We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Potomac Parsdise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Certificate of Excellence
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
341 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Potomac Parsdise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

At the end of a winding country road is a transformation of time and space in which you'd swear you had been transported to the tropical shores of Florida. The Island Inn and Suites lies on a narrow spoon shaped spit of land known as St George Island that projects out into a wide expanse of the Potomac River. This location provides half of the 28 rooms a stunning sunrise vista and the other half enjoy a prolonged sunset view. The rooms are spacious and suitably appointed for relaxing with balconies equipped with oversized Adirondack chairs.

The hotel is next door to the famed Ruddy Duck restaurant and bar that features their own craft brews and fresh seafood. The dining room is waterside and easily adaptable to special events. Altogether...Paradise found at last!!!

Room Tip: Enjoy sunset in restaurant and reserve a sunrise room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hey_Joe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    54
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
50
84
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I may be giving this hotel 5 stars only because my expectations were low and based on my personal experiences with ratings, I feel I must give this 5 stars IF for only that reason. My husband and I are major travelers to the Caribbean and consider us to be almost experts for those locations. We live in Maryland but had never really explored before and I believe I came about this place from a Groupon email and it was such a good deal that I could not pass up and to my most delightful surprise, ended up being one of the best weekends ever.

The Inn has water on 'both' sides albeit one side is the road side but we are talking very southern Maryland and 'off season' so literally no traffic. I can say that EVERY room is waterfront. We stayed on the bay side (that may not be the correct water term) but our room was definitely a 5. It was very clean, very large, had kitchenette, sitting area, balcony and separate bedroom with king-size bed, flat screen TVS, beautiful bathroom. The décor and bedding was high quality hotel syle. Again, this is relative based on personal experience. The view from the balcony was amazing and they have this long gorgeous pier that makes the setting very Norman Rockwell-ish:)

The front desk was very friendly and helpful. There is also a continental breakfast room/area that is included in the pricing; i.e.; coffee, tea, milk, cereal, Danish, etc. There is a restaurant well known for seafood literally right next to the Inn. Unfortunately, the night we stayed there, it had been booked for a private party so we headed into town and had a fabulous meal with the locals.

Almost didn't want to give away this hidden gem but they deserve for people to know. Again, we went in off-season with alot of the surrounding homes as vacation rentals which were empty so we had the place almost to ourselves which we greatly appreciated. They have kayaks for use which we totally utilized as we did the bicycles, all included.

Highly recommend for someone that wants an out of the way location with not a lot of activity but for a restful weekend or week. Not sure what it is like in the summer months so anxious to read someone's review for that time frame.

5 stars for location, comfort, relaxation, cleanliness (I even tipped the maid xtra). Not for everyone and certainly not for 'party' people but makes a really lovely overnight or weekend stay.
Driving around the area was also enjoyable. Ate homemade ice cream in Leonardtown and a wonderful meal at Café des Artistes, some antique shopping, and just walking around.

ENJOY!!

Room Tip: Bay/sound side facing pier very quiet with a view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannaZMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookeville, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

This hotel was a huge disappointment because of terrible soundproofing. We could distinctly hear normal conversations between occupants of both adjacent rooms, sneezing, snoring, and any other sound they could make. Because of that, we slept very poorly.

I did not take the time to read previous Tripadvisor reviews in detail before making the reservation, and relied on the overall 4.5 average. That was a big mistake, as several other reviews had also noted the soundproofing problem. I highly recommend you read them if you wonder I am making this up, considering some other glowing reviews for this hotel.

I can imagine that people staying in a corner room with no neighbor would be very happy, as the views are indeed extremely nice, and the rooms are quite nice as well. But the soundproofing was a real shame. Service was a bit lacking, as the room was missing a set of towel, linens for the sofabed, and milk and sugar for the in-room coffee maker. There was also a used band aid under the sofabed. The sofabed was very uncomfortable, as there is essentially no padding over the springs. The breakfast was terrible, as noted by other guests. It mostly consisted of boxed cereals, but with no milk available.

We won't come back.

Room Tip: Corner room with no neighbor. Otherwise, pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric+Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I do not give 5 stars often but the Island Inn rates them. Friendly staff, big room, microwave and refrigerator, fantastic views over the water. Way off the beaten path but if you are visiting or working in So Maryland, including Lexington Park, this place should be considered. Much quieter and nicer than anything in Lex Park.

Room Tip: eat at Chief's in Tall Timbers. Do not be put off by the exterior - the food is good and nice p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank den979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay; I am *hooked*!!!

Truly, every room is waterfront. A raft of swans greeted us when we went out onto our balcony. Magic!

The rooms r large, beautiful, comfortable, & well-appointed.

Only a few minor issues/suggestions: (1) no toilet lids (annoying, as dropping something in the commode is, well...); (2) breakfast cld b more substantial. Specifically, adding hard-boiled eggs wld b very easy, & wld increase available protein significantly; (3) there were holes in the wall where (apparently) 2 separate attempts at shower curtain rods failed. Easy to fix, & tacky, if left this way.

Regardless, I am savoring the thot of returning.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drrobinhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

When my uncle passed away in late August 2012 we had to find a place to accommodate my son, daughter, husband and I. I searched and found Island Inn and it looked like a good place to stay. It was a little further to travel to reach the funeral home, etc. But, it was worth the extra miles/drive. We had a gorgeous room that faced the river with wonderful sunrise views. It was the perfect place to stay at such an overwhelmingly sad time. The combination of being with great family at a beautiful place was spectacular. I am so glad we stayed here and we cannot wait to come back and celebrate some happier times.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view, you just have to choose between sunrise or sunset! It's perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karemick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Our anniversary is feb. 1st. We decided to head to Piney Point Maryland for a little quiet time. It was just that. The hotel was superb!! It was roomy, clean and the staff was attentive. The breakfast was very light but they told us it would be, there was little to do in the area because our visit was in the off season. The staff suggested that we bring some snacks because the hotel did not have a snack machine but they did have a drink machine. We listened to their suggestions and found that our stay was the most relaxing weekend that we have had for a long time. The view from the room was outstanding, the room was one of the nicest I have stayed in. The views are amazing of the sunrise and sunsets. They had bikes, kayaks and a grill for the guest to use should they choose to. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: all the rooms are wonderful and have balconies to experience the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3776lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piney Point
15.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington Park Patuxent River Nas, Md
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn and Suites

Property: Island Inn and Suites
Address: 16810 Piney Point Road, Piney Point, MD
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Piney Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Piney Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing