We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary getaway”
Review of Robert Morris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robert Morris Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Anniversary getaway”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Recently enjoyed a pleasant overnight stay at the historic Robert Morris Inn, Admiral Room 17 situated on the 3rd floor. As we would rather stay in older historical places we found the Robert Morris Inn to be delightful. The Inn is conveniently located along a peaceful and quiet street which ends at the historic Oxford Ferry. The room was sizable with a king bed and comfortably furnished. While there may be a few imperfections with the wall coverings and creaky wooden floors, its what you would hope to find in a building dating back to the early 1700's. Dinner and breakfast at the Inn's Tavern was wonderful, great staff, great food, outstanding and relaxing environment. Enjoyed a walk along the beach prior to the afternoon tea with selections of cookies and scones.

Room Tip: For Robert Morris Inn guests, remember your breakfast meal cost are included in your stay, up to $18...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dovo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for visiting our historic Inn and sharing your experience with fellow travellers. Room 17 is one of the very original bedrooms of the Inn so is over 300 years old. Not a straight line or right angle anywhere, vintage and charming. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    71
    25
    15
    5
See reviews for
28
161
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My very thoughtful husband surprised me on our 33rd anniversary with a night at The Robert Morris Inn, This stay was in a "cabin room"- small but comfortable. The room was at the end of the hallway, and very quiet. We enjoyed afternoon tea with other guests-- tea, scones and cookies in the parlor, which overlooks The Bay. Staff was friendly and helpful. As with Inns, there is no in-room television, and no wi-fi--- a welcome escape from technology, although we watched The Preakness for 15 minutes in the parlor. Dinner was superb, and the included breakfast was absolutely terrific. (see review of Salting's Tavern- the onsite restaurant)

Oxford is a very quiet little town. For those who would like some more daytime action, it is easily accessible by road and ferry to St. Michael's which features shops, micro-brewery, wine tasting, and restaurants, as well as the Chesapeake Maritime Museum.

We stayed at the Robert Morris Inn on our wedding night, in a lovely cottage annex, that is apparently no longer owned by the Inn. Unfortunately, we arrived quite late, and needed to leave early in the morning, so were unable to really enjoy this lovely area at that time.

This was a wonderful getaway, and I hope we return again before 33 more years pass.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Laurfs
Thank you for entrusting us with such an important anniversary and delighted you enjoyed the all to short experience. We are so fortunate to share such a charming location in Oxford, a truly unique and peaceful town on the Eastern Shore. We do hope we can welcome you back on a future anniversary where you are able to spend a little more time with us. Congratulations.
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I recently spent a night at the Robert Morris Inn, and we so enjoyed it. It really got us away from our everyday lives and was a festive was to spend our anniversary. Located right on the Chesapeake Bay, it was so calming and quiet. The room was lovely and we loved the historic nature of all of it. The food in the restaurant was great. We had dinner and breakfast there, and both were really excellent. I have already recommended it to some friends.

Room Tip: Room facing the bay is a nice choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Caroleslie
Many thanks for your kind comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our historic Inn. Our rooms are vintage and quant our town historic and charming, providing a great refuge from an ever madening world. We look forward to seeing you again.
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Recently spent two nights at The Robert Morris Inn for our anniversary getaway. If you want to spend some time decompressing this historic Inn is a great place to do it. Friendly staff, fantastic food, perfect sun sets, and evening walks to award winning ice cream, made this a great place to spend some time reconnecting with each other. Day trips to St Michael's and or Easton are easy drives. If you are going to or returning from St Michael's you can shortcut the trip using the Oxford ferry witch docks across the street from the inn. Breakfast was included with our stay and wonderful. The inn shows it's age in places, but that's part of the charm, we should look so good when we're 300 years old. Perfect short trip escape! Thank yous to the staff and to Groupon for a great weekend.

P.S. Dog friendly was a SUPER bonus, everywhere!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidbadgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Avidbadgolfer
Delighted you found our historic Inn so welcoming and relaxing. We do enjoy a wonderful location on the water in this charming town and our Inn provides a great base for exploring the busier towns of the Eastern Shore. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your business and review.
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The RMI was all that we imagined. Quiet, scenic, luxurious, romantic. No phone or TV in our bungalow. Terrific local restaurants to compliment RMI's own crab cakes. Take the ferry over to Bellevue for more interesting shopping and food.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Larry
Thank you so much for joining us at the Inn and for your kind words of praise. Appreciated and shared with our wonderful team. Ours is a pretty unique historic Inn, vintage rooms and warm Eastern Shore welcome and so perfectly situated in this charming old colonial town. Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a wonderful time celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Bouchaine Dinner! Waking up every morning overlooking the water, having breakfast in the tavern, sipping afternoon tea in the Tred Avon Room are part of what you can experience with your stay! Very romantic! Evening or early morning strolls are a delight! This was our 2nd stay at the inn and we do plan returns! The Bouchaine dinner was fabulous and a culinary delight! Heck with the wine, the courses served were unbelievable. Thank you Ian & Mark, your family members, and all the exceptional employees for you make the experience of staying at the inn such a memorable one! Joe & Kathi

Room Tip: The rooms are reflective as to the history of the inn and as such you experience history and authent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Kathleen
Thank you for returning at such a special time and so please you enjoyed your experience. The Bouchaine wines really punch above their weight and Mark loves pairing on those dinners. We will be publishing a new Winter Wine Series in about two months, keep an eye on the web site.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We went as a family of four and ended up with wonderful, restful sleeps, decadent dinners and breakfasts, afternoon teas with cookies/scones to die for and a view of the river. The staff were friendly, rooms clean, history in every corner and nearby attractions. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmarchlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at Robert Morris Inn, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear "cmarchlong"
Delighted you all enjoyed your vintage experience in our historic Inn. It is quite unique and so perfectly positioned in this charming colonial town. Check out our Leisure Breaks on our web site when next contemplating a visit, great value and include all the decadent meals you enjoy.
Regards
Mark & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.6 mi away
Oxford Inn
Oxford Inn
#1 of 1 in Oxford
39 reviews
7.2 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
5.6 mi away
St. Michaels Inn
St. Michaels Inn
#3 of 4 in St. Michaels
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandaway Waterfront Lodging Suites and Beach
6.9 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
7.8 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#4 of 9 in Easton
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robert Morris Inn

Property: Robert Morris Inn
Address: 314 N Morris St, P.O. Box 40, Oxford, MD 21654-1019
Region: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Robert Morris Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes. More history is located here. Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming. Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers. This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Robert Morris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robert Morris Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing