We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Island Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

What a treasure to find, amid rustic paradise. Don't let the simple exterior fool you. The guest rooms are chock-full of of such 'luxe amenities as plush bedding, gorgeous huge bathrooms and balconies with adirondak chairs to watch the sunset over the Potomac. They even lend you kayaks, gratis! Chat with manager is a wealth of information and great suggestions in the area. Don't miss the outrageous garlic-butter mussel appetizer next door. Incredibly, it's very reasonably priced -- a hotel like this on the Eastern Shore would charge three times the rate!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrvlinWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

My wife and I made a trip to Piney Point to visit friends and decided to stay the night. We saw a sign saying "entertainment" and decided to stay. As it turns out there was now band that night but the food was good, the staff was excellent, the rooms were wonderful and the view is great. We very much enjoyed our trip and especially enjoyed the hospitality. If you want to quiet weekend in a beautiful place I recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We arrived at sunset and the light was filling the room - beautiful. Went out on the deck to have a glass of wine - lots of trash thrown around in the litte AC room - not to worry - just an oversight. Rooms were great size, nicely furnished - was that a roach??? no-lets go to dinner next door. Really nice meal - wonderful service - walked back to the room and went to bed. Were those some more roaches in the bathroom? Got up in the morning and could see in the light that the rug was really filthy - really needed to be replace - looked like the remains of many drinking parties. Opened a drawer looking for spoons and found a dish towel with two dead roaches smashed on it- really???? Such a shame - a wonderful location, comfortable, but apparently poorly managed. Hope you improve because I would love to come back but really don't care for room pets and sticky rugs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Billiejeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGISolomons, General Manager at Island Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Oh my gosh BillieJeanne I just saw your review. I am so sorry I didn't respond sooner. I am so sorry to hear about your "extra visitors" and the lack of attention to cleanliness. I am so sorry. Our team works very hard to make sure everything is perfect. I am so sorry we dropped the ball on this one. I do hope you come back and try us again. We have a contract with a premier pest control company. No more "uninvited guests" I promise. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I saw this hotel on Groupon and and am so glad I bought it. For $120 I got a standard room on the second floor (#212), a $30 credit at the Island Bar & Crab House next door, a credit for two margaritas at the restaurant, a credit for two free sodas from the hotel, and a snack pack which consisted of a basket of chips, guacamole, salsa, and a six pack of Corona. A great deal. Took about 2 hours to get here from D.C. The room is very clean with a nice living area and a nice sized bedroom with a beautiful view of the water to watch the sunrise. A spacious balcony to enjoy the view of the water with two wood Adirondack chairs. There is also a little kitchenette area with refrigerator, microwave, sink, and cabinets with some plates, coffee mugs, and glasses. There is also a safe, ironing board and iron in the closet. The bathroom was nice and clean as well. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This place is great for a nice escape from the city to enjoy a relaxing weekend and be near the water. Highly recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revpar35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We had a standard room on the sunrise side. Love watching the sunrise from our bed. The hotel is a gem. Bobby at the front desk is friendly and has great knowledge of the area. We passed on the continental breakfast all box cereals heavy on sugars. The should offer bagels or muffins. The restaurant next door was OK we didn't feel like driving 20 mins to dinner.

Would definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We saw this on Groupon and decided to go for our 20th wedding anniversary! We stayed for two nights and cannot wait to go again! The rooms are beautiful. The sunset view from our private balcony was amazing. It was so quiet and relaxing! Dinner at the Island Inn Bar and Grill next store was fantastic! The staff were so friendly especially Bobbie at the front desk and our friends in the restaurant and bar Stacy, JR, Miles and Kip! We look forward to seeing all of you in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms are waterfront. It just depends on whether you want the sunrise or sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelCathy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

the hotel is new, price very good, and every room has a balcony with a nice water view. The room was spacious with great beds and linens and neat kitchenette and coffeemaker. Disappointing was the offering for continental breakfast, which should not have been even offered. In a storage room was a table with items like rice krispie bars and Cocoa Puffs and a bowl of little milk cartons. In the lobby was a container of terrible coffee. This beautiful hotel could charge a few dollars extra and have the restaurant next door each night bake muffins, deliver fruit, and boil eggs. The desk did offer to take off 10% of the bill because of some minor problems we had. We would return but bring our own breakfast!! (also dinner at the restaurant was unsatistactory, so would bring our Tripadvisor research and find another.)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marianne1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piney Point
15.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington Park Patuxent River Nas, Md
12.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#2 of 9 in Lexington Park
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn and Suites

Address: 16810 Piney Point Road, Piney Point, MD
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Piney Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Price Range: £73 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Island Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Piney Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing