We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable”
Review of Latitude 38

Latitude 38
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Latitude 38 has a bistro atmosphere with the walls filled with art from local artists. Our two seperate dining areas and a 20 seat bar give our guests a choice in ambience. Our fabulous menu changes every two weeks and offers local seasonal fare prepared by our Chef Doug Stewart. The menu offers full and half entrees and a few lite fare options as well. We can host private parties for rehearsal dinners, showers, engagement paties and of course cater off premise as well.Make sure to visit us when in Oxford. We promise a great dining experinece.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unreliable”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Based upon prior reviews, a friend and I had dinner here tonight. The experience was not in keeping with the praise of previous reviewers. The food was good but not great, and the service was, to put it charitably, careless. One waitress was a complete novice. The menu offers full portion and half portion servings of various entrees. When asked if the half portions were half the size, she said, "No, but I do not know how to describe the difference." We ordered soup. It was never brought to the table. When the waitress brought the main course and we noted that we had not yet been served the soup, she said, "They did not bring it?" They, who? And when the bill arrived, I discovered that I had not been served the wine I had requested. The entire meal at the restaurant was disappointing. We had a much better experience at the Robert Morris Inn the night before.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that your experience wasn't what most other guests have, which is positive. I agree, we had a server in training on the day you mentioned, and she did not stay because she did not meet our standards. We pride ourselves on good service and quality food, so please know that your comments do not go unrecognized. If you should visit Oxford again, I would like the chance to apologize in person. Please stop in and see me at Latitude 38. We know you will be pleased.
Wendy Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    49
    15
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cape may, nj
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A MUST!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I were spending 2 nights in Oxford for his birthday and went to Latitude 38 our second night. If we had gone the first night we would have eaten there 2 nights! Wendy, one of the owners, promptly picked us up at our b&b and and dropped us off with no charge. When you first look at this restaurant from the outside it does not look like much. It has one of the only gas pumps still in use in Oxford out front and the building looks small. When you open the doors it is a great pleasant surprise. Beautiful nice size dining room(not too big and not too small) with fireplace and plenty of service workers and another room with great bar, beautiful bar chairs and more tables. We like to sit and meet people so we chose to have dinner at the bar. Friendly mix bag of locals and tourists and a great menu. You can pick between a full meal and a half meal and at the bar they actually had the special of the day for a very reasonable cost and a wonderful pizza. The person next to me ordered the pizza and he said it was delicious. There were so many choices to pick from that I decided on the rockfish (called stripe bass in my neck of the woods). It had a wonderful sauce and could not have been fresher, it was cooked to perfection. I had ordered a full meal so it came with a lovely mix green salad. My husband could not decide what to have.and asked if he could have 2 half meals. They said yes and asked if he wanted both the starches that come with it. He decided on an herb encrusted lamb chops (3 very nice size ones) and fried oysters and only one starch, mashed potatoes. Both our meals also came with fresh asparagus wrapped in bacon. To top the evening Wendy came out with a creme brulee topped with a flaming birthday candle and made an announcement to the whole bar that it was Michael's birthday. Everyone in the bar sang "Happy Birthday" and when we were ready to leave Wendy drove us back to our b & b. What a great night and a great restaurant. We both wished it was closer to our home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capemaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your meal and so thrilled you raved about it here! We love to welcome our guests and Michael's Birthday Surprise was just what we do!! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Oxford.
Wendy Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Bloody Mary Ever!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were a little taken back by the exterior appearance but since there were only 2 restaurants open in town, one for lunch and one for dinner, we went in and it was wonderful. We sat at the bar so we could watch the football playoffs. Our waitress was so nice and very accommodating. The food very good and the Bloody Mary made with vegetable infused vodka was the best in the whole world!! The only downside was the conversations at the bar, there was someone who talked on the phone the whole time and someone else who talked loudly the whole time we were there and both were very distracting.. Next time we just won't sit at the bar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor! Best Bloody in the world!! Wow, such a nice compliment! Glad you enjoyed your meal and visit! Sorry for the noisy guests, as you could see it is like "Cheers, where everybody knows your name" and it can get loud in the bar.
See you next time at a fireside table??
Thanks again!
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and fun!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a great dinner at Latitude 38. The shuttle (complimentary from the restaurant) picked us up at "Sandaway Waterfront Lodging" and took us to the restaurant where we enjoyed fireside dining. The service and food were both superior. We ventured into the bar after dinner for a drink where we were welcomed by the local patrons. It was Trivial Pursuit night and too much fun!! The shuttle returned us to the "Sandaway" safe and sound. We cannot wait to go back. What a fun evening!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Latitude 38. The menu changes every two weeks, so you will never be bored at Latitude 38! The trivia night is twice a month and rotates from Friday to Saturday, so we would love to have you come back sometime soon! Next trivia is Saturday the 25th of this month.
Thanks so much,
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“NYE 2013”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Wonderful ambiance - welcoming - charming - quiet - food was amazing!!! Our first time in Oxford - Latitude 38 far exceeded our expectations.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 49kellya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendypalmer, Owner at Latitude 38, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. So glad we exceeded your expectations on NYE 2013! We hope you will stop back and see us again soon! Happy New Year!
Wendy Palmer
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Latitude 38 also viewed

 
Oxford, Talbot County
 
Oxford, Talbot County
 

Been to Latitude 38? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing