We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent one night stay!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I read through some of the negative reviews talking about the rundown interior, but our room was pretty much perfect with the extraordinary view that everyone mentions. Quiet, clean, everything in working order. Convenient parking. Very nice for the price. Wonderful dinner at the restaurant next door which is only several paces away. So peaceful to wake up in the morning surrounded by water. The balconies on the eastern side of the hotel sit right on the river. We're only here for one night, but wish it could be longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momofliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    56
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
51
87
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have some doubts about the place due to it's price (reasonable price) but after reading all the reviews here, we decided to go. We are glad that we took the chance. We are so surprised that the place looks so new. Clean bathroom, comfy bed & pillows, white bedsheets, big bathroom, kitchenette (small refrigerator, microwave, sink, red cherry cabinets), a round table with 2 chairs, a veranda w/ 2 huge adirondack chairs & a round table. You will get a room either with a sunset or sunrise view. We got the sunrise view, it was so nice to wake up with a water view. We watched a couple oystering Friday morning, oysters are served at the hotel next door. The lobby's size is enough for its purpose coz you are not going to stay here anyway. Breakfast is a treat, I'm happy to have hot coffee 24 hours a day. They have bagels, muffins, cold cereals, granola bar, bottled water, etc.....this is a treat!......They have an ice machine that I used to fill my cooler for our day trips. Come here to relax, read your favorite book, have great food and lots of drinks at the hotel next door (Margarita for $7 and great service), you don't have to worry about driving....just try to make it to the hotel door :) . You can drive to St. Michaels (about 45 mins away), Tilghman Island, Piney Point Look Out Park...or just stay in the hotel......I will absolutely return here if I am around the area....

Note: There is no Fitness Center-run or walk outside...No swimming pool-this could be a plus in the future...

Room Tip: Ask for a SUNRISE room...make sure to try to eat at the restaurant next door before exploring somewh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CC1Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's a nice easy 1.45 hr getaway from Washington DC. Peaceful calm waters and the great water view will surely provide a relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are very clean, spacious and well maintained. What was a bit disappointing is the service. Website specifically says to call prior to arrival to alert the front desk which I did and I was told they were full from the night. When we got there, around 10am, I left my name and number so they can call us when our room was ready while we explored the rest of the place. Three o'clock was the check-in time came and still no phone call from the front desk. Good thing we found a close beach where we swam and then had a late lunch in a nice friendly bar. We came back close to 5pm and the front desk was unattended. After waiting half a day to check in, we still had to wait for another 20 mins before someone came to check us in. Those little details should be addressed because people look forward to their holidays and weekends and it would be nice if we didn't have to wait for those either.

For the peak summer rate we paid, we also expected a little bit more for the breakfast especially since there is nothing close to the hotel for lunch or breakfast. There was no hot food just, packed danishes, boxed cereals and some bagels with no cream cheese and coffee. Nice restaurant next door only opens at 4pm. I suggest for the front desk customer service which includes the tiny lobby to be improved if they want their guests to be happy. Two of the three front desk personnel I met during our stay were not friendly at all and gave us little helpful information about our needs during our stay. Also, boat rental is advertised as an amenity, however, there is only one paddle boat available. I travel all over the world so I can compare about service and details in relation to what you pay for and what to expect.

On the bright side, watching the sunrise from our balcony was such an awesome surprise. The lounge chairs on the balcony were so comfortable for enjoying a cocktail or two. I read the review that the walls were really thin and I agree because I heard all kinds of sounds from the other rooms. Beds and pillows were comfortable and I had a good sleep. The clean room and bathroom was ample in size for a family of three. A swimming pool would have been perfect since there was no beach to swim even it the hotel was on the water.

Room Tip: Rooms on facing the water on the third floor for the view would definitely be more relaxing rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melgede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I was so suprised to find such a beautiful place. I had a one bedroom king suite which was very nice ..had a separate living room.. with a small kitchen. The bed was supreme, with widescreen tvs, nice furnishings. IF you decide to go make sure you bring your fishing rod and tackle box. The only thing missing was a pool my kids wanted. The hotel was busy, so the young lady at the reception was quite busy. just a note to the manager.. the Breakfast ending at 9:00 am? Isn't that kind of early?

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckygrandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We used to frequent this place and found it very peaceful and the rooms are well kept. Lately, I am seeing stained comforters, old towels, poorly lit outdoors, missing bikes and kayaks, very poor wifi, unusable grill, chipped paint, broken fixtures, etc.

Also, the staff used to be sooo friendly. Now they don't even smile. When you ask for something, they give you a frown and most of the time say they don't have it which oftentimes is just a basic amenity in hotels.

I heard its under new management. Hopefully the new management address these problems and start renovating or loyal customers like us won't come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solomons, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
359 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

At the end of a winding country road is a transformation of time and space in which you'd swear you had been transported to the tropical shores of Florida. The Island Inn and Suites lies on a narrow spoon shaped spit of land known as St George Island that projects out into a wide expanse of the Potomac River. This location provides half of the 28 rooms a stunning sunrise vista and the other half enjoy a prolonged sunset view. The rooms are spacious and suitably appointed for relaxing with balconies equipped with oversized Adirondack chairs.

The hotel is next door to the famed Ruddy Duck restaurant and bar that features their own craft brews and fresh seafood. The dining room is waterside and easily adaptable to special events. Altogether...Paradise found at last!!!

Room Tip: Enjoy sunset in restaurant and reserve a sunrise room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hey_Joe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I may be giving this hotel 5 stars only because my expectations were low and based on my personal experiences with ratings, I feel I must give this 5 stars IF for only that reason. My husband and I are major travelers to the Caribbean and consider us to be almost experts for those locations. We live in Maryland but had never really explored before and I believe I came about this place from a Groupon email and it was such a good deal that I could not pass up and to my most delightful surprise, ended up being one of the best weekends ever.

The Inn has water on 'both' sides albeit one side is the road side but we are talking very southern Maryland and 'off season' so literally no traffic. I can say that EVERY room is waterfront. We stayed on the bay side (that may not be the correct water term) but our room was definitely a 5. It was very clean, very large, had kitchenette, sitting area, balcony and separate bedroom with king-size bed, flat screen TVS, beautiful bathroom. The décor and bedding was high quality hotel syle. Again, this is relative based on personal experience. The view from the balcony was amazing and they have this long gorgeous pier that makes the setting very Norman Rockwell-ish:)

The front desk was very friendly and helpful. There is also a continental breakfast room/area that is included in the pricing; i.e.; coffee, tea, milk, cereal, Danish, etc. There is a restaurant well known for seafood literally right next to the Inn. Unfortunately, the night we stayed there, it had been booked for a private party so we headed into town and had a fabulous meal with the locals.

Almost didn't want to give away this hidden gem but they deserve for people to know. Again, we went in off-season with alot of the surrounding homes as vacation rentals which were empty so we had the place almost to ourselves which we greatly appreciated. They have kayaks for use which we totally utilized as we did the bicycles, all included.

Highly recommend for someone that wants an out of the way location with not a lot of activity but for a restful weekend or week. Not sure what it is like in the summer months so anxious to read someone's review for that time frame.

5 stars for location, comfort, relaxation, cleanliness (I even tipped the maid xtra). Not for everyone and certainly not for 'party' people but makes a really lovely overnight or weekend stay.
Driving around the area was also enjoyable. Ate homemade ice cream in Leonardtown and a wonderful meal at Café des Artistes, some antique shopping, and just walking around.

ENJOY!!

Room Tip: Bay/sound side facing pier very quiet with a view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DannaZMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piney Point
15.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
11.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington Park Patuxent River Nas, Md
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn and Suites

Property: Island Inn and Suites
Address: 16810 Piney Point Road, Piney Point, MD
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Piney Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Piney Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing