We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Masthead at Pier Street - CLOSED

The Masthead at Pier Street
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Perfect setting for a rehearsal dinner, family reunion or class reunion!
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stopped here on the way down to Cambridge. I wanted to check out the outdoor deck and tiki bar but Mother Nature was not cooperating that day. I shared the fish tacos and lamb sliders - both we're very good. Our server was very attentive and the food was delivered quickly. Next time we are by this way, we will stop back to enjoy the outside bar and seating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at The Masthead at Pier Street, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review! I am glad you made the stop on your way to Cambridge! Not too many places have lamb sliders, so that special was well received that day! The fish tacos are a favorite on our menu! Also glad to hear you received great service!
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Oxford or Cambridge!
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    43
    32
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice views, decent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely views on the patio. I had the crab cake, which was good enough. Friendly casual atmosphere. Good for low key outing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ctbham82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at The Masthead at Pier Street, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We do have sensational views, and I am sorry your review of the crab cake wasn't as sensational! Good enough isn't good enough for me. I see you are from Alabama, maybe your next trip we can go for a round two and shoot for Sensational Crab Cakes!
Thanks again!
Hope we see you on your next trip!
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for a light lunch. We decided in the fish & chips $13.99 each, expensive for what we got, no coleslaw or roll shoestring fries, but the rockfish was very good other than that & the view it wasn't worth the stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stray77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at The Masthead at Pier Street, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We agree the view is beautiful! The open deck overlooking the Tred Avon offers every table a view. I am glad you enjoyed the rockfish. I am troubled with your comment regarding the value of the fish and chips, the serving offers 5 pieces of rockfish and shoestring fries and is a value at 13.99.
We do offer quality and value, and the fish and chips is our best seller along with the crab cake.
i just don't want readers to get the wrong impression of our restaurant, and it certainly is worth the stop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth the ferry trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice dockside restaurant. The place is huge with both indoor and outdoor dining. The fish tacos were very good, cooked perfectly with a mexican based salsa to complement the fish. The calamari was fair. Even though it came out hot, the batter did not stick and fell apart as you put it in your mouth.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaxtheAx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at The Masthead at Pier Street, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a kind review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you made the trip across the ferry! It is such a quick trip from St. Michaels and Royal Oak.
The fish tacos are always a popular item; so glad you enjoyed!
I hope you will stop in again on your next trip to the shore!
Wendy Plamer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exceptional cream of crab with a view...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We happened upon this restaurant and were totally delighted with the food. We enjoyed cream of crab soup that was a lovely rich color and finger licking good (seriously I swept the crock clean before giving it up). Don't bother with the crackers, they were stale ( not a surprise on the water). The fish and chips were served over a bed of shoestring fries equaling pomme frites in France. The rock fish was flaky and batter crisp, yet light. Suggest lemon and vinegar as an enhancement. We wanted the key lime pie, but postponed and came back later for a picnic dinner of shrimp, salad and pie. Great view and casual.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneymoonEveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at The Masthead at Pier Street, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! We appreciate the kind words! I agree we do have a great cream of crab and your comments about our fish and chips!
Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Masthead at Pier Street also viewed

Oxford, Talbot County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing