We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Camp Merryelande

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Camp Merryelande
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Awesome experience. Fantastic cabins, beautiful view! Plenty of beds and everything was very clean. Very quiet area. Neighbors and fellow renters are very quiet and calm. Mike was super easy to work with, both before, during, and after

Room Tip: Talk to Mike Evans- he is fantastic to work with!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank matthew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    22
    11
    10
    20
See reviews for
47
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown, Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were very happy with our vacation!! Wonderful location on the beach, Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and showers we clean. Lots of space to fish. Look forward to another trip there soon!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank amullins2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had an absolutely amazing experience. It was like we were camping in paradise, right on the water. Jack was in charge of our area of the camp and he was awesome--made us feel at home, drove all of our supplies from our car to the campsite, and kept the common area with restrooms, HOT showers, and coffee clean and inviting with music and lights 24 hours. We were completely isolated in mid-October, which was awesome--although I'm sure during busier seasons there would be tons of people there. In any case, we will definitely be back, and bringing friends!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CCGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lexington park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The cottages are in complete disrepair and filthy. Had to go purchase air mattresses because the mattresses are very uncomfortable and also filthy. Very disappointed and would not recommend anyone waste their money. The back door almost fell in when we opened it. With some work this place could be what it once was but it seems like they just don't care. It would have cost us less to stay at a hotel. and we would have been much more comfortable. we had friends in from out of town and we were so embarrassed and had to spend the first day cleaning and purchasing cleaning supplies and mattresses just to be semi comfortable. They need to hire a new cleaning crew, someone to fix the falling down buildings and invest in some better furniture and mattresses. I have seen better cleaner furniture at the landfill.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Piney Point hotels

Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It has been a year or two but we loved the Far East Beach which I see the sites are still there. I am trying to book site 111, 112 or 113 for this weekend so I will let you all know what has changed and what has not. But when we went it was great. There was a little stage area for entertainment at night and the people were just nice. We relaxed by the water with our pooch and cooked. It's not like the large State parks, it's more intimate. Worth me trying to grab a spot this weekend. We'll let you know if we do.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slinde77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Everyone had an absolute blast! I just wanted to add some pics to show what it was like. Everyone I came across was smiling and really enjoying the campgrounds, the weather, their family, and there friends (new and old).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonP1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had such an amazing time at Camp Merryelande! There were 10 of us who stayed at Floundering Fish for five days and we all loved our time here. It was so neat to be on a secluded island, the bike rides were so peaceful. We had a such great service and help whenever it was needed. We 100% plan on going back next summer to vacation there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piney Point
2.3 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
14.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington Park (Patuxent River Naval Air Station)
17.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Solomons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
Hampton Inn Lexington Park
#1 of 9 in Lexington Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
11.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Lexington Park
11.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington Park Patuxent River Nas, Md
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Merryelande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Merryelande

Property: Camp Merryelande
Address: 15914 Camp Merryelande Rd, St. George Island, Piney Point, MD 20674-3304
Region: United States > Maryland > Piney Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Piney Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Camp Merryelande 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Merryelande is located on St. George Island Maryland only a two hour drive south from Washington DC or Baltimore.We are a family oriented place offering beach cottages and campgrounds. All our cottages are on the beach or have nice views of the beach and river. Our cottages offer WiFi, TV, full kitchens including microwaves and coffee makers. The cottage you choose can be a snug little place for a romantic getaway, or you might have a celebration in mind. Well then, bring the friends and family and stay in one of our larger cottages that can accommodate up to 24 guest. Whatever your need we’re sure we can find the right size cottage for you.For the more adventurous outdoor crowd we have campsites along the beach. All the campsites come with picnic tables and fire rings. Camp Merryelande offers an olde time atmosphere with modern conveniences, most of our guest are repeat customers.Check us out we really believe you’ll like it. We’re only 2 hours away but you’ll feel like your halfway around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Camp Merryelande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Merryelande Hotel Piney Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing