spriti offered and are delighted you enjoyed your experience. Our rooms are vintage and we do celebrate that, and have a wonderfull team to look after them. That said we do intend to start updating them gradually over the next eighteen months.
Again, our thanks and best wishes
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews