We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chef Mark Salter's Cooking Demonstrations at the Robert Morris Inn”

The Robert Morris Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Robert Morris Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Once the home of Robert Morris who gained fame as "Financier of the Revolution". General and later President George Washington was a close friend and visited Robert Morris often. In more recent times author James Michener outlined his famous novel, Chesapeake here and fell in love with our renowned crab cakes.Now the Eastern Shore's most unique historic restaurant with rooms under celebrity Chef Proprietor, Mark Salter and Ian Fleming.Enter the Inn and step back 300 years: a pristine yet historic interior welcomes with timber beams, panelled walls and open fires in the cooler months. Through to Salter's Tavern featuring historic red brick walls and old slate floors, with magnificent fires in the cooler months and offering casual outside dining on our Terraces and Veranda during balmy warm summers.This is a truly historic Inn, cosy with a natural patina running through. Friendly, great cuisine and understated professional service.
Reviewed 15 April 2014

If you travel from the next county over or from points beyond please try and include a wonderful and tasty cooking demonstration from the great Chef Mark Salter at the Robert Morris Inn. He is terrific at demonstrating the Eastern shore foods that you'll only find in this beautiful part of the country. It would be well worth your time and you get enjoy a very delicious meal afterwards from one of the recipes he just demonstrated. I guarantee you it will one the most memorable part of you're trip!!!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Amy and Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your kind words and generous comments, so pleased you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to your return.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 249 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We wanted a lite fare dinner and ordered soup and salad.
The soup was 12.00/bowl!!! The bill for two of us (without alcohol) was 60.00!!! Excuse me?? We were taken aback. The server was done for the night by the time we showed up (8:00pm)...Note to self...look at the menu and choose accordingly before plunking down that kind of money! We learned our lesson!!

Thank classsygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Classsygal
Thank you for visitng our Inn and for sharing your experiene with fellow travellers. Pleased that overall you seemed to have enjoyed your experience but a little puzzled by your comments. The prices are not entirely correct and of course you do order from a menu that offers a pretty dcent spread of prices and choice. Should you visit us again please ask for one of the owners if you are not completely happy with any part of your experience. We want every customer to become and ambassador.
Happy Easter.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Sitting in front of a huge wood burning fireplace on a blustery spring day, a good meal is what we needed. And the chef did not disappoint. We had the oyster pot pie, appropriate for a Eastern Shore setting, and it was fabulous. The oysters were plump and tasty, under a crispy crust, and swimming in the most succulent gravy. It was apparent is was prepared by skilled hands which understood flavoring subtleties. The accompanying steamed vegetables were perfectly cooked and artfully displayed, alongside the pot pie. My husband and I loved it. It was just the right amount, satisfying and delicious. Our friends were as happy with their selections - the burger and a shrimp dish. Service was excellent - knowledgeable and sensitive to our desire to sit and chat. It was a great meal. This is a destination restaurant - worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carolegth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Carolegth
Many thanks for your kind words and generous comments, they are very appreciated and shared with our fabulous team. We are grateful for your business and never take it for granted.
Regards
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

From the Winter Special Menu (5-6 p.m. every night) we ordered the Chicken Curry and the Oyster Pot Pie. The curry was good but not very spicy and the Oyster Pot Pie was fabulous! Lovely ambiance with a fire blazing and dark woods. Our server, Kara was very attentive and friendly. We can't wait to return for the Thursday Lobster special!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Krista T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Krista
Many thanks for your generous comments and for sharing those with fellow travellers. So pleased you enjoyed your experience, a perfect antidote to a cold winters day. We look forward to your return. Our Bar Menu specials feature until the end of April.
Regards
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I'm born and raised on the eastern shore of Maryland, and they have the best cream of crab soup I've ever had. Loved the atmosphere and ambiance. The service was great and Ben Stein was there! Bonus!

Thank arabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innspiration, Owner at The Robert Morris Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Many thanks for you kind words and delighted you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for your business and book far enough in advance and we will do our best to have Ben here.
Mark & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Robert Morris Inn also viewed

Oxford, Talbot County
Oxford, Talbot County
 

Been to The Robert Morris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing