We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit #4”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Inn and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We really like this hotel. Yes, it is out of the way but that's what we like. Every room has a view. We have stayed on both sides of the hotel. We enjoyed the sunrise side this time. The rooms are clean, spacious, and set up really well. Each room has a balcony. We enjoyed our view of the water with two stingrays playing in the water. We also enjoyed watching the ospreys that were nesting at the end of the dock. The hotel has worked to improve the continental breakfast for those who felt that was lacking. The hotel staff was always pleasant and helpful. They fulfilled any request we had. Be sure to bring lunch items, snacks and beverages so you don't feel the need to run back to civilization too soon.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We had forty family members down on St. George Island for a reunion & were a little wary of the inn. However, it's the only lodging option within twenty miles, so we thought we'd give it a shot. Turns out that the inn is somewhat of a nice choice. The rooms are spacious, clean, & somewhat renovated, with every room being waterfront. The only things we noticed were a need to update some of the furniture, & the carpet. All in all - STAY HERE! The setting, reasonable price, & friendly atmosphere are on the mark! It's a well-kept secret.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Boytwirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Island Inn & Suites is located on a piece of land that just fits on a piece of land between the Potomac and St. George's Creek. They offer your choice of a sunset room (Potomac) or a sunrise (St. George's Creek) room. We opted for the sunset standard room. The room was huge! The ceilings are high, everything was fairly new, and there was even a kitchenette in our room. You walk into the room and the first thing you see is the gorgeous water view from the balcony. On the balcony, there are two Adirondack chairs and a table.

I was able to get a reservation just a few days before Memorial Day weekend, so I was thrilled. After making my reservation online, I called to request a sunset room. The lady was super accommodating, which surprised me having been in DC so long.

We rented a complimentary canoe for two hours. We just had to sign a waiver and carry it down there ourselves. We had thought there would be two kayaks from the description, but the canoe worked just fine. The site also lists bikes,. There were only two bikes, though, and a few times, they weren't there. Out back, there's a public fishing pier with a cleaning station, a bonfire pit, and a grill.

Immediately next door, there's a great microbrewery and seafood restaurant - The Ruddy Duck. I believe they are only open for dinner. The hotel offers breakfast, and I had read a few reviews before going. A few people complained about the lack of food, but it seems they've recently added a waffle maker. In addition to that, there's yogurt, juices, packaged muffins and bagels, milk, and cereal cups. They have coffee available all day.

We just had one minor hiccup. There were a few ants in our bathroom, but we called the front desk, and she immediately came up to take care of the problem.

The staff was all very friendly. Being a place with less than 30 rooms, they get to know you.

Overall, it was a good stay. There isn't a ton to do in the area, but if you're looking to just relax and be by the water, this is a great place. We ended up spending the second day of our vacation at Point Lookout State Park (a 30 minute drive).

Room Tip: Pick a sunrise (St. George's Creek) or sunset view room (Potomac).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueEyedDutchGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have stayed at the Island Inn and Suites many times over the last four years. The location is really unique and nice with waterfront on both sides. It is a real gem. However, the level of customer service is outstanding and other hotesl should take a page out of their playbook. They are cpongenial, accommodating and outgoing to ensure you are treated fairly and properly. Their hospitality is refreshing and I was traveling with several people and the staff led by Kim was incredible! Hats off to Kyle, Jonathon, Taylor, Amy and Chardell for taking very good care of my family. Much appreciated!!

Room Tip: I prefer the top floor (3rd on the creekside).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank randy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Overall this was a nice, quiet, and relaxing getaway. Check in was easy. They do not accept cash so make sure yo take a credit card. Our room was on the 3rd floor, a one bedroom suite. Great view of the Chesapeake Bay. Very clean and smelled fresh. Carpet has seen better days. Refrigerator, microwave, sink in a kitchenette. Continental breakfast in morning. Covered parking. Restaurant next door was very good. It gets really crowded so you should plan accordingly. It is very remote and you need to drive a big to get anything to eat. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank browntowne20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

nice place to stay. Beautiful location, loved being by the water. Not much around the imediate area but great place for a get away. Next visit will be in the summer time when it is warmer out. Enjoyed my mimi vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This facility is in a prime location with killer views of the Chesapeake bay. The rooms are huge and the balcony allows you take in the full view of the bay. Ample parking and great customer service right from the manager Kyle to all the others. I forgot my jacket there and they were happy to mail it to me. If you are in Piney Point for the Lower potomac marathon, this is your best option.

The only issue that I had with this hotel was the fact that there is not door chain or anything of that sort. My 13 month son was able to open the door and walk out!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sulphide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piney Point
15.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Solomons Conference Center and Marina
14.1 mi away
Quality Inn Beacon Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington Park Patuxent River Nas, Md
9.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
10.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Inn and Suites

Address: 16810 Piney Point Road, Piney Point, MD
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Piney Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Piney Point
Price Range: £74 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Hotel Piney Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing